The Skull Throne (The Demon Cycle, Book 4)

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007425708

Category: Fiction

Page: 768

View: 7664

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the grand tradition of George R.R. Martin and Robert Jordan, Sunday Times bestselling author Peter V. Brett continues his critically acclaimed Demon Cycle with the next dramatic instalment: THE SKULL THRONE.
Release

The Skull Throne: Book Four of The Demon Cycle

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 0804177473

Category: Fiction

Page: 704

View: 5257

DOWNLOAD NOW »

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BUZZFEED The first three novels in Peter V. Brett’s groundbreaking Demon Cycle series—The Warded Man, The Desert Spear, and The Daylight War—set a new standard for heroic fantasy. The powerful saga of humans winnowed to the brink of extinction by night-stalking demons, and the survivors who fight back, has kept readers breathless as they eagerly turned the pages. Now the thrilling fourth volume, The Skull Throne, raises the stakes as it carries the action in shocking new directions. The Skull Throne of Krasia stands empty. Built from the skulls of fallen generals and demon princes, it is a seat of honor and ancient, powerful magic, keeping the demon corelings at bay. From atop the throne, Ahmann Jardir was meant to conquer the known world, forging its isolated peoples into a unified army to rise up and end the demon war once and for all. But Arlen Bales, the Warded Man, stood against this course, challenging Jardir to a duel he could not in honor refuse. Rather than risk defeat, Arlen cast them both from a precipice, leaving the world without a savior, and opening a struggle for succession that threatens to tear the Free Cities of Thesa apart. In the south, Inevera, Jardir’s first wife, must find a way to keep their sons from killing one another and plunging their people into civil war as they strive for glory enough to make a claim on the throne. In the north, Leesha Paper and Rojer Inn struggle to forge an alliance between the duchies of Angiers and Miln against the Krasians before it is too late. Caught in the crossfire is the duchy of Lakton—rich and unprotected, ripe for conquest. All the while, the corelings have been growing stronger, and without Arlen and Jardir there may be none strong enough to stop them. Only Renna Bales may know more about the fate of the missing men, but she, too, has disappeared. . . . Look for Peter V. Brett’s complete Demon Cycle: THE WARDED MAN | THE DESERT SPEAR | THE DAYLIGHT WAR | THE SKULL THRONE | THE CORE (Coming soon!) Praise for Peter V. Brett’s novels of The Demon Cycle The Warded Man “There is much to admire in Peter Brett’s writing, and his concept is brilliant. There’s action and suspense all the way.”—Terry Brooks “[A] fast-paced and thoroughly enjoyable dark fantasy.”—The Miami Herald The Desert Spear “Inspired, compelling, and totally addictive: the most significant and cinematic fantasy epic since The Lord of the Rings.”—Paul W. S. Anderson, director of Resident Evil: Afterlife “Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”—Library Journal The Daylight War “Highly entertaining, fast-paced, and action-packed.”—SF Site “[Brett is] at the top of his game.”—Tor.com The Skull Throne “Heart-thumping, adrenaline-pumping . . . The crescendo is near perfect.”—Book Frivolity “As soon as we dive into The Skull Throne, it quickly becomes obvious that Brett knows exactly what he’s doing. . . . Brett is setting up his world and the characters in order to tell his epic fantasy tale in a way that is both personal and global. It’s a page-turner, and quite possibly the best so far.”—Starburst Magazine
Release

The Demon Cycle 4-Book Bundle

The Warded Man, The Desert Spear, The Daylight War, The Skull Throne

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 1101969067

Category: Fiction

Page: 2416

View: 4637

DOWNLOAD NOW »

One of the most exciting new sagas in epic fantasy, The Demon Cycle became a phenomenon with readers and launched the brilliant career of New York Times bestselling author Peter V. Brett. With the popularity of this groundbreaking tale of demons and destiny growing with each book, now is the time to catch up from the beginning with the first four novels in one convenient ebook bundle: THE WARDED MAN THE DESERT SPEAR THE DAYLIGHT WAR THE SKULL THRONE As darkness falls after sunset, the corelings rise—demons who possess supernatural powers and burn with a consuming hatred of humanity. For hundreds of years the demons have terrorized the night, slowly culling the human herd that shelters behind magical wards—symbols of power whose origins are lost in myth and whose protection is terrifyingly fragile. It was not always this way. Once, men and women battled the corelings on equal terms, but those days are gone. Night by night the demons grow stronger, while human numbers dwindle under their relentless assault. Now, with hope for the future fading, three young survivors of vicious demon attacks will do the unthinkable, stepping beyond the crumbling safety of the wards to risk everything in a desperate quest to regain the secrets of the past. Arlen Bales will pay any price, embrace any sacrifice, for freedom, and his grim journey will take him beyond the bounds of human power. Crippled by the demons that killed his parents, Rojer Inn seeks solace in music, only to discover that his instrument can be a weapon as well as a refuge. Wanting to cure the sick and injured, Leesha Paper overcomes great hardship to become a guardian of old world science, learning that what heals can also harm. Together, they will stand against the night. Praise for The Demon Cycle “There is much to admire in Peter Brett’s writing, and his concept is brilliant. There’s action and suspense all the way.”—Terry Brooks, on The Warded Man “[A] fast-paced and thoroughly enjoyable dark fantasy.”—The Miami Herald, on The Warded Man “Inspired, compelling, and totally addictive: the most significant and cinematic fantasy epic since The Lord of the Rings.”—Paul W. S. Anderson, director of Resident Evil: Afterlife “Peter V. Brett is one of my favorite new authors.”—New York Times bestselling author Patrick Rothfuss “Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”—Library Journal “[Brett is] at the top of his game.”—Tor.com, on The Daylight War
Release

The Demon Cycle (4) - the Skull Throne

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: Voyager

ISBN: 9780008171261

Category:

Page: 768

View: 9701

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Peter V. Brett writes in the grand tradition of George R.R. Martin, Terry Brooks, David Eddings, and Robert Jordan. This novel continues his critically acclaimed 'Demon Cycle', which last left off in 'The Daylight War'.
Release

The Warded Man: Book One of The Demon Cycle

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 9780345512659

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 6284

DOWNLOAD NOW »

As darkness falls after sunset, the corelings rise—demons who possess supernatural powers and burn with a consuming hatred of humanity. For hundreds of years the demons have terrorized the night, slowly culling the human herd that shelters behind magical wards—symbols of power whose origins are lost in myth and whose protection is terrifyingly fragile. It was not always this way. Once, men and women battled the corelings on equal terms, but those days are gone. Night by night the demons grow stronger, while human numbers dwindle under their relentless assault. Now, with hope for the future fading, three young survivors of vicious demon attacks will dare the impossible, stepping beyond the crumbling safety of the wards to risk everything in a desperate quest to regain the secrets of the past. Together, they will stand against the night. Look for Peter V. Brett’s complete Demon Cycle: THE WARDED MAN | THE DESERT SPEAR | THE DAYLIGHT WAR | THE SKULL THRONE | THE CORE
Release

The Desert Spear: Book Two of The Demon Cycle

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 0345519639

Category: Fiction

Page: 608

View: 1574

DOWNLOAD NOW »

BONUS: Now with twenty pages of bonus material, including an exclusive interview with Peter V. Brett, and an excerpt from Peter V. Brett's The Daylight War. The sun is setting on humanity. The night now belongs to voracious demons that prey upon a dwindling population forced to cower behind half-forgotten symbols of power. Legends tell of a Deliverer: a general who once bound all mankind into a single force that defeated the demons. But is the return of the Deliverer just another myth? Perhaps not. Out of the desert rides Ahmann Jardir, who has forged the desert tribes into a demon-killing army. He has proclaimed himself Shar’Dama Ka, the Deliverer, and he carries ancient weapons—a spear and a crown—that give credence to his claim. But the Northerners claim their own Deliverer: the Warded Man, a dark, forbidding figure. Once, the Shar’Dama Ka and the Warded Man were friends. Now they are fierce adversaries. Yet as old allegiances are tested and fresh alliances forged, all are unaware of the appearance of a new breed of demon, more intelligent—and deadly—than any that have come before. Look for Peter V. Brett’s complete Demon Cycle: THE WARDED MAN | THE DESERT SPEAR | THE DAYLIGHT WAR | THE SKULL THRONE | THE CORE (Coming soon!)
Release

The Daylight War (The Demon Cycle, Book 3)

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007301898

Category: Fiction

Page: 816

View: 9619

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Continuing the impressive debut fantasy series from author Peter V. Brett, The DAYLIGHT WAR is book three of the Demon Cycle, pulling the reader into a world of demons, darkness and heroes.
Release

Messenger’s Legacy

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008114714

Category: Fiction

Page: 112

View: 9986

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A brand new novella set in the engrossing world of The Demon Cycle from bestselling fantasy author Peter V. Brett.
Release

The Painted Man (The Demon Cycle, Book 1)

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008362769

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 7803

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A stunning special edition of Peter V. Brett’s thrilling debut THE PAINTED MAN, the modern fantasy classic that began The Demon Cycle, featuring over 30 illustrations by acclaimed fantasy artist Dominik Broniek.
Release

The Core (The Demon Cycle, Book 5)

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007425740

Category: Fiction

Page: 880

View: 8429

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Peter V. Brett brings one of the most imaginative fantasy sagas of the twenty-first century to an epic close.
Release