The Midnight Folk

Author: John Masefield

Publisher: New York Review of Books

ISBN: 1590177851

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 2155

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Midnight Folk introduces readers to Kay Harker, the orphaned boy who is also the hero of John Masefield’s classic Christmas fantasy, The Box of Delights. Kay lives in a vast old country house, and is looked after by an unpleasant duo: the oily and egregious Sir Theopompous and the petulant and punitive Sylvia Daisy Pouncer. In her zeal to educate Kay on the finer points of Latin grammar, Sylvia Daisy has even taken away all of Kay’s toys. Life seems very dull, until out of an old family portrait steps Kay’s great-grandfather, a sea captain, who, if legend is to be believed, made off with a fabulous treasure. Soon Kay is engaged in a thrilling quest that begins each night as the clock strikes twelve, taking him into the enchanted and dangerous world of the Midnight Folk: pirates, highwaymen, talking animals, and a gang of witches led by none other than Sylvia Daisy (in cahoots, as in The Box of Delights, with the arch-villain Abner Brown). In the end, it is that ragtag team of old toys that rallies to support Kay and save the day. A book to set beside C.S. Lewis’s Narnia tales and Joan Aiken’s Wolves of Willoughby Chase—not to mention the Harry Potter series—The Midnight Folk is a wonderful and enthralling contribution to the great English tradition of children’s literature, beloved by adults and children alike.
Release

Folk Horror Revival: Harvest Hymns. Volume II - Sweet Fruits

Author: Folk Horror Revival

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0244086834

Category: Art

Page: 264

View: 5993

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Harvest Hymns - the twisted roots and sweet fruits of folk horror music '. Volume Two Sweet Fruits' focuses on music that has been inspired and influenced by those artists, composers and albums covered in Vol.1 (Twisted Roots') to create the music that we now would consider to be `Folk Horror' - or that at least grazes in the same pastures as those artists. A mixture of interviews, articles and reviews from, about and with the likes of Adam Scovell, Moon Wiring Club, Drew Mullholland, Broadcast, The Devil & The Universe, Jim Jupp, Inkubus Sukkubus and A Year in the Country. Keep your eyes peeled for Scarecrows, Horn Dancers and Corn Rigs, Hamlets, Fetes and Villages, Black Eyed Dogs, Hanging Trees and the mist rising in Fields of Blackberries, Weeping Willows, the Rolling of the Stones, and the Great God Pan sat upon his throne... and beware of all that goes on Beyond the Wych Elm for there 'tis the Season of the Witch
Release

The Box of Delights

Author: John Masefield

Publisher: Egmont UK

ISBN: 1780311397

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 877

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'And now, Master Harker, now that the Wolves are Running, perhaps you could do something to stop their Bite?' A magical old man has asked Kay to protect the Box of Delights, a Box with which he can travel through time. But Kay is in danger: Abner Brown will stop at nothing to get his hands on it. The police don't believe Kay, so when his family and the Bishop are scrobbled up just before Christmas, he knows he must act alone . . . John Masefield’s classic children’s book is considered to be one of the great works of modern children’s fiction. Magical, fantastical and filled with vivid, rich characters – brought to life in this edition by Quentin Blake’s stunning artwork – The Box of Delights and its sequel The Midnight Folk are a must-read for any child. A genuine fantasy classic in the tradition of Peter Pan, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland or The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. If you like Harry Potter, you’ll love this. A wonderful book for early readers aged 8 and up. Recently adapted for the stage by Piers Torday, bestselling author of The Last Wild. ‘Two of the greatest children’s books ever written’ – The Times on The Box of Delights and The Midnight Folk.
Release

Enthusiasms

Author: Mark Girouard

Publisher: Frances Lincoln

ISBN: 1781010889

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 192

View: 1071

DOWNLOAD NOW »

DIV Does a neglected masterpiece by Jane Austen enshrine her first love affair? Who was Vita Sackville West's real grandfather? What clues are there to the identity of 'Walter', doyen of Victorian pornographers? When and why did P.G. Wodehouse mutate from hack to genius? Was Oscar Wilde really down and out in Paris? Was Brideshead really Madresfield? These and other excursions into literary or social history have developed out of Mark Girouard's spare time enthusiasms, as diversions from his main occupation as an architectural historian. In nine essays he calls attention to points that have not been noticed before, corrects fallacies that have got into general circulation, suggests, identifies, redates, refutes, or pours a little cold water on unjustified romanticisms. Three further essays sample another enthusiasm, his own family background, and introduce characters such as the dwarf who had to stand on a bench to address the South African Parliament, the colonial governor who fell in love with his niece, and the dowager duchess with whom he spent his childhood on the edge of the park at Chatsworth. /div
Release

Neglected Powers

Essays on Nineteenth an Twentieth Century Literature

Author: George Wilson Knight

Publisher: New York : Barnes & Noble

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 515

View: 6310

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release