The Rats

Author: James Herbert

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 0330469207

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 1165

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A special fortieth anniversary edition of The Rats, the classic, bestselling novel that launched James Herbert's career. With a foreword by Neil Gaiman. It was only when the bones of the first devoured victims were discovered that the true nature and power of these swarming black creatures with their razor sharp teeth and the taste for human blood began to be realized by a panic-stricken city. For millions of years man and rats had been natural enemies. But now for the first time – suddenly, shockingly, horribly – the balance of power had shifted . . .
Release

Lair

Author: James Herbert

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 0330469002

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 7737

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Part of the Rats trilogy, the restless rats return in James Herbert's Lair. The mutant white rat had grown and mated, creating offspring in its own image. They dominated the others, the dark-furred ones, who foraged for food and brought it back to the lair. Now the dark rats were restless, tormented by a craving they could not satisfy. But the white slug-like thing that ruled them knew. Its two heads weaved to and fro and a stickiness drooled from its mouth as it remembered the taste of human flesh . . .
Release

An Evil Spirit Out of the West (Akhenaten Trilogy, Book 1)

A story of ambition, politics and assassination in Ancient Egypt

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075535043X

Category: Fiction

Page: 372

View: 8384

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A sinister king. A scheming queen. A deadly plot. An Evil Spirit Out of the West is the first novel in a trilogy set in one of the most turbulent and exciting periods of Ancient Egyptian history, from acclaimed author Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Brad Geagley and Wilbur Smith. 'Doherty has typically woven a delightfully dark tale around what must have been the most remarkable period of Egyptian history... So stoke up the fire, draw the curtains and put your feet up in order to enjoy this delightfully spooky and robust tale of demons, death and disease in old Egypt. Great stuff!' - Historical Novels Review Known as the Veiled One, the ugly and deformed Akenhaten is a shadowy figure. As a child he is overlooked and despised by his own father. As an adult he is thrust into the political limelight when his elder brother dies. Mahu, ambitious and ruthless, watches the young prince carve his own path to power. He becomes Akenhaten's alter ego, his protector and confidant, standing by as Akenhaten proclaims that there is only one God, the Aten, and that he, Akenhaten, is that God's only son. Revolution and chaos follow in this dramatic reign filled with fraud, abduction, assassination, betrayal and treachery. But when Mahu becomes suspicious of Akenhaten's majestic and glorious wife Nefertiti, and the political skill of her brother, Ay, it seems that a hidden and malign influence may also be at work. And then Akenhaten disappears... What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: '5 stars are not enough for this book!' 'Beautifully written, exciting and interesting' 'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'
Release

Kitty Rainbow (Kitty Rainbow Trilogy, Book 1)

A powerful saga about the search for love

Author: Wendy Robertson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755393643

Category: Fiction

Page: 325

View: 1580

DOWNLOAD NOW »

An abandoned baby. A troubled childhood. A search for belonging. Kitty Rainbow is a gripping Victorian saga, and the first instalment of the Kitty Rainbow trilogy from Wendy Robertson, that follows a young woman's discovery of where her heart truly belongs. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Josephine Cox. When the soft-hearted, bare-knuckle fighter Ishmael Slaughter rescues an abandoned baby from the swirling River Wear, he knows that if he returns home with her his predatory employer will give the child short shrift - or worse. So it is to Janine Druce, a Scottish draperwoman with a dubious reputation but a child of her own that he takes the baby - whom he has christened Kitty Rainbow. Kitty grows up wild and stubborn in Janine's tough household but she is as fierce in her affections as she is in her hatreds. And she saves her greatest affection for Ishmael, the now ageing boxer who is the only link with her true parentage - apart from the scrap of blue cloth she was wrapped in when he found her. Eventually the cloth leads Kitty to her true origins - a discovery that shakes the very essence of her being - but eventually allows her to resume the life she so passionately embraces... What readers are saying about Kitty Rainbow: 'Wendy Robertson draws such a realistic picture of a town in the northeast of England in the nineteenth century' 'Peopled with strong characters, good and bad, rich and poor, that the reader endures Kitty's hardships and fights her battles with her, cheers when she wins and worries with Ishmael about what is to become of her' 'Five stars'
Release

Emerge (Emerge Trilogy Book 1)

Author: Heather Sunseri

Publisher: Sun Publishing

ISBN: 0988715384

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 1286

DOWNLOAD NOW »

“Plagues and politics and romance, oh my! Dystopia meets science fiction in Emerge, the first book in a new series from popular YA author Heather Sunseri. …Truly, a well-crafted dystopian romance! Don’t miss this one!” ~Serena Chase, USA Today‘s Happy Ever After blog, author of The Ryn Six years ago, a highly contagious virus wiped out more than ninety-nine percent of the country’s population. The only person to contract the virus and survive, Cricket fled her identity and the safety of New Caelum, an airtight city. Now eighteen, she watches the city where the wealthy cocooned from the devastating outbreak. When the city’s rumbling incinerator wakes her one night while she and her friends are camping just beyond the city walls, she alone knows what the fiery machine means: the lethal virus is back. Only eighteen, Westlin Layne is already being groomed to succeed his mother as New Caelum’s next president. Suddenly West’s sister develops symptoms of the deadly virus thought to be eradicated years ago. Placed under quarantine, the president confesses to West a long-held secret: Christina Black, West’s childhood friend and first love, survived the virus, and her body alone holds the precious antibodies to save his sister. Now West must leave the city to find Christina. But Cricket has no intention of being found.
Release

The Rats Trilogy

Author: James Herbert,Stephen Jones

Publisher: Centipede Press

ISBN: 9781613471104

Category: Fiction

Page: 700

View: 5397

DOWNLOAD NOW »

First collected edition of the legendary horror trilogy by British horror master James Herbert. Fully illustrated.
Release

Domain

Author: James Herbert

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447203380

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 5177

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Part of the Rats trilogy, international bestseller James Herbert's Domain pits man against mutant rats, who are back with a vengeance. The long-dreaded nuclear conflict. The city torn apart, shattered, its people destroyed or mutilated beyond hope. For just a few, survival is possible only beneath the wrecked streets - if there is time to avoid the slow-descending poisonous ashes. But below, the rats, demonic offspring of their irradiated forebears, are waiting. They know that Man is weakened, become frail. Has become their prey . . .
Release

The Rats and the Ruling Sea

Author: Robert V.S. Redick

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0575088338

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 2471

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE RATS AND THE RULING SEA begins where THE RED WOLF CONSPIRACY ended; Thasha's wedding is hours away. It is a wedding that will both fulfil the promise of a mad god's return and see her murdered. Pazel has thwarted the sorcerer who would bring back the god but both sides now face deadlock. Can Thasha be saved? Can the war between two Empires be stopped? THE RATS AND THE RULING SEA is, once again, focused on the giant ancient ship, the CHATHRAND, but now she must brave the terrors of the uncharted seas; the massive storms and the ship swallowing whirlpools and explore lands forgotten by the Northern world, all the time involved in a vicious running battle with a ship half her size but nearly her match. Robert Redick's new novel takes the reader further into the labyrinthine plots and betrayals that have underscored the trilogy from the beginning. Robert Redick's sequel to the acclaimed THE RED WOLF CONSPIRACY is a masterpiece of plotting and adventure. As each page turns the reader shares with the characters the dawning realisation that nothing is at it seems.
Release

Gregor and the Code of Claw

Author: Suzanne Collins

Publisher: Scholastic UK

ISBN: 1407130668

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 416

View: 826

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Everyone in the Underland has been taking great pains to keep The Prophecy of Time from Gregor. Now, with an army of rats approaching, and his mum and sister still in Regalia, Gregor the warrior must gather up his courage to help defend Regalia and get his family home safely.
Release