Yesterday's Shadows

A gripping saga of new beginnings and new dangers

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472238400

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 8564

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With the promise of a new start, will she find the happiness she's longed for? Rosie Goodwin writes a spell-binding saga in Yesterday's Shadows, a tale of bitter loss, lost love and long buried secrets. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale. Kate Cleary feels no sorrow when her brutal father dies. At last she will be free from him, even though she and Nuala, the sister who depends on her for everything, must now leave his miners cottage. Then Kate discovers they have an aunt in the Midlands whom their father had kept secret, and who now offers them a home. Despite leaving her heart in Durham with Matthew, a young artist, Kate feels loved and safe with Aunt Beth. But her peace is shattered by an astonishing revelation from Nuala, and a series of brutal attacks on the women of Nuneaton. Kate turns to a handsome widower, Martin Denby, but is his kindness too good to be true? What readers are saying about Yesterday's Shadows: 'Where to start? Rosie is what you would call a master storyteller. She draws you into her plot until you forget you are reading. You are there, in 1950's Britain and all the hardships that went with it... There is love lost and found, evil and happiness, murder, family in-fighting and intrigue by the bucketful. I for one thoroughly enjoyed my first Goodwin book. It won't be my last. Six Stars out of Five!' 'Rosie has done it again! Rosie's latest novel is just as original, fresh and fabulous as the previous ten before it... As Rosie's fans have come to expect, the characters are real and well rounded. You really feel for them and care about what happens to them... Don't be fooled though. Rosie has made sure that no matter what you think during this novel, you end up never trusting your instincts as her twists are unexpected and plentiful'
Release

Alan Turing, Enigma

Author: Andrew Hodges

Publisher: Springer Verlag

ISBN: 9783211826270

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 662

View: 6451

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Alan Turing, Enigma ist die Biographie des legendAren britischen Mathematikers, Logikers, Kryptoanalytikers und Computerkonstrukteurs Alan Mathison Turing (1912-1954). Turing war einer der bedeutendsten Mathematiker dieses Jahrhunderts und eine hAchst exzentrische PersAnlichkeit. Er gilt seit seiner 1937 erschienenen Arbeit "On Computable Numbers," in der er das Prinzip des abstrakten Universalrechners entwickelte, als der Erfinder des Computers. Er legte auch die Grundlagen fA1/4r das heute "KA1/4nstliche Intelligenz" genannte Forschungsgebiet. Turings zentrale Frage "Kann eine Maschine denken?" war das Motiv seiner Arbeit und wird die SchlA1/4sselfrage des Umgangs mit dem Computer werden. Die bis 1975 geheimgehaltene TAtigkeit Turings fA1/4r den britischen Geheimdienst, die zur EntschlA1/4sselung des deutschen Funkverkehrs fA1/4hrte, trug entscheidend zum Verlauf und Ausgang des Zweiten Weltkriegs bei.
Release

Cue

The Weekly Magazine of New York Life

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Amusements

Page: N.A

View: 1181

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release