The Vanished Kingdom

The Vanished Kingdom

Printed in the United States of America. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopy, recording, or any information storage and retrieval system ...

Author: James Charles Roy

Publisher: Westview Press

ISBN: STANFORD:36105021956078

Category: History

Page: 398

View: 232

Combining armchair travel, stunning photography, and a keen historical sense, James Charles Roy takes us on a moving journey through the tragic past, present, and, very likely, future of Eastern Europe.
Categories: History

The Vanished Kingdom

The Vanished Kingdom

The story is spiced with interviews and reminiscences, unforgettable in their sadness, of people looking back at a life now gone, a life full of turmoil and heartache, memories both fond and tragic.

Author: James Charles Roy

Publisher: Basic Books

ISBN: 0813337933

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 902

Twice in this century, Germany initiated wars of unimagined terror and destruction. In both cases, defense of the “Prussian” realm, the German homeland, was the perceived and vilified perpetrator. Few today understand with any precision what “Prussia” means, either geographically or nationalistically, but neither would they deny the psychic resonance of the single word. To most, it means unbridled aggression, the image of the goose-stepping Junker.But what was once Prussia is now a significant portion of Eastern Europe, a contested homeland first won by Christian knights of the Teutonic Order. For centuries thereafter its terrain has been crisscrossed by war and partitioned by barbed wire. In its final catastrophe of 1945, nearly two million German refugees fled the region as Russian armies broke the eastern front, perhaps the greatest dislocation of a civilian population at any time during World War II. With the Berlin Wall now a memory and the Soviet Union in a state of collapse, this remains a geography in shambles. Modern travelers can now, for the first time in decades, see and ponder for themselves what Prussia really was and now is.James Charles Roy and Amos Elon, two writers noted for their inquisitive natures, have gone to search through the rubble themselves. They intermingle present-day observations with moving vignettes from the German and Prussian past, sketching a portrait of the Europe we know today. The story is spiced with interviews and reminiscences, unforgettable in their sadness, of people looking back at a life now gone, a life full of turmoil and heartache, memories both fond and tragic. The final result: a far deeper understanding of the tattered lands of today's Eastern Europe.
Categories: History

The Vanished Ancient Liangzhu Kingdom

The Vanished Ancient Liangzhu Kingdom

The basic structure of the cart in Sanmenxia Guo Kingdom is traced back to the early and middle periods of Yin Shang and Western Zhou Dynasty , and its importance in every social position has grown ever since . The cart and horse pit is ...

Author: 张东霞

Publisher: 中信出版社

ISBN: 7508510488

Category: Antiquities, Prehistoric

Page: 201

View: 332

本书是一本全英文书籍,主要以图文并茂的方式介绍了消逝的良渚古国,可供读者欣赏。
Categories: Antiquities, Prehistoric

Vanished Kingdoms

Vanished Kingdoms

Part II then tells the narrative of a 'vanished kingdom' that once inhabited the same location. Part III examines the extent to which the vanished kingdom has either been remembered or forgotten; usually it is poorly remembered or ...

Author: Norman Davies

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780141960487

Category: History

Page: 848

View: 757

'The past is a foreign country' has become a truism, yet the past differs from the present in many unfamiliar ways and historical memory is extraordinarily imperfect. The degree to which we think of the European past as the history of France, Germany, Britain, Russia and so on, actually obstructs our view of former reality, and blunts our sensitivity to the ever-changing political landscape. Europe's past is littered with kingdoms, empires and republics which no longer exist but which were some of the most important entities of their day - 'the Empire of Aragon', which dominated the western Mediterranean in the thirteenth century, the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, the largest country in Europe for part of the eighteenth century. This book shows the reader how to peer through the cracks of mainstream history-writing, and to catch a glimpse of the 'Five, Six or Seven Kingdoms of Burgundy'. How long will it be before the USSR, until recently one of the world's two superpowers, is wholly or half-forgotten as most of these? The histories of the lost echo across the centuries, mixed in with more familiar sounds. One of the purposes of this book is to help us hear them again more clearly, and appreciate where they came from. As in his earlier celebrated books Europe and The Isles, Norman Davies aims to subvert our established view what looks familiar in history and urges us to look and think again. This stimulating book, full of unexpected stories, observations and connections, gives us a fresh and original perspective on European history.
Categories: History

Starfell Willow Moss and the Vanished Kingdom

Starfell  Willow Moss and the Vanished Kingdom

Attending school for the first time ever, young witch Willow Moss meets new friends who join her on her most urgent mission yet--to protect the children of Starfell from the source of all magic falling into the wrong hands.

Author: Dominique Valente

Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books

ISBN: 0008308489

Category: Children's stories

Page: 288

View: 139

The third book in the magical Starfell series, starring misfit witch Willow Moss. Perfect for readers of 8+ and beautifully illustrated throughout by Sarah Warburton. Willow Moss and the Lost Day was selected as Waterstones Book of the Month.
Categories: Children's stories

Hearts of Frost Flame

Hearts of Frost   Flame

I thought if you really did come from the Vanished Kingdom, and Greatshadow destroyed civilization back then, it might explain your grudge.” A reasonable theory. “But is it right?” Relic shook his head. Without the primal dragons, ...

Author: James Maxey

Publisher: James Maxey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 600

View: 628

Nothing can stand in the way of true love, except maybe dragons. Big, nasty dragons. Two complete novels, one epic tale of adventure and romance! With his dying breath, the tomb-raiding rogue Stagger confesses his love to his long-time companion, the swashbuckling swordswoman known as Infidel. With his ghost now bound to the blade that killed him, Stagger bears witness as Infidel launches into her most dangerous adventure yet, a quest to slay the dragon Greatshadow. Dragons exist on two planes of existence, residing in both the material realm and the spirit world. As Infidel’s quest brings her to the lands beyond death, is there hope for the star-crossed lovers to reunite? Or will both their souls be devoured as they are swept into the eternal battle between Greatshadow, the primal dragon of fire, and his ultimate foe, Hush, the primal dragon of ice? Hearts of Frost & Flame collects the novels Greatshadow and Hush, Books One and Two of the Dragon Apocalypse, the saga of Infidel and Stagger.
Categories: Fiction

The Vanished Library

The Vanished Library

Ptolemy VI flees Egypt ; division of the kingdom between Ptolemy VI and the future Ptolemy VIII ( Physcon ) . Ptolemy VIII bequeaths his share of the kingdom to Rome . Third Punic War . 211 200 196 196 190/189 188 180 ca.

Author: Luciano Canfora

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520072553

Category: History

Page: 205

View: 313

Recreates the world of ancient Egypt, describes how the Library of Alexandria was created, and speculates on its destruction
Categories: History

The Vanished Diamond

The Vanished Diamond

ordinary , dimensions the most unexpected , distinguished these innumerable crystals . ... and gold - veined lapis lazuli - all that the crystal kingdom could offer that was precious and rare and bright and dazzling had served as the ...

Author: Jules Verne

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HWM4GF

Category:

Page: 263

View: 793

Categories:

Dragon Apocalypse The Complete Collection

Dragon Apocalypse  The Complete Collection

A reasonable theory. “But is it right?” Relic shook his head. Without the primal dragons, there would never have been a Vanished Kingdom. Humans lived as little more than animals before three thousand years ago.

Author: James Maxey

Publisher: James Maxey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 800

View: 192

Bad girls, big dragons! An eclectic band of female adventures must come together to save the world from the primal dragons. DRAGON APOCALYPSE: THE COMPLETE COLLECTION, gathers all four novels of the critically acclaimed series by James Maxey, author of the bestselling BITTERWOOD series. It also includes the novella GREATSHADOW: ORIGINS, the story that provided the inspiration for the novels.
Categories: Fiction

Starfell 3 Willow Moss the Vanished Kingdom

Starfell  3  Willow Moss   the Vanished Kingdom

Intrepid young witch Willow Moss is back in a third installment of this magical middle grade series, perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett.

Author: Dominique Valente

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062879493

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 208

View: 457

Intrepid young witch Willow Moss is back in a third installment of this magical middle grade series, perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett. For the first time ever, Willow Moss is going to school. Magical children have long been barred from attending school. And the sudden reversal of the rule by the mysterious (and nefarious) Brothers of Wol seems too good to be true. Why would they decide to change it now? Willow, though hesitant, embarks on this new path with her usual courage and determination. On her first day, she meets new friends Twist and Peg, who will soon become her next partners-in-adventure. Because Willow is about to be tasked with her most urgent mission yet: to protect the children of Starfell, uncover the mystery of a long-lost kingdom—and prevent the very source of all magic from falling into the wrong hands.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction