You Gotta Want It

Author: Jake Paul

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501139479

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 2502

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A humorous, motivational memoir in the vein of Tyler Oakley’s Binge and Marcus Butler’s Hello Life, from high-energy comedic social media phenomenon Jake Paul. How do you become Vine famous? What is life like when you have millions of followers on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram? In this extremely positive, motivational, and often laugh-out-loud memoir, unstoppable Jake Paul pauses long enough from his super-charged life as a nineteen-year-old social media superstar and smiling heartthrob on the Disney Channel series Bizaardvark to share his takes on life, love, fame, and shooting for your dreams. From growing up a regular kid with his brother (and fellow social media star) Logan to his goals and aspirations as he became Vine famous to the bullying and jealousy he experienced to the crazy, creative, behind-the-scenes details of his life in Hollywood as a teen powerhouse, Jake shares the most hysterical and intimate details of his life—all with his signature humor and honesty and you-gotta-want-it attitude that has won him millions of devoted followers.
Release

Climbing and Hiking in the Wind River Mountains

Author: Joe Kelsey

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1493001353

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 448

View: 8000

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Now completely updated and revised with new color photos and topos, this guidebook is the ultimate resource to technical climbing routes, hiking trails, and peak-bagging routes in Wyoming's Wind River Range, a popular playground for backcountry enthusiasts and alpine rock climbers. More than 200 new climbing routes have been completed in the Wind Rivers since this book was last published in 1994, and this guide is the only comprehensive collection of information available to climbers. Includes hiking and climbing information for these areas: Ross LakesGreen RiverDinwoody GlacierPeak LakeTitcomb BasinAlpine LakesMiddle Fork LakeEast Fork ValleyBaptiste LakeCirque of the TowersDeep LakeSouth Pass
Release

Forever Blue

Author: Suzanne Brockmann

Publisher: HQN Books

ISBN: 1460397584

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 495

DOWNLOAD NOW »

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann has thrilled audiences with her Tall, Dark and Dangerous series. Experience it here with a hero who must face the most daring adventure of all—falling in love. The guy next door is home to stay—but can he be trusted? Blue McCoy was once the hero of Lucy Tait's teenaged dreams—quiet, dark and dangerous. But after high school he left Hatboro Creek, South Carolina, to join the military. Now, years later, a brooding Navy SEAL, Blue is back in town. Lucy, now a no-nonsense police officer, is certainly not the person Blue remembers. And when he's accused of murder and Lucy is assigned his case, their brief affair becomes part of an extensive investigation where the stakes are vital: Blue's freedom—and maybe Lucy's heart.
Release

Failing at School

Lessons for Redesigning Urban High Schools

Author: Camille A. Farrington

Publisher: Teachers College Press

ISBN: 0807772747

Category: Education

Page: 192

View: 2919

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Roughly half of all incoming ninth graders across urban districts will fail classes and drop out of school without a diploma. Failing at School starts with the premise that urban American high schools generate such widespread student failure not because of some fault of the students who attend them but because high schools were designed to stratify achievement and let only the top performers advance to higher levels of education. This design is particularly detrimental for low-income, racial/ethnic minority students. To get different results, Farrington proposes fundamental changes based on what we now know about how students learn, what motivates them to engage in learning, and what kinds of educational systems and structures would best support their learning. “This is a groundbreaking and eye-opening study because it does what few studies of high school truly do: get inside the hearts and minds of teen-agers and show what their experience of school looks and feels like to them. The analysis of students who fail is revealing and powerful. There are poignant and revealing stories of just how a few student mistakes or teacher insensitivities lead to unfortunate and long-lasting results. More importantly, these case studies, their nuances, and their implications take us beyond the clichés and simplistic theories about schools and reform. Most importantly, we read of tangible and intelligent solutions that can be instituted, based on the facts on the ground. I highly recommend this book to everyone interested in getting beyond the typical talking points of school reform.” —Grant Wiggins, Authentic Education “Camille Farrington details how high schools trap students along developmental trajectories distorted by structural factors—resources, values and practices—beyond their control. Grounded firmly in research, she describes a better way forward. This book is an important contribution to the re-visioning of American high schools.” —Ronald F. Ferguson, faculty director, Achievement Gap Initiative, Harvard University "Why is there such a pattern of failure in urban high schools? This is a vital issue for every city in America. Camille Farrington’s analysis of the roots of this problem and suggestions for structural changes to break this cycle is the best I have seen. This book combines research and practitioner wisdom with common sense and heart, and for those of us engaged in this work, presents concrete directions for positive change.” —Ron Berger, chief academic officer, Expeditionary Learning Book Features: Offers concrete strategies for redesigning high schools based on four dimensions of student achievement—structural, academic, developmental, and motivational. Highlights the voices of students to illustrate fundamental problems with the way we currently “do school.” Addresses the new Common Core State Standards and the potential of this major reform effort to move us toward equity and excellence. Camille A. Farrington is a research associate (assistant professor) at The University of Chicago School of Social Service Administration and the Consortium on Chicago School Research and director of curriculum, instruction, and assessment for the Network for College Success.
Release

The 80-Yard Run

A Twenty-Week, Coast-to-Coast Quest for the Heart of High School Football

Author: Theron Hopkins

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

ISBN: 1602392846

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 343

View: 6803

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Traces the author's visits with promising high-school football teams throughout the course of a season during which he evaluated the sources of high-school football's relevance to its players, coaches, and fans. 12,500 first printing.
Release

For We Walk by Faith

Author: Patrick Muenchen

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1602663114

Category: Religion

Page: 272

View: 2555

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"For We Walk by Faith--Motivation and Inspiration to Get Physically Fit" contains 31 devotions that will take the reader on a journey examining their own life and health, their call from God, the obstacles they face, their relationship with the Lord, the tools they need to change their life, the importance of establishing values, the need for friends and mentors, and ways to find strength and motivation. (Practical Life)
Release

God in You

Releasing the Power of the Holy Spirit in Your Life

Author: Dr. David Jeremiah

Publisher: Multnomah

ISBN: 0307831272

Category: Religion

Page: 352

View: 1729

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For many believers, the mystery of the Holy Spirit remains just that. God in You, now in popular trade paperback format, is the layperson's guide to this often-misunderstood member of the Trinity. Pastor David Jeremiah explores the Holy Spirit in concrete terms, leaving abstract concepts behind. Not an idea, not an influence, not some vague, mystical force, Jeremiah explains, the Holy Spirit is actually the almighty God of the universe come to live inside the believer's skin. And a clear understanding and appreciation of His attributes can ignite the passion of every Christian's walk with Christ. In this compelling, gently instructive book Jeremiah affirms, "Without [the Spirit], we're about as useful to God's kingdom as an unplugged toaster."
Release

By Candlelight

Author: Janelle Taylor

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.

ISBN: 1420127284

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4895

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THERE ARE SOME MEN A WOMAN CAN NEVER FORGIVE. . . Recently widowed the mother of a teenaged daughter, Kate Rose has finally come to her own as head of her own talent agency. She has kept her past carefully hidden: the callous lover who abandoned her. . .the unfulfilling marriage to a powerful older man who gave her child his name. . .the nights she wept over the betrayal that still haunts her. OR EVER FORGET Now, after seventeen years, Jake Talbot has come back-just as sensual and irresistible as the day he broke her heart. Kate thought she was strong enough to handle anything. But suddenly she is a woman on the edge, fighting the passion Jake reawakens even as he urges her to give their relationship another chance. Just as she is beginning to trust again, to believe in the future jake offers, Kate is forced to face the ultimate test of a man and a woman's love: a shattering truth that could destroy her chances for happiness forever-if she lets it. . .
Release

Sign, SEAL, Deliver

Author: Rogenna Brewer

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459217942

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 9625

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Navy SEALs never leave a man—or a woman—behind Zach Prince is a naval aviator, one of the best. In fact, he's a Top Gun. But thanks to his father and godfather, he's lived and breathed SEAL ways since the day he was born. So when the plane piloted by Lieutenant Michelle Dann, Zach's wingman, crashes in the desert, he's determined to bring her back. To Zach, Michelle isn't just another pilot. She's his oldest friend and his first love. Even if the SEAL credo didn't dictate that he go, his feelings for her would….
Release