The Misfit

An abandoned baby. A damaged child. A search for happiness.

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755385748

Category: Fiction

Page: 313

View: 9330

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A young orphan's desperate search for somewhere she can call home. The heart-breaking tale of a foundling's search for belonging, from ebook No.1 bestselling author of No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp. 'Rosie shines a light on those who can find the determination to face down fate itself' - Northern Echo Abandoned outside a hospital, baby Rebecca didn't have a good start. She's adopted, but her new father can't warm to her, and her mother can't succeed in turning the plain, unresponsive child into the little princess she longs for. When her adoptive mother dies, her greedy aunt takes her in, but hers is not a happy home, and soon Rebecca's life is worse than ever. She longs to escape to the circus that visits her town, with its carefree life and freedom from her past - but will she ever find happiness? What readers are saying about The Misfit: 'This book is the best ever and would certainly recommend it if you like to keep turning the pages. I was quite choked towards the end' 'One of the best books I have ever read. Moving and terribly sad in places... Could not stop reading this; had to find out what happened. Buy this, you will not be disappointed'
Release

Florida's economic future and the child care crisis for families

hearing before the Select Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, House of Representatives, One hundredth Congress, first session, hearing held in Miami, FL, June 22, 1987

Author: United States. Congress. House. Select Committee on Children, Youth, and Families

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Child care services

Page: 143

View: 2904

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

How Was It For You?

Women, Sex, Love and Power in the 1960s

Author: Virginia Nicholson

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241975190

Category: History

Page: 400

View: 4479

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'One of the great social historians of our time. No one else makes history this fun' Amanda Foreman 'How Was It For You? subtly but powerfully subverts complacent male assumptions about a legendary decade' David Kynaston -------------------------------- "A feeling that we could do whatever we liked swept through us in the 60s . . ." The sixties: a decade of space travel, utopian dreams and - above all - sexual revolution. It liberated a generation. But mostly men. Meet dollybird Mavis, debutante Kristina, bunny girl Patsy, industrial campaigner Mary and countercultural Caroline. From Carnaby Street to Merseyside, white gloves to Black is Beautiful, their stories illustrate a turbulent power struggle, throwing an unsparing spotlight on morals, drugs, race, bomb culture and sex. This is a moving, shocking book about tearing up the world and starting again. It's about peace, love and psychedelia, but also misogyny, violation and discrimination, in a decade discovering a new cause: equality. And women would never be the same again. -------------------------------- 'Sparkling . . . there is a wonderfully diverse range of voices . . . we have a long way to go, but reading this book made me grateful for how far we have come' Daisy Goodwin, The Sunday Times 'An absorbing study of an extraordinary age. Beautifully written and intensively researched' Selina Hastings
Release

VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever

2002

Author: Jim Craddock

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9780787657550

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1300

View: 7545

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Describes and rates more than twenty thousand videos, and provides indexes by theme, awards, actors, actresses, and directors.
Release

Happy Days

A Paper for Young and Old

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Dime novels

Page: N.A

View: 303

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Cue

The Weekly Magazine of New York Life

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Amusements

Page: N.A

View: 6104

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release