The Mercury 13

The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight

Author: Martha Ackmann

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781588360373

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 5598

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For readers of The Astronaut Wives Club, The Mercury 13 reveals the little-known true story of the remarkable women who trained for NASA space flight. In 1961, just as NASA launched its first man into space, a group of women underwent secret testing in the hopes of becoming America’s first female astronauts. They passed the same battery of tests at the legendary Lovelace Foundation as did the Mercury 7 astronauts, but they were summarily dismissed by the boys’ club at NASA and on Capitol Hill. The USSR sent its first woman into space in 1963; the United States did not follow suit for another twenty years. For the first time, Martha Ackmann tells the story of the dramatic events surrounding these thirteen remarkable women, all crackerjack pilots and patriots who sometimes sacrificed jobs and marriages for a chance to participate in America’s space race against the Soviet Union. In addition to talking extensively to these women, Ackmann interviewed Chuck Yeager, John Glenn, Scott Carpenter, and others at NASA and in the White House with firsthand knowledge of the program, and includes here never-before-seen photographs of the Mercury 13 passing their Lovelace tests. Despite the crushing disappointment of watching their dreams being derailed, the Mercury 13 went on to extraordinary achievement in their lives: Jerrie Cobb, who began flying when she was so small she had to sit on pillows to see out of the cockpit, dedicated her life to flying solo missions to the Amazon rain forest; Wally Funk, who talked her way into the Lovelace trials, went on to become one of the first female FAA investigators; Janey Hart, mother of eight and, at age forty, the oldest astronaut candidate, had the political savvy to steer the women through congressional hearings and later helped found the National Organization for Women. A provocative tribute to these extraordinary women, The Mercury 13 is an unforgettable story of determination, resilience, and inextinguishable hope.
Release

Almost Astronauts

13 Women Who Dared to Dream

Author: Tanya Lee Stone

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN: 0763656097

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 144

View: 8475

DOWNLOAD NOW »

They had the right stuff. They defied the prejudices of the time. And they blazed a trail for generations of women to follow. What does it take to be an astronaut? Excellence at flying, courage, intelligence, resistance to stress, top physical shape -- any checklist would include these. But when America created NASA in 1958, there was another unspoken rule: you had to be a man. Here is the tale of thirteen women who proved that they were not only as tough as the toughest man but also brave enough to challenge the government. They were blocked by prejudice, jealousy, and the scrawled note of one of the most powerful men in Washington. But even though the Mercury 13 women did not make it into space, they did not lose, for their example empowered young women to take their place in the sky, piloting jets and commanding space capsules. ALMOST ASTRONAUTS is the story of thirteen true pioneers of the space age. Back matter includes an author’s note, an appendix, further reading, a bibliography, sources, source notes, and an index.
Release

To Touch the Face of God

The Sacred, the Profane, and the American Space Program, 1957–1975

Author: Kendrick Oliver

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN: 1421408341

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 9573

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth..." In 1968 the world watched as Earth rose over the moonscape, televised from the orbiting Apollo 8 mission capsule. Radioing back to Houston on Christmas Eve, astronauts recited the first ten verses from the book of Genesis. In fact, many of the astronauts found space flight to be a religious experience. To Touch the Face of God is the first book-length historical study of the relationship between religion and the U.S. space program. Kendrick Oliver explores the role played by religious motivations in the formation of the space program and discusses the responses of religious thinkers such as Paul Tillich and C. S. Lewis. Examining the attitudes of religious Americans, Oliver finds that the space program was a source of anxiety as well as inspiration. It was not always easy for them to tell whether it was a godly or godless venture. Grounded in original archival research and the study of participant testimonies, this book also explores one of the largest petition campaigns of the post-war era. Between 1969 and 1975, more than eight million Americans wrote to NASA expressing support for prayer and bible-reading in space. Oliver’s study is rigorous and detailed but also contemplative in its approach, examining the larger meanings of mankind’s first adventures in "the heavens." -- James Gilbert, University of Maryland, College Park
Release

Wally Funk's Race for Space

The Extraordinary Story of a Female Aviation Pioneer

Author: Sue Nelson

Publisher: Saqi Books

ISBN: 1908906359

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 1715

DOWNLOAD NOW »

As seen in the major Netflix documentary 'Mercury 13' A Daily Mail Book of the Week In 1961, Wally Funk was the youngest of thirteen American female pilots in the Woman in Space programme. Her mission was to become one of the first women astronauts. But a combination of politics and prejudice meant the programme was abruptly cancelled. Neither Wally nor the other pilots ever made it into space. Now approaching eighty, Wally is joined by fellow space enthusiast Sue Nelson as she races to make her giant leap before it's too late. They travel across the United States and Europe - taking in NASA's mission control in Houston and Spaceport America in New Mexico, where Wally's ride into space awaits - meeting with female astronauts and trailblazers along the way. Touching on the Space Race and women's achievements in aviation, this is the remarkable story of a courageous pioneer who could have been the first woman in space.
Release

Fighting for Space

Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Author: Amy Shira Teitel

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1538716038

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 448

View: 1092

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Spaceflight historian Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. When the space age dawned in the late 1950s, Jackie Cochran held more propeller and jet flying records than any pilot of the twentieth century-man or woman. She had led the Women's Auxiliary Service Pilots during the Second World War, was the first woman to break the sound barrier, ran her own luxury cosmetics company, and counted multiple presidents among her personal friends. She was more qualified than any woman in the world to make the leap from atmosphere to orbit. Yet it was Jerrie Cobb, twenty-five years Jackie's junior and a record-holding pilot in her own right, who finagled her way into taking the same medical tests as the Mercury astronauts. The prospect of flying in space quickly became her obsession. While the American and international media spun the shocking story of a "woman astronaut" program, Jackie and Jerrie struggled to gain control of the narrative, each hoping to turn the rumored program into their own ideal reality-an issue that ultimately went all the way to Congress. This dual biography of audacious trailblazers Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb presents these fascinating and fearless women in all their glory and grit, using their stories as guides through the shifting social, political, and technical landscape of the time.
Release

Curveball

The Remarkable Story of Toni Stone the First Woman to Play Professional Baseball in the Negro League

Author: Martha Ackmann

Publisher: Chicago Review Press

ISBN: 1569766843

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 2220

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Documenting multiple challenges at every turn--as a target for racism from society at large and sexism both inside and outside of the Negro League--this is the unique story of the first woman to play professional baseball on a men's team, breaking barriers in sports while believing, "There's got to be a first in everything. Maybe it will be me." Highlighting aggressive and resourceful behaviors, the text explains that as players began to leave the Negro League for major league teams, Toni Stone seized her only opportunity to play professional ball and replaced Henry Aaron on the Indianapolis Clowns, the Negro League's top team. Chronicling her career, this biography follows her experiences playing first with the Indianapolis Clowns, and later with the Kansas City Monarchs. It also details her encounters with the era's top athletes--Ernie Banks, Willie Mays, Buck O'Neil, and Satchel Paige to name a few. As the exploration reveals her remarkable talent, perseverance, and accomplishments, it shows how she posed as a double threat--black and female--to the dominance of white males in sports and society.
Release

Choice

Publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a Division of the American Library Association

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Best books

Page: N.A

View: 333

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

USA in space

Author: Russell R. Tobias,David G. Fisher

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 2014

View: 6459

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This books includes 280 essays covering U.S. major space programs, piloted and robotic missions, satellites, space centers, space planes, and issues from the earliest missions to the present.
Release