The Right Way to Play Chess

Author: David Pritchard

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0716023326

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 240

View: 7141

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Since its first publication in 1950, The Right Way to Play Chess has taught chess to generations of beginners, taking them to the standard expected of good club players. It gives full details of exactly how to play the game, explains basic theory and includes many examples of play.There are separate chapters on the openings, middle and end games, plus a chapter of master games which illustrate how styles of play have changed over the years. Fully revised and updated by chess expert Richard James, a new chapter shows how to encourage and teach children to play the game.
Release

The Right Way to Teach Chess to Kids

Author: Richard James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0716023407

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 224

View: 3072

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This accessible how-to guide for parents and teachers on the best way to teach chess to children, from international chess expert Richard James, is linked to both his bestselling book, Chess for Kids, and his website chessKIDS academy. James, who taught grandmasters Luke McShane and Jonathan Rowson, shows how learning chess is interesting and fun. It can also help children develop life skills, such as decision-making and social skills, and be a springboard to other subjects in the school curriculum, such as maths, science, history and even languages. In an easy-to-follow, fun way, James explains how to structure short lessons with worksheets and other activities to introduce the chess pieces, chess notation and chess-board dynamics - so that children can understand the thinking behind the moves and start playing and enjoying this fascinating game.
Release

Learn Chess the Right Way!

Book 1: Must-Know Checkmates

Author: Susan Polgar

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781941270219

Category: Games

Page: 160

View: 2357

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Polgar Way to Better Chess! Learn Chess the Right Way is a five-volume chess puzzle book series aimed at the novice, beginner and intermediate level player, using the unique methods of the award-winning coach and former world champion Susan Polgar. It introduces the most important checkmate and material-winning tactics, as well as defensive techniques to the new chess player. Each of the five volumes will consist of 500 puzzles. In Book 1, the focus is on one-move checkmate exercises. In each of the first five chapters, a specific piece delivers checkmate (in Chapter 1: the queen, Chapter 2: the rook, and so on). In Chapters 6-8, checkmates which involve special tactics (such as pins, discovered attacks, etc.) are introduced. Chapter 9 has a mixed collection of puzzles, without any hint about which piece is to deliver checkmate. Chapter 10 builds on the previous 9 chapters, and introduces basic patterns of checkmate in two moves. With over 40 years of experience as a world-class player and coach, international grandmaster Susan Polgar has developed the most effective way to help young players and beginners Learn Chess the Right Way. Let her show you the way to understanding the most common and critical patterns and let her show you the way to becoming a better player. SUSAN POLGAR is a winner of four Women's World Championships and the top-ranked woman chess player in the United States. She became the #1 woman player in the world at 15 and remained in the top 3 for over 20 years. In 2013, she received the U.S. Coach of the Year Award and the following year, she was named the Chess Trainer of the Year by the International Chess Federation (FIDE). She thus became the first person in history to be accorded both honors. Under her guidance, SPICE chess teams at both Texas Tech University and Webster University have won a combined five consecutive National Division I Collegiate Chess Championships.
Release

Knack Chess for Everyone

A Step-by-Step Guide to Rules, Moves & Winning Strategies

Author: Al Lawrence,Lev Alburt

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 0762762713

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 256

View: 1918

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Chess is a refreshing pastime for most players, and an all-encompassing obsession for a few. And yet much of chess literature—heavy on notation, low on useful illustrations, frustrating for the beginner—is directed at those already in the know. Knack Chess for Everyone provides an alternative: a clear, understandable, and fun entry into chess that doesn’t ignore the complexities and challenges. Photographs of actual game boards, often paired with a diagram, represent the perspective of the player looking at the pieces. The book clearly explains the rules of play and movement of pieces, and then gradually introduces various tactics and strategies.
Release

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Chess, 3rd Edition

Author: Patrick Wolff

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1615643826

Category: Games

Page: 448

View: 628

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Written by a U.S. Chess Champion, International Chess Grandmaster, and longtime instructor, this book includes information for both novice and expert, including over 400 illustrated chessboards and photos; over 20 pages of detailed answer key notes; a completely new chapter on new evidence about chess and its impact on brain power; a guide to the art of chess collectibles; and more. - Foreword by Larry Evans, former International Grandmaster and author of 20 highly acclaimed chess books and a popular monthly advice column in Chess Life - For the beginner or the champ, and for young and old
Release

Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot (Large Print 16pt)

Author: Nicole Markotic

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 145877855X

Category:

Page: 384

View: 4759

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In boomtown Western Canada, a quirky young woman grows up amid a family dynamic that leaves her feeling misunderstood and left out. She's a child of immigrants from war-torn Germany and Croatia, parents who cling to vestiges of a traumatic past that never seem real enough for their daughter. To leave her stifling family behind and to forge a ''new normal,'' she earnestly tries to fit in with her best friend Vera and family, and subsequently - crazily - an even more rigid life of Mormonism. Scrapbook of My Years as a Zealot is a narrative of longing for self-creation, but also for self-destruction, restlessly twisting and turning through triangular friendships, teenage delinquents, Nazi killing hospitals for the disabled, the inane ex-boyfriend, a dying father's sudden conversion to parenting, and fantastic tales of the Mormon Angel Moroni on estrogen. One's own story, so she discovers as she invents it, is both an escape from, and a coming to terms with, the scrapbook that is life. The language in this novel is sensuous, inventive, down-to-earth, poetic. Here, the Canadian novel - in the tradition of Robert Kroetsch, Joan Barfoot, Lisa Moore, and now Nicole Markoti? - continues to develop personal histories that plummet readers into the world of storytelling.
Release

Strategic Chess Exercises

Find the Right Way to Outplay Your Opponent

Author: Emmanuel Bricard

Publisher: New In Chess

ISBN: 9056917617

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 224

View: 4495

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Books on chess exercises are usually about tactics. But in most of the positions that you think about during a game, there is no tactical solution. What you are doing most of the time is trying to find a way to improve your position or weaken your opponent's, by applying strategic rules. Experienced chess trainer Emmanuel Bricard has created a practical exercise manual with carefully selected and tested training positions that teach you how to develop the right plan. This book is for you if you want to: know what to do if there is no tactical solution improve your understanding of chess strategy learn how to apply strategic principles in concrete positions gain time on the clock by having to calculate fewer variations learn how to accumulate advantages in various types of positions be inspired by great examples of strategy. The level of difficulty of the exercises varies as this manual is intended for a wide range of club players. The majority of the exercises are middlegame positions, but additionally there is a large section of endgame tests as well. After working with Strategic Chess Exercises you will spend less time on finding better plans, and outplay your opponents more often!
Release

An Introduction to Chess Moves and Tactics Simply Explained

Author: Leonard Barden

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 9780486212104

Category: Games

Page: 102

View: 1689

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Informal intermediate introduction, quite strong in explaining reasons for moves. Covers basic material, tactics, important openings, traps, positional play in middle game, end game. Attempts to isolate patterns and recurrent configurations. 58 figures.
Release