What s Left of Me Is Yours

What s Left of Me Is Yours

"Each chapter of this enrapturing novel is elegantly brief and charged with barely contained emotion.

Author: Stephanie Scott

Publisher: Doubleday

ISBN: 9780385544719

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 846

"Each chapter of this enrapturing novel is elegantly brief and charged with barely contained emotion." --New York Times Book Review A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime, for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny, What's Left of Me Is Yours charts a young woman's search for the truth about her mother's life--and her murder. In Japan, a covert industry has grown up around the "wakaresaseya" (literally "breaker-upper"), a person hired by one spouse to seduce the other in order to gain the advantage in divorce proceedings. When Satō hires Kaitarō, a wakaresaseya agent, to have an affair with his wife, Rina, he assumes it will be an easy case. But Satō has never truly understood Rina or her desires and Kaitarō's job is to do exactly that--until he does it too well. While Rina remains ignorant of the circumstances that brought them together, she and Kaitarō fall in a desperate, singular love, setting in motion a series of violent acts that will forever haunt her daughter's life. Told from alternating points of view and across the breathtaking landscapes of Japan, Stephanie Scott exquisitely renders the affair and its intricate repercussions. As Rina's daughter, Sumiko, fills in the gaps of her mother's story and her own memory, Scott probes the thorny psychological and moral grounds of the actions we take in the name of love, asking where we draw the line between passion and possession.
Categories: Fiction

The Sentence

The Sentence

In Japan, a covert industry has grown up around the wakaresaseya, a person hired by one spouse to seduce the other in order to gain the advantage in divorce proceedings.When Sato hires Kaitaro, a wakaresaseya agent, to have an affair with ...

Author: Stephanie Scott

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

ISBN: 1474610870

Category: Divorced women

Page: 336

View: 920

In Japan, a covert industry has grown up around the wakaresaseya, a person hired by one spouse to seduce the other in order to gain the advantage in divorce proceedings.When Sato hires Kaitaro, a wakaresaseya agent, to have an affair with his wife, Rina, he assumes it will be an easy case. But Sato has never truly understood Rina or her desires and Kaitaro's job is to do exactly that - until he does it too well
Categories: Divorced women

Amboyna The state of innocence and the fall of man Aurung Zebe All for love

Amboyna  The state of innocence and the fall of man  Aurung Zebe  All for love

Ant . " Tis too much , Too much , Octavia ; I am pressed with sorrows Too heavy to
be borne ; and you add more : I would retire , and recollect what's left Of man
within , to aid me . Octav . You would mourn , In private , for your love , who has ...

Author: John Dryden

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B4715140

Category:

Page: 1

View: 663

Categories:

The Select Dramatic Works of John Dryden

The Select Dramatic Works of John Dryden

Ant . ' Tis too much , Too much , Octavia ; I am press'd with sorrows Too heavy to
be borne , and you add more ; I would retire , and recollect what's left Of man
within , to aid me . Oct. You would mourn In private , for your love who has
betrayed ...

Author: John Dryden

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044051146785

Category:

Page: 196

View: 600

Categories:

The Works of William Shakespeare Complete

The Works of William Shakespeare  Complete

That's more Than some, whose tailors are as dear as yours, Can justly boast of:
What's your lordship's pleasure ! ... jewel, that too casually Hath left mine arm ; it
was thy master's: 'shrew me If I would lose it for a revenue Of any king's in Europe
.

Author: William Shakespeare

Publisher:

ISBN: PRNC:32101042992253

Category:

Page: 828

View: 740

Categories:

The Works of the Celebrated Mrs Centlivre Love s contrivance Busy body Marplot in Lisbon Platonicklady Perplex d lovers Cruel gift

The Works of the Celebrated Mrs  Centlivre      Love s contrivance  Busy body  Marplot in Lisbon  Platonicklady  Perplex d lovers  Cruel gift

Sir , your Necessities are very impertinent , and ought to have sent before they
entered . Cha . ... I hope I should not spend it this Way : However , I ask only for
what my Uncle left me ; yours you may dispose of as you please , Sir . Sir Fran Sir
 ...

Author: Susanna Centlivre

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000006514594

Category:

Page:

View: 147

Categories:

The Dramatic Works of the Celebrated Mrs Centlivre

The Dramatic Works of the Celebrated Mrs  Centlivre

Sir , your Necessities are very impertinent , and ought to have sent before they
entered . Cha . ... I hope I should not spend it this Way : However , I ask only for
what my Uncle left me ; yours you may dispose of as you please , Sir . Sir Fran Sir
 ...

Author: Susanna Centlivre

Publisher:

ISBN: IOWA:31858054720713

Category:

Page: 376

View: 513

Categories:

The Directory of American 45 R p m Records

The Directory of American 45 R p m  Records

... LOVE SONG 624 HAROLD CROSBY I'LL WILL YOUR HEART TOMORROW
MCALLESTER , OKLAHOMA 3 SPEEDY ... PREMEDITATED DRUNK 664 PAT
TARPEY UNTITLED YODEL 6 LEO EVERETT SLOWLY WHAT'S LEFT OF ME
628 ...

Author: Ken Clee

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105020235086

Category: Popular music

Page:

View: 341

Categories: Popular music

Frank Leslie s Illustrated Newspaper

Frank Leslie s Illustrated Newspaper

At times the now ventured to speak : " I don't know what crotchets I have that and
tail placed those in front and rear in im- needless ... The only vebicle in the train
Tlie constant intercourse of the affiancés jacket of mine , in which I intended to
appear asked my aunt ... The heavens are higher than these sounds me of a girl
who , having left school , introduces her voice made the remark fall like a
prophecy .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UTEXAS:059172118203238

Category:

Page:

View: 609

Categories:

Next of Kin

Next of Kin

Author: Carly McIntyre

Publisher: Bantam Books

ISBN: 0553285955

Category: Fiction

Page: 409

View: 693

From the steamy bordellos of turn-of-the-century New Orleans to the glitter of upper-crust New York society, three women--Callie Chenier, Honey Winslow, and Tessa Fitzgerald--are bound by passion and divided by a dark legacy of violence, intrigue, madness
Categories: Fiction

Methodist Magazine

Methodist Magazine

the family Bible had been reverently laid with care upon the lounge , its leaves
yet open at the ninety - first psalm . “ Gentlemen , " said the ... Explain to me your
errand . ... You have preached against the movements of the Klan - what's left of it
.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433070799998

Category:

Page:

View: 363

Categories:

The British Drama

The British Drama

Lookye , sirrah , if ever you would rise by left me the charge of this youth - A pretty
a great man , be sure to be with him in ... another.convenience , for you can't be
disappointed of an Now , Sir , what are you ? equipage whilst mine waits below ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MSU:31293104615699

Category: English drama

Page:

View: 966

Categories: English drama

The Complete Concordance to Shakespeare

The Complete Concordance to Shakespeare

you have some goodly jest in hand V. 2 with mine own hands ii . 2 wit hands ... 2
to the snow - white hand of the most iv . ? heavens with what we have in hand iii .
... 3 give me thy hand ; and let me left on your right hand , brings ..... iv . 3 hath ...

Author: Mary Cowden Clarke

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X000737411

Category: English language

Page: 860

View: 890

Categories: English language

The Complete Concordance to Shakspere

The Complete Concordance to Shakspere

2 give me your hands , if we be friends ( epil . ) give ine thy hand ; I ... Y. 1 your
hand , Salerio ; what's the news iii 2 take her by the hand .... V. 3 I commit into ... 3
give me thy hand ; and let me left on your right hand , brings iv . 3 here is my
hand ...

Author: Mary Cowden Clarke

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433003253105

Category:

Page: 860

View: 513

Categories:

The Complete Works of Shakspere

The Complete Works of Shakspere

That's more Than some , whose tailors are as dear as yours , Can justly boast of .
What's your lordship's pleasure ? Clo . Your lady's person : is she ready ? Lady .
Ay , To keep her chamber . Clo . There's gold for you ; sell me your good report .

Author: William Shakespeare

Publisher:

ISBN: BCUL:1094905886

Category:

Page:

View: 874

Categories:

The Voices of England America

The Voices of England   America

Too much , Octavia ; I am pressed with sor400 Too heavy to be borne ; and you
add more : I would retire , and recollect what's left Of man within , to aid me .
Octav . You would mourn , In private , for your love , who has betrayed you . You
did ...

Author: David Lee Clark

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951001638760V

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 439

Categories: American literature

Plays and Players

Plays and Players

DOCTOR : Your husband must try and understand ... indeed we all must how is
your husband ? How's he keeping ? ... I'm worried about his health what's left of it
... that's why I asked you here ... tell me does he cough ? WIFE : Yes but he's ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCSC:32106020193188

Category: Theater

Page:

View: 452

Categories: Theater

Six Restoration Plays

Six Restoration Plays

I would retire and recollect what's left Of man within , to aid me . OCTAVIA . You
would mourn In private for your love , who has betrayed you . You did but half
return to me ; your kindness Lingered behind with her . I hear , my lord , You
make ...

Author: John Harold Wilson

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin College Division

ISBN: STANFORD:36105006451194

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 463

View: 852

Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines

Catalog of Copyright Entries

Catalog of Copyright Entries

Author: Library of Congress. Copyright Office

Publisher:

ISBN: UCR:31210018278364

Category: American drama

Page:

View: 285

Includes index.
Categories: American drama

The Works of John Dryden

The Works of John Dryden

I would retire , and recollect what's left Of Man within , to aid me . Octav . You
would mourn In private , for your Love , who has betray'd you ; You did but half
return to me : your kindness Linger'd behind with her . I hear , my Lord , You
make ...

Author: John Dryden

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X000914111

Category:

Page:

View: 192

Categories: