The Wishing Thread

A Novel

Author: Lisa Van Allen

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0345537823

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 3879

DOWNLOAD NOW »

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • USA TODAY BESTSELLER “Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You’re going to love this book.”—Debbie Macomber For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love. The Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they’re angels; some say they’re crooks. In their tumbledown “Stitchery,” not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters—Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie—are said to knit people’s most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made—and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers. When the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah’s death forces a reunion, the sisters must reassess the state of their lives even as they decide the fate of the Stitchery. But their relationships with one another—and their beliefs in magic—are put to the test. Will the threads hold? BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Lisa Van Allen’s The Night Garden. Praise for The Wishing Thread “With deft needlework, a dash of folklore, and some good old-fashioned family angst, Lisa Van Allen knits together the threads of second chances, the pleasure of giving, the complications of sisterhood, and love. There’s a bit of magic in The Wishing Thread, in the words and the story as well as in the yarn.”—Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters “Rich in myth and mystery, The Wishing Thread explores the tangle that is being a woman—from family and friendship to romance and community. Prepare to be ensnared, enthralled, enchanted!”—USA Today bestselling author Christie Ridgway “The Wishing Thread is a lyrical, emotional, finely knit portrayal of three sisters struggling with love, magic and sacrifice. This is the best book I’ve read all year.”—Lisa Verge Higgins, author of The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship “An intriguing story of three sisters tied by blood and a strange inheritance, each searching for a way to belong in that place where magic and life intersect. Wonderful!”—Shelley Noble, author of Beach Colors “Van Allen knits together this pleasantly entertaining tale as easily as the Van Ripper women knit together the often unraveling threads of people’s lives. . . . Chick-lit cozy meets magical realism with inevitably warm and fuzzy results.”—Booklist “Fans of magical realism will want to pick up this enjoyable novel, which not only weaves magic through stitchery, but also weaves a realistic story about family and sisterhood and the threads that pull us back home.”—RT Book Reviews Includes an exclusive conversation between Sarah Addison Allen and Lisa Van Allen. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Release

The Night Garden

A Novel

Author: Lisa Van Allen

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0345537572

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 7605

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable: a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life’s most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden’s beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family’s land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm’s length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question: Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen’s The Wishing Thread “Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You’re going to love this book.”—Debbie Macomber “Whimsical . . . great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman.”—Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Release

The Wishing-Ring

A Novel

Author: Mendele Mokher Sefarim,S. Y. Abramovitsh

Publisher: Syracuse University Press

ISBN: 9780815630357

Category: Fiction

Page: 280

View: 1163

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"In this work Michael Wex renders the time-honored tale with the skill and ease of a modern storyteller and humorist. Abramovitsh's artistry lies not in the plot but in the descriptions and ever-shifting narrative voice. Sometimes the narrator (Mendele the Book Peddler) speaks from within the shtetl and sometimes from outside; and often he interweaves the high rhetorical prose of Hershl himself, reborn by the novel's end as Heinrich Cohen."--Jacket.
Release

The Wishing Hill

A Novel

Author: Holly Robinson

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 110158971X

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5712

DOWNLOAD NOW »

What if everything you knew about your life was wrong? Years ago, Juliet Clark gave up her life in California to follow the man she loved to Mexico and pursue her dream of being an artist. Now her marriage is over, and she’s alone, selling watercolors to tourists on the Puerto Vallarta boardwalk. When her brother asks her to come home to wintery New England and care for their ailing mother, a flamboyant actress with a storied past, Juliet goes reluctantly. She and her self-absorbed mother have always clashed. Plus, nobody back home knows about her divorce—or the fact that she’s pregnant and her ex-husband is not the father. Juliet intends to get her mother back on her feet and return to Mexico fast, but nothing goes as planned. Instead she meets a man who makes her question every choice and reawakens her spirit, even as she is being drawn into a long-running feud between her mother and a reclusive neighbor. Little does she know that these relationships hold the key to shocking secrets about her family and herself that have been hiding in plain sight.… CONVERSATION GUIDE INCLUDED
Release

The Memory of Genocide in Tasmania, 1803-2013

Scars on the Archive

Author: Jesse Shipway

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137484438

Category: History

Page: 203

View: 1496

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book presents a philosophical history of Tasmania’s past and present with a particular focus on the double stories of genocide and modernity. On the one hand, proponents of modernisation have sought to close the past off from the present, concealing the demographic disaster behind less demanding historical narratives and politicised preoccupations such as convictism and environmentalism. The second story, meanwhile, is told by anyone, aboriginal or European, who has gone to the archive and found the genocidal horrors hidden there. This volume blends both stories. It describes the dual logics of genocide and modernity in Tasmania and suggests that Tasmanians will not become more realistic about the future until they can admit a full recognition of the colonial genocide that destroyed an entire civilisation, not much more than 200 years ago.
Release

Folktale as a Source of Graeco-Roman Fiction

The Origin of Popular Narrative

Author: Graham Anderson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 261

View: 4206

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The studies collected in this work examine the relationship between formal fiction and popular storytelling in Ancient Greek and Roman Literature. This work should appeal to scholars interested in folk literature, Greek and Roman literature, and the development of ancient literature. literary aspects of the texts available to us. Ancient novels had their roots traced to a number of literary genres, including Epic, Euripidean Romantic drama, and New Comedy. The studies collected in this work look instead at the relationship between formal fiction and popular storytelling. Connections between these two forms of literature were prevalent in various cultures in antiquity and also reemerged in the significant quantities of folk - and fairytales from the Renaissance onwards.
Release

Rendezvous: A Barnaby Skye Novel

Author: Richard S. Wheeler

Publisher: Forge Books

ISBN: 1466828528

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 9784

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Barnaby Skye, a pressed seaman in the Royal Navy, jumps ship at Fort Vancouver in 1826 with little more than the clothes on his back and a belaying pin for a weapon. Fighting for life, starving, hiding from his pursuers--the Hudson's Bay Company and the British Navy--he follows the Columbia River inland toward a fate he never anticipated. In a trapping brigade, Skye falls in with legendary mountain men such as Jim Bridger and Tom "Broken Hand" Fitzpatrick and in the fabled Rocky Mountains finds another unexpected turn in his life when he meets the Crow maiden, Many Quill Woman, who will become his wife. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Release

A Manuscript of Ashes

A Novel

Author: Antonio Muñoz Molina

Publisher: HMH

ISBN: 0547541910

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 6278

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In this “beautifully wrought” novel set in Franco-era Spain, a university student stumbles into a decades-old mystery (New York magazine). It’s the late sixties, the last dark years of Franco’s dictatorship. Minaya, a university student in Madrid, is caught up in the student protests and the police are after him. He moves to his uncle Manuel’s country estate in the small town of Mágina to write his thesis on an old friend of his uncle, an obscure republican poet named Jacinto Solana. The country house is full of traces of the poet—notes, photographs, journals—and Minaya soon discovers that, thirty years earlier, during the Spanish Civil War, both his uncle and Solana were in love with the same woman, the beautiful, unsettling Mariana. Engaged to Manuel, she was shot in the attic of the house on her wedding night. With the aid of Inés, a maid, Minaya begins to search for Solana’s lost masterpiece, a novel called Beatus Ille. Looking for a book, he unravels a crime. One of Spain’s most celebrated literary figures, the author of Sepharad and In the Night of Time weaves a “rapturously gothic” tale that is both a novel of ideas and an intricately plotted mystery (The New York Sun). “A brilliant novel by an important writer unafraid of ideas, emotions and genuine beauty.” —Los Angeles Times “Already a contemporary classic, this work . . . is an enigmatic gem in the very best metafiction tradition.” —Library Journal
Release