The Waterway Girls

Author: Milly Adams

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473538793

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 2638

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE FIRST NOVEL IN MILLY ADAMS' BRAND NEW SAGA SERIES. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Nancy Revell. War lands them in the same boat. Can they pull together? October 1943, West London Nineteen-year-old Polly Holmes is leaving poor bombed London behind to join the war effort on Britain’s canals. Stepping aboard the Marigold amid pouring rain, there’s lots for Polly to get to grips with. Not least her fellow crew: strong and impetuous Verity, whose bark is worse than her bite, and seasoned skipper Bet. With her sweetheart away fighting in the RAF and her beloved brother killed in action, there’s plenty of heartache to be healed on the waterway. And as Polly rolls up her sleeves and gets stuck into life on board the narrowboat – making the gruelling journey London up to Birmingham – she will soon discover that a world of new beginnings awaits amid the anguish of the war. Praise for Milly Adams: 'Well researched, with an engaging heroine and a delightful ending.' Anna Jacobs 'Milly Adams' readers will find the story and its rich cast of characters very appealing.' Lizzie Lane
Release

Hope on the Waterways

Author: Milly Adams

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473538815

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 5105

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When all seems lost, they find strength in each other. THE THIRD NOVEL IN THE UPLIFTING WATERWAY GIRLS SERIES. Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell. 'The description and characterisation is so finely wrought that I was frequently stunned when I stopped reading to find myself on my sofa' - Tracy Baines ___________________________________________ January 1945, West London: Sylvia Simpson is flourishing in her role aboard the Marigold and has quickly become an invaluable member of the crew. But as the V-I and V-2 rockets draw closer, someone from her past is about to burst into their lives. Now Sylvia must choose between keeping the promises she has made, and remaining loyal to the people she loves the most. Polly and Verity are still waiting for their sweethearts’ safe return, and soon find they have their own battles to fight on the home front. It will take all their resolve to keep their heads above water, but as long as they stick together there will always be hope.
Release

Love on the Waterways

Author: Milly Adams

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473538807

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 7371

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE SECOND NOVEL IN MILLY ADAMS' BRAND NEW SAGA SERIES. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Nancy Revell. 'I raced through it and loved every word.' - Frost Magazine March 1944, West London: it’s been five months since Verity Clement fled home for a life on Britain’s canals, and she could never have imagined how tough it would get. Yet hauling cargo between London and Birmingham is far easier to face than the turbulence she’s left behind. When Verity’s sweetheart returns unexpectedly from the front line, she dares to dream of a brighter future. But life aboard the Marigold is never smooth sailing. New recruit Sylvia is struggling with demons from her past, while crewmate Polly must carry on in the wake of devastating news. Verity does her best to help, but a shocking discovery is about to turn her own life upside-down. As the realities of war begin to take their toll, the waterway girls will have to pull together if they are to survive the uncertain times ahead... Praise for Milly Adams: 'Well researched, with an engaging heroine and a delightful ending.' Anna Jacobs 'Milly Adams' readers will find the story and its rich cast of characters very appealing.' Lizzie Lane
Release

Eternal on the Water

Author: Joseph Moninnger

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0731815416

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 5677

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the day Cobb and Mary meet kayaking on Maine's Allagash River and fall deeply in love, the two approach life with the same sense of adventure they use to conquer the river's treacherous rapids. But rivers do not let go so easily...and neither does their love. So when Mary's life takes the cruelest turn, she vows to face those rough waters on her own terms and asks Cobb to promise, when the time comes, to help her return to their beloved river for one final journey. Set against the rugged wilderness of Maine, the exotic islands of Indonesia, the sweeping panoramas of Yellowstone National Park, and the tranquil villages of rural New England, Eternal on the Wateris at once heartbreaking and uplifting -- a timeless, beautifully rendered story of true love's power.
Release

Boat Girl

A Memoir of Youth, Love, and Fiberglass

Author: Melanie Neale

Publisher: Beating Windward Press

ISBN: 098382522X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 246

View: 5985

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Throughout the 1980s and 1990s, the author's family lived aboard a 47-foot sailboat, spending their summers along the U.S. East Coast and their winters in the Bahamas. As an adult, she lived aboard her own 28-foot sailboat and had several relationships trying to find someone who wasn't intimidated by her stubborn independence and free-spirited lifestyle.
Release

A Runaway Witness

Author: Dolores Strandberg

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1469119307

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 1756

DOWNLOAD NOW »

After witnessing a murder involving her boss, a secretary turns to a Federal Marshall for help. She testifies at her bosss trial and then has to run for her life with the assistance of a number of law enforcement officials including the FBI. No one seems to be able to protect her as she begins traveling to numerous places across the USA in an attempt to avoid being killed. Even the people sent to protect her are suspect. Changing her name and using various disguises fail to keep her enemies from locating her. During her moves to various places she befriends two young run-away girls and later a young boy who become part of her life, along with the Federal Marshall who proves to be more than he seems. She finds help and friendship in unexpected places and eventually her problems come to a happy, though unexpected conclusion, when more than one person she trusts have become her enemies. This is a fictional story though most of the places mentioned are actual communities in and around the USA. My Father was in law enforcement and several characters are similar to some of his friends that I knew during his lifetime, though their names and places they lived are not as portrayed in my story.
Release

Great Girls in Michigan History

Author: Patricia Majher

Publisher: Wayne State University Press

ISBN: 0814340741

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 192

View: 8111

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A deep-sea diver, a dancer, an activist, an aviator, a singer, and a soldier—Great Girls in Michigan History highlights some of the girls from Michigan’s past who did amazing things before they turned twenty years old. Author Patricia Majher presents easy-to-read mini-biographies of twenty girls with ties to Michigan, representing a variety of personal backgrounds and interests, locations across the state, and historical time periods. Majher introduces little-known stories, like those of female aviator Nancy Harkness (Love), pioneer Anna Howard Shaw, escaped slave Dorothy Butler, professional baseball player Marilyn Jenkins, union leader Myra Komaroff (Wolfgang), and Native American writer Jane Johnston (Schoolcraft). She also includes figures that many readers will recognize—including First Lady Betty Bloomer (Ford), jockey Julie Krone, Motown star Diana Ross, and tennis champion Serena Williams. Majher shows that while life wasn’t always easy for these girls, they were able to overcome any number of obstacles to achieve their goals. Great Girls in Michigan History includes a brief section on each girl’s life after the age of twenty and a glossary of selected vocabulary words at the end of the book. With its depictions of young women who have not typically been represented in history texts, this book will be inspirational reading for upper elementary school students (ages 8 to 12) and welcomed by Michigan schools, bookstores, and public libraries.
Release

The Harbour Girl

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446438821

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 4596

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Scarborough, 1880 Jeannie spends her days watching the harbour girls and waiting for Ethan Wharton to come in on his father's fishing smack. Jeannie had always expected to marry the loyal and dependable Ethan. But then she meets Harry, a stranger who has come to visit from Hull for the day, and she falls for him. When Jeannie finds herself pregnant and Harry breaks his promise to come back for her, she is left isolated. She and her child move to Hull where her life is touched by illness, tragedy and poverty. She longs for the simpler times of her past, and wonders if she will ever find someone who will truly love her - and if Ethan will ever forgive her . . . If you enjoy books by Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, you'll love Val's heartwarming stories of triumph over adversity.
Release