The Pindar Diamond

The Pindar Diamond

Written in the exquisitely evocative style that is Katie Hickman's trademark, this is a gripping and superbly told story that goes as deeply into history as into the human heart.

Author: Katie Hickman

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing UK

ISBN: 0747599955

Category: Dalmatia

Page: 279

View: 433

Venice, 1604. When rumours of a spectacularly rare and priceless diamond begin to circulate amongst the gamblers and courtesans of the Venetian demi-monde, the Levant Company merchant, Paul Pindar, becomes convinced that the jewel is somehow linked to the fate of his former love, Celia Lamprey. As his obsession with the mysterious stone grows it becomes clear that there are other, more sinister forces at play. Is the diamond real, or is it just a trick to lure him to his ruin? The Pindar Diamond moves from the canals of Venice to the coasts of Dalmatia, from a famed physic garden in the Venetian lagoon to the secret corridors of a convent - a tale of lust, love, greed, wealth and danger set among the Levant traders in the early years of the seventeenth century. Written in the exquisitely evocative style that is Katie Hickman's trademark, this is a gripping and superbly told story that goes as deeply into history as into the human heart.
Categories: Dalmatia

Sir Paul Pindar and Other Plays

Sir Paul Pindar and Other Plays

says in the East , and with full sincerity , everything here is at your majesty's
disposal . KING JAMES . Dinna tempt me , Sir Paul . Peradventure I might take a
fancy to the diamond you lend me for my galas . [ Taking a magnificent diamond
from ...

Author: Henry Neville Maugham

Publisher:

ISBN: SRLF:AA0006097844

Category:

Page: 308

View: 807

Categories:

The House at Bishopsgate

The House at Bishopsgate

BLOOMSBURY.COM/BOOKSHOP PRICES AND AVAILABILITY SUBJECT TO
CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE. WWW.BLOOMSBURY.COM/AUTHOR/KATIE-
HICKMAN ALSO AVAILABLE BY KATIE HICKMAN THE PINDAR DIAMOND A
tale.

Author: Katie Hickman

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781408834138

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 883

From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Elif Shafak 1611. Celia Lamprey looks out across the rooftops of Aleppo for the last time. After ten years living in the Orient, she and her husband, Paul Pindar, are setting sail for England – taking with them the legendary diamond, the Sultan's Blue, despite the curse that surrounds it. They arrive to find a country much changed; Bishopsgate, once surrounded by fields, is now a muddy thoroughfare choked with carriages – from which carpenters, gardeners and footmen descend, summoned to restore Pindar's great house to its former splendour. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and the marriage childless. Between the couple lies a great, unspoken darkness. Now, as they await the arrival of Celia's friend Annetta from Venice, another woman, the alluring widow Frances Sydenham, becomes increasingly indispensable to the running of the household – and the happiness of its inhabitants. But who is this strange woman, and what are her real motives? Vividly evoking Jacobean society, The House at Bishopsgate is a sumptuous, richly woven story of marital secrets and sexual jealousy, from a master of historical fiction.
Categories: Fiction

Dictionary of National Biography

Dictionary of National Biography

One twenty - six years a resident in the parish , and fine diamond jewel , valued (
in_1624 ) at was vestryman in 1630 and subsequent years . 35,0001 . , was lent
by Pindar to James I to He made several benefactions to St. Botolph's , wear on ...

Author: Sir Leslie Stephen

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015081193859

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 720

Categories: Great Britain

Famous Diamonds

Famous Diamonds

Known as the Great Diamond , it was purchased by Charles I in 1625 for £18 ,
000 , though payment was deferred . In 1646 Pindar ' s diamond was among the
jewels which Queen Henrietta Maria , consort of Charles I , pledged in
Amsterdam ...

Author: Ian Balfour

Publisher: Antique Collectors Club Limited

ISBN: UOM:39015079360064

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 335

View: 345

Rocks, minerals & fossils.
Categories: Antiques & Collectibles

Poetical Works of Peter Pindar

Poetical Works of Peter Pindar

Peter Pindar. PETER PINDA tua been a diamond , probos , how the royal sad
obee ! gloried to saky for a brooch , 1 pretty pendent for the a thou wouldst have
bilst then been we en but flesh and kis most insufferab rences never ca dan ...

Author: Peter Pindar

Publisher:

ISBN: NLI:3213255-10

Category:

Page: 534

View: 134

Categories:

The History of Samuel Titmarsh and the Great Hoggarty Diamond

The History of Samuel Titmarsh and the Great Hoggarty Diamond

Of course they don ' t retire to read the newspaper ; it is to look over a favourite
ode of Pindar , or to discuss an obscure passage in Athenæus ! Of course country
magistrates and Members of Parliament are always studying Demosthenes and ...

Author: William Makepeace Thackeray

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:600062376

Category: English fiction

Page: 336

View: 938

Categories: English fiction

The Works of William Makepeace Thackeray The great Hoggarty diamond A little dinner at Timmins s Notes of a journey from Cornhill to Grand Cairo

The Works of William Makepeace Thackeray  The great Hoggarty diamond  A little dinner at Timmins s  Notes of a journey from Cornhill to Grand Cairo

Of course they don ' t retire to read the newspaper ; it is to look over a favourite
ode of Pindar , or to discuss an obscure passage in Athenæus ! Of course country
magistrates and Members of Parliament are always studying Demosthenes and ...

Author: William Makepeace Thackeray

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433076039373

Category: English literature

Page:

View: 511

Categories: English literature

The history of Samuel Titmarsh and the great Hoggarty diamond A little dinner at Timmin s Notes of a journey from Cornhill to Gran Cairo

The history of Samuel Titmarsh and the great Hoggarty diamond  A little dinner at Timmin s  Notes of a journey from Cornhill to Gran Cairo

Of course they don't retire to read the newspaper ; it is to look over a favourite ode
of Pindar , or to 214 or an enthudiscuss an obscure passage in Athenæus ! Of
course country magistrates and Members of Parliament are always studying ...

Author: William Makepeace Thackeray

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3548780

Category:

Page:

View: 767

Categories:

The Works of Peter Pindar Esq pseud

The Works of Peter Pindar  Esq   pseud

Peter Pindar. Page Cathcart , Lady , to 122 Cats and Princes very much alike 42
Cæsar and the Fog 136 Celebration , or ... Hint to a Diamond Pin and Farthing
Candle Dido , Cruelty to Dinah Disappointment , Song of Dog , the Old
Shepherd's ...

Author: Peter Pindar

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015031948600

Category:

Page:

View: 886

Categories:

DICTIONARY OF NATIONAL BIOGRAPHY

DICTIONARY OF NATIONAL BIOGRAPHY

One twenty - six years a resident in the parish , and fine diamond jewel , valued (
in 1624 ) at was vestryman in 1630 and subsequent years . 35,0001 . , was lent
by Pindar to James I to He made several benefactions to St. Botolph's , wear on ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 311

Categories:

Heroes hero worship and the heroic in literature The diamond necklace Mirabeau

Heroes  hero worship  and the heroic in literature  The diamond necklace  Mirabeau

It is the way most gods have come to appear among men ; thus , if in Pindar's
time “ Neptune was seen once at the Nemean games , " what was this Neptune
too but a stranger of noble grave aspect , " — fit to be There is something pathetic
 ...

Author: Thomas Carlyle

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112079762016

Category:

Page:

View: 604

Categories:

The Diamond Dictionary

The Diamond Dictionary

Author: Gemological Institute of America

Publisher:

ISBN: UCSC:32106002754213

Category: Diamonds

Page: 342

View: 580

Categories: Diamonds

The Reader s Handbook of Famous Names in Fiction Allusions References Proverbs Plots Stories and Poems

The Reader s Handbook of Famous Names in Fiction  Allusions  References  Proverbs  Plots  Stories  and Poems

Odes : by Forsyth , 1876 ; Hawkins ( Thomas ) , 16as ; It is supposed that this
diamond is the Hoveden , 1874 ; lord Lytton ( good ) , 1869 : Theodore same as
the blue diamond bought by Martin ( good ) , 1869 ; professor Newman , 1875 .

Author: Ebenezer Cobham Brewer

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000030731608

Category: Allusions

Page: 1243

View: 302

Categories: Allusions

The Odes of Pindar

The Odes of Pindar

Pindar. ANTISTROPHE IV . But to the Matron Goddess , * in whose praise Oft
near my portal at the midnight hour With Pan ... combine , " Banes to the fool , but
blessings to the wise , Who clear th ' incrusting coil , and bid the diamond shine .

Author: Pindar

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

ISBN: NYPL:33433082192661

Category: Athletics

Page: 434

View: 856

Categories: Athletics

The works of Peter Pindar

The works of Peter Pindar

... and diamond - loving Dame , When told , “ That if poor Hastings went to pot , “
Away went pearls , and jewels , and what not , “ Torn from the stomacher so fine ,
yet foul , “ Which Av'rice thirsted for , and RÁPINE stole : " Not with less pleasure ...

Author: John Wolcot

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:591066490

Category:

Page:

View: 505

Categories:

The Diamond Mines of South Africa

The Diamond Mines of South Africa

... and in Hesiod, Pindar, and other early Greek poets it is used to signify any hard
weapon or metal like steel or an alloy of the harder metals.8 No distinct
identification of the diamond with adamas appears, according to Streeter's view,
until the ...

Author: Gardner F. Williams

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781108026598

Category: History

Page: 774

View: 621

First published in 1902, this work describes the discovery and development of diamond mines in South Africa.
Categories: History

No Man s Land

No Man s Land

In 1624 Sir Bourchier obtained a patent from the King for the manufacture of a
new kind of soap, for which he not only paid money and a royalty, but gave the
King as a fine “Sir Paul Pindar's great diamond, worth ,6 35,0001.” The Muscovy
 ...

Author: Martin Conway

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781107605091

Category: History

Page: 412

View: 419

This 1906 volume traces the history of Spitsbergen in the Svalbald archipelago over the course of more than three centuries.
Categories: History

Miscellaneous Paper Ontario Geological Survey

Miscellaneous Paper   Ontario Geological Survey

( SELCO DIVISION ) DIAMOND DRILLING - GERRY LAKE MAP SHEET
GEOPHYSICAL SURVEYS - GERRY LAKE AND ... DIAMOND DRILLING ON
THE LAKE ROWAN PROPERTY , TODD TOWNSHIP , AND ON THE PINDAR
GROUP ...

Author: Ontario Geological Survey

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951P00234572I

Category: Mines and mineral resources

Page:

View: 316

Categories: Mines and mineral resources