Unfathomable City

A New Orleans Atlas

Author: Rebecca Solnit,Rebecca Snedeker

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520274032

Category: ART

Page: 166

View: 1988

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Presents twenty-two color maps and accompanying essays providing details on the people, ecology, and culture of the city.
Release

Infinite Cities

A Trilogy of Atlases—San Francisco, New Orleans, New York

Author: Rebecca Solnit,Joshua Jelly-Schapiro,Rebecca Snedeker

Publisher: University of California Press

ISBN: 9780520314290

Category: Social Science

Page: 574

View: 7652

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"The maps themselves are things of beauty." —The New York Times Explore the hidden histories of San Francisco, New Orleans, and New York with this brilliant reinvention of the traditional atlas. From Rebecca Solnit, Rebecca Snedeker, and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro. In the past decade, Rebecca Solnit—aided by local writers, artists, historians, urbanists, ethnographers, and cartographers—has compiled three stunning atlases that have radically changed the way we think about place. Each atlas provides a vivid, complex look at the multi-faceted nature of a city as experienced by its different inhabitants, replete with the celebrations and contradictions that make up urban life. This three-volume paperback set contains: The original, gorgeously designed atlases—Infinite City: A San Francisco Atlas; Unfathomable City: A New Orleans Atlas; and Nonstop Metropolis: A New York City Atlas Three new and updated, full-color, fold-out posters for each city, including the popular “City of Women” map A new and thoughtful essay by Rebecca Solnit reflecting on the project ten years after the publication of the first atlas A stunning collection, this boxed set is a perfect treasury of imagination and insight, a rich people’s history of these infinite cities.
Release

Cities as Multiple Landscapes

Investigating the Sister Cities Innsbruck and New Orleans

Author: Christina Antenhofer,Günter Bischof,Robert L. Dupont,Ulrich Leitner

Publisher: Campus Verlag

ISBN: 3593506475

Category: Social Science

Page: 529

View: 3438

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Cities are composed of a combination of urban and rural spaces, buildings and boundaries, and human bodies engaged in political, social, and cultural discourses. Together, these combine to create what the contributors to this volume call multiple landscapes. Developing a new theoretical conceptualization of cities, this book unites American and European approaches to comparative urban studies by investigating the concept of multiple landscapes in two sister cities: New Orleans and Innsbruck. As the essays reveal, both New Orleans and Innsbruck have long been centers of multicultural exchange, have strong senses of historical heritage, and profit from the spectacular geographies in which they are situated. Geography, in particular, links both cities to environmental, technological, and security challenges that must be considered in connection with aesthetic, cultural, and ecological debates. Exploring the many connections between New Orleans and Innsbruck, the interdisciplinary essays in this book will change the way we think about cities both local and abroad.
Release

A Research Guide to Cartographic Resources

Print and Electronic Sources

Author: Eva H. Dodsworth

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1538100843

Category: Reference

Page: 450

View: 3183

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book navigates the numerous American and Canadian cartographic resources available in print, and online, offering information on how to locate and access the large variety of resources. Cartographic materials are highlighted and summarized, along with lists of map libraries and geospatial centers, and related professional associations.
Release

In Case of Katrina

Reinventing the Church in Post-Katrina New Orleans

Author: Ellen Blue

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1532601824

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 8250

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Since six months after landfall, Ellen Blue has taught "The Church's Response to Katrina." It sidesteps disaster response, where clearly the church should be involved. What was unclear was how leaders in a connectional denomination like United Methodism should decide which churches to merge or decommission after floods destroyed seventy churches and displaced ninety pastors, and no one knew how many members would return. Katrina gave the church a chance to re-make itself without deteriorating structures in no-longer-thriving neighborhoods. Yet as members returned to chaos, they sought solace. Should the church meet needs for Sanctuary and reassurance or use newfound flexibility to seek justice? In Case of Katrina examines leadership strategies and the theological convictions that underlay them during the struggle to decide. The larger United Methodist Church controls real estate, and the hierarchy had the power to choose. Instead they let verdicts spring primarily from congregants and pastors on the ground through a long, controversial process. Recovery has been entwined with issues of race and class. Cooperation among African American and Anglo congregations has birthed vibrant multi-racial worship and ministries. Yet other prophetic ministry was left undone, and it should set the agenda for the next decade.
Release

Savage Dreams

A Journey into the Hidden Wars of the American West

Author: Rebecca Solnit

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 052095792X

Category: Nature

Page: 435

View: 3786

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"A beautiful, absorbing, tragic book."—Larry McMurtry In 1851, a war began in what would become Yosemite National Park, a war against the indigenous inhabitants. A century later–in 1951–and a hundred and fifty miles away, another war began when the U.S. government started setting off nuclear bombs at the Nevada Test Site. It was called a nuclear testing program, but functioned as a war against the land and people of the Great Basin. In this foundational book of landscape theory and environmental thinking, Rebecca Solnit explores our national Eden and Armageddon and offers a pathbreaking history of the west, focusing on the relationship between culture and its implementation as politics. In a new preface, she considers the continuities and changes of these invisible wars in the context of our current climate change crisis, and reveals how the long arm of these histories continue to inspire her writing and hope.
Release

We Cast a Shadow

A Novel

Author: Maurice Carlos Ruffin

Publisher: One World

ISBN: 0525509089

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 8080

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A “brilliant and devastating” (Booklist) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white. “An incisive and necessary work of satire.”—Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist “You can be beautiful, even more beautiful than before.” This is the seductive promise of Dr. Nzinga’s clinic, where anyone can get their lips thinned, their skin bleached, and their nose narrowed. A complete demelanization will liberate you from the confines of being born in a black body—if you can afford it. In this near-future Southern city plagued by fenced-in ghettos and police violence, more and more residents are turning to this experimental medical procedure. Like any father, our narrator just wants the best for his son, Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. The darker Nigel becomes, the more frightened his father feels. But how far will he go to protect his son? And will he destroy his family in the process? This electrifying, hallucinatory novel is at once a keen satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. At its center is a father who just wants his son to thrive in a broken world. Maurice Carlos Ruffin’s work evokes the clear vision of Ralph Ellison, the dizzying menace of Franz Kafka, and the crackling prose of Vladimir Nabokov. We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love. Advance praise for We Cast a Shadow “A full-throated novelistic debut of ferocious power and grace . . . a story that refracts the insanity of the world into a shape so unique you wonder how this book wasn’t there all along.”—Lit Hub, Most Anticipated Books of 2019 “Propulsive . . . We Cast a Shadow proves that the eeriest works of speculative fiction are those that hit closest to home.”—Vulture, 37 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2019 “One of the most anticipated debut novels of 2019.”—Los Angeles Times, 11 Authors to Watch in 2019 “A biting satire of anti-blackness in the US.”—Buzzfeed, 66 Books Coming in 2019 That You’ll Want to Keep on Your Radar
Release

Berlin Identities

Literature and Film in the New German Capital

Author: Susanne Helene Hoelscher-Whiting

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Berlin (Germany)

Page: 388

View: 9931

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release