What the Flick? Volume 5

Author: Movie Geek

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1387351249

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 252

View: 5168

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A quiz book on movie clips that makes a great party game. Can be played alone, one-on-one, or in large groups. Has clips from movies as far back as 1930, all the way up to current day.
Release

Skateboarding Made Simple Vol 1

Master The Basics of Skateboarding

Author: Aaron Kyro

Publisher: Braille Skateboarding

ISBN: 0991145313

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 33

View: 8733

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Professional Skateboarder Aaron Kyro breaks down the basics of skateboarding in this easy to follow book with clear video descriptions. The most detailed how to skateboard video ever made put into a book. All 50 minutes of the full "Skateboarding Made Simple Vol 1" video tutorial is included. The tricks are broken up into chapters and the step by step process for each trick is clearly laid out for you to follow. In this book you will learn the basics of riding your skateboard, Ollie, Frontside 180, Backside 180, Pop Shove-it, Frontside Pop Shove-it, Heelflip and Kickflip. Follow the steps in this book and progress super fast in your skateboarding now!
Release

2014 January Vol. 1

Author: Pure Slush

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1925101037

Category:

Page: 162

View: 9905

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A year in stories ... one story a day for the entire year ... each writer taking the same day of the month to spin stories across the whole year ... and it all starts with January
Release

Letters from a Life Vol 1: 1923-39

Selected Letters and Diaries of Benjamin Britten

Author: Benjamin Britten

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 057126591X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 752

View: 3427

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Volume One of these remarkable letters and diaries opens with a letter from Britten aged nine to his formidable mother, Edith. Music is already at the centre of his life, and it accompanies him through prep and public school and then to London to the Royal College of Music, where the phenomenally gifted but inexperienced young composer is plunged into metropolitan life and makes influential new friends, among them W. H. Auden and Christopher Isherwood. This was a time of prodigious musical creativity, a growing awareness of his sexuality, and the dawning of his political convictions. Most importantly, during this period Britten met Peter Pears and established the musical and personal relationship that was to last a lifetime. Volume One comes to a close in May 1939, when Britten, accompanied by Pears, departs for North America. The letters and diaries in this illuminating first volume and its successor are supplemented by the editors' detailed commentary and by exhaustive contemporary documentation. Together they constitute a comprehensive portrait not only of the composer but of an age.
Release

The Knights Templar Collection: Volume 1

Three engrossing medieval mysteries in one unmissable collection

Author: Michael Jecks

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472228014

Category: Fiction

Page: 1152

View: 808

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Escape into the evocative medieval world of Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, as you join them on the suspenseful trail of three murder mysteries. The Knights Templar Collection brings together three engrossing novels in the widely acclaimed and much-loved Knights Templar series by Michael Jecks. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell. The Mad Monk of Gidleigh (Book 14): As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from the miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and her unborn child are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. And by the time their search is over, life will never be quite the same again. The Templar's Penance (Book 15): It is the summer of 1323, and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock have been granted leave to go on pilgrimage. When a beautiful girl is found murdered on a hillside en route to Santiago de Compostela, the friends are among the first on the scene. As Baldwin and Simon lend their skills to the inquiry, the unexpected appearance of a face from Baldwin's past could threaten the investigation, as well as the future of Baldwin himself... The Outlaws of Ennor (Book 16): On return from pilgrimage, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's ship is attacked by pirates, and Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. On the island of Ennor, Simon must investigate the murder of the island's hated tax collector while, unbeknownst to his friend, Baldwin begins to unpick the same murder on the other side of the island. Can the pair uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre? What readers are saying about The Knights Templar mysteries: 'Michael Jecks is one of the best medieval writers of our times. His two main characters come alive in the imagination when you're reading them' 'The characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century, with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times' 'Good introduction to the series'
Release

Electronic Reporter

Author: Barbara Alysen

Publisher: UNSW Press

ISBN: 9780868406855

Category: Broadcast journalism

Page: 243

View: 8284

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Designed to equip journalism students with the skills needed to navigate the new era of electronic media. Explains how Australian broadcast news is gathered and packaged and provides a practical guide to audio and video journalism.
Release

The House of Grey: Vol 1

Author: Collin Earl

Publisher: SilverStone Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 150

View: 7882

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Volume 1 in The House of Grey Series Fantasy, friendship, and fate await you in Collin Earl’s The House of Grey, based on the popular audio fiction by the same name. 14-year-old Monson Grey faces the same challenges that any freshman high school kid would: difficult classes, weird teachers, food fights…girls. Except, Monson Grey is not Monson Grey. At least, when he looks at himself in the mirror, the scarred face staring back is not someone he recognizes. Now he finds himself attending an extraordinary school, the recipient of an incredible scholarship, among ridiculously rich classmates, all with no memory of how he got there or what to expect. All he has from his former life are the flashes of haunting images that plague his dreams and the echoing voices that he hears, but cannot see. Luckily, Monson finds fast friendship in two of his classmates, Casey and Artorius. Little does Monson know, they too carry their own skeletons. Yet, as bizarre events start to unfold around them, Monson wonders what secrets lay buried in his mind or if he will ever be able to share his true fears with his newfound friends. Join our three heroes as they roam the halls of the most prestigious high school in the country, finding love, mystery, and answers to their algebra homework- all while peeling away the layers of Monson’s shadowy past. Author’s Note: The House of Grey was originally a serialized audio fiction. The Volume system begins the written adaptation of that story. Individual volumes do not contain the complete story. The Volumes contain 50,000 to 70,000 word chucks and are divided into ARCS. (ARC ONE, the Coren University Arc, consists of Volumes 1 through 6 and corresponds to the original podcast fiction) Each ARC will be available for a reduced price in an omnibus format. Original material for the continuation of the story starts in Volume 7
Release

West German Industry and the Challenge of the Nazi Past, 1945-1955

Author: S. Jonathan Wiesen

Publisher: Univ of North Carolina Press

ISBN: 080787504X

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 8326

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the aftermath of World War II and the Holocaust, West German industrialists faced a major crisis in their public image. With mounting revelations about the use of forced and slave labor, the "Aryanization" of Jewish property, and corporate profiteering under National Socialism, industrialists emerged from the war with their national and international reputations in tatters. In this groundbreaking study, Jonathan Wiesen explores how West German business leaders remade and marketed their public image between 1945 and 1955. He challenges assumptions that West Germans--and industrialists in particular--were silent about the recent past during the years of denazification and reconstruction. Drawing on sources that include private correspondence, popular literature, and a wealth of unpublished materials from corporate archives, Wiesen reveals how German business leaders attempted to absolve themselves of responsibility for Nazi crimes while recasting themselves as socially and culturally engaged public figures. Through case studies of individual firms such as Siemens and Krupp, Wiesen depicts corporate publicity as a telling example of postwar selective memory. In his introduction and conclusion, Wiesen considers the recent establishment of a multibillion dollar fund to provide financial compensation to the victims of industrial exploitation during World War II. This acknowledgment by German industry of its ongoing responsibility for its past crimes underscores the contemporary relevance of Wiesen's study.
Release