The Complete Gower Street Detective

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1788543882

Category: Fiction

Page: 2195

View: 7108

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Collected in a single volume for the first time, the complete Gower Street Detective series. Sidney Grice, London's most famous personal detective, is expecting a visitor. He drains his fifth pot of morning tea, and glances outside, where a young, plain woman picks her way between the piles of horse-dung towards his front door. Sidney Grice shudders. For heaven's sake – she is wearing brown shoes. His caller is March Middleton, Grice's recently orphaned goddaughter. With her sharp tongue and even sharper mind, March is certain she could help her guardian solve his cases – if only he did not think women too feeble for detective work. But even Grice must admit some puzzles are too great for even him to solve alone... Set between the refined buildings of Victorian Bloomsbury and the stinking streets of London's East End, The Gower Street Detective is for those who like their crime original, atmospheric, and very, very funny. THE GOWER DETECTIVE SERIES OMNIBUS INCLUDES: The Mangle Street Murders. The Curse of the House of Foskett. Death Descends on Saturn Villa. The Secrets of Gaslight Lane. Dark Dawn Over Steep House.
Release

The Mangle Street Murders

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN: 1781851875

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 6506

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fresh, funny crime series for fans of Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. 'Delightful and original ... A series that could well become a cult' DAILY MAIL. 125 Gower Street, 1882. Queen Victoria may sit on the throne and Robert Peel's bobbies walk the street, but London is still haunted by the spectre of Spring-heeled Jack. The demons of vice and poverty rule the capital: ruffian gangs, pickpockets, prostitutes and vagrants clog the streets with their iniquity. But in one particular Gower Street residence – home to the famous personal investigator Sidney Grice – order presides. Until, that is, the arrival of his ward March Middleton and the vicious Whitechapel murder that follows hard on her heels... Set between the refined buildings of Victorian Bloomsbury and the stinking streets of London's East End, The Mangle Street Murders is for those who like their crime original, atmospheric, and very, very funny. Praise for THE MANGLE STREET MURDERS: 'Funny, fresh and sharply plotted ... Starring a detective duo to rival Holmes and Watson' GOODREADS. 'Kasasian's sparkling debut introduces a memorable new detective duo' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY. 'Grice and Middleton promise to become a positive treat' DAILY MAIL. Read the whole series: THE MANGLE STREET MURDERS THE CURSE OF THE HOUSE OF FOSKETT DEATH DESCENDS ON SATURN VILLA THE SECRETS OF GASLIGHT LANE DARK DAWN OVER STEEP HOUSE.
Release

The Secrets of Gaslight Lane

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN: 1781859744

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 714

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fresh, funny crime series for fans of Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. 'Delightful and original ... A series that could well become a cult' DAILY MAIL. 125 Gower Street, 1883. All is quiet at 125 Gower Street. Sidney Grice is swotting up on the anatomical structure of human hair whilst his ward, March Middleton, sneaks upstairs for her eighth secret cigarette of the day. The house is, perhaps, too quiet. So when a beautiful young woman turns up, imploring London's formost personal detective to solve the mystery of her father's murder, Grice can barely disguise his glee. Mr Nathan Garstang was found slaughtered in his bed, with no trace of a weapon or intruder. A classic locked-room case... or is it? Praise for THE SECRETS OF GASLIGHT LANE: 'So refreshing ... These stand out in what is a heavily populated genre ... Clever and beautifully written' CRIME REVIEW. 'Atmospheric writing, quirky characters, droll wit, and macabre touches. A treat for series fans' LIBRARY JOURNAL. 'Pure amusing enjoyment' NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE. Read the whole series: THE MANGLE STREET MURDERS THE CURSE OF THE HOUSE OF FOSKETT DEATH DESCENDS ON SATURN VILLA THE SECRETS OF GASLIGHT LANE DARK DAWN OVER STEEP HOUSE.
Release

The Curse of the House of Foskett

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN: 1781853282

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 5362

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fresh, funny crime series for fans of Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. 'Delightful and original ... A series that could well become a cult' DAILY MAIL. 125 Gower Street, 1882. Sidney Grice once had a reputation as London's most perspicacious personal detective. But since his last case led an innocent men to the gallows, business has been light. Listless and depressed, Grice has taken to lying in the bath for hours, emerging in the evenings for a little dry toast and a lot of tea. Usually a voracious reader, he will pick up neither book nor newspaper. He has not even gathered the strength to re-insert his glass eye. His ward, March Middleton, has been left to dine alone. Then an eccentric member of a Final Death Society has the temerity to die on his study floor. Finally Sidney and March have an investigation to mount – an investigation that will draw them to an eerie house in Kew, and the mysterious Baroness Foskett... Praise for THE CURSE OF THE HOUSE OF FOSKETT: 'A well-plotted mystery full of twists and turns, skullduggery, danger, and double-dealing' GOODREADS. 'With fun and thrills this has a lot of humour and many nods to the Sherlock Holmes tales' AMAZON VINE REVIEWER. Read the whole series: THE MANGLE STREET MURDERS THE CURSE OF THE HOUSE OF FOSKETT DEATH DESCENDS ON SATURN VILLA THE SECRETS OF GASLIGHT LANE DARK DAWN OVER STEEP HOUSE.
Release

The Room of the Dead

Author: M. R. C. Kasasian

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781788546409

Category:

Page: 432

View: 2495

DOWNLOAD NOW »

As war rages in London, Inspector Betty Church finds herself on the trail of a cold-blooded killer in the sleepy Suffolk town of Sackwater. December, 1939. Having solved the case of the Suffolk Vampire, Inspector Betty Church and her colleagues at Sackwater Police Station have settled back down to business. There's the elderly Mr Fern who keeps losing his slippers, Sylvia Satin's thirteenth birthday party to attend and the scintillating case of the missing bookmark to solve. Though peace and quiet are all well and good, Betty soon finds herself longing for some cold-blooded murder. When a bomb is dropped on a residential street, both peace and quiet are broken and it seems the war has finally reached Sackwater. But Betty cannot stop the Hun, however hard she tries. So when the body of one of the bomb victims is found stretched out like an angel on Sackwater's beach, Betty concentrates on finding the enemy much closer to home...
Release

Dark Dawn Over Steep House

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1784978086

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1227

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fresh, funny crime series for fans of Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. 'Delightful and original ... A series that could well become a cult' DAILY MAIL. 125 Gower Street, 1884. Sidney Grice – London's foremost personal detective – is restless. Having filed his latest case under 'S' for 'Still To Be Solved', his ward, March Middleton, remains determined to uncover the truth. When an attacker strikes on the murky streets of Limehouse, and a new victim is discovered in an overcrowded cafe, it's clear that the duo are on the trail of a serial offender. A trail that leads them to a Prussian Prince, an Armenian gangster, and the shadowy ruin of a once-loved family home, Steep House... Praise for DARK DAWN OVER STEEP HOUSE: 'Ingenious and atmospheric ... Packed with delicious humour, red herrings and devious twists and turns' BOOKISH JOTTINGS. 'Strikes the perfect balance between humour and tension ... A real page turner' PORTABLE MAGIC. 'Quirky humour, eccentric characters and a compelling plot' WHAT CATHY READ NEXT. Read the whole series: THE MANGLE STREET MURDERS THE CURSE OF THE HOUSE OF FOSKETT DEATH DESCENDS ON SATURN VILLA THE SECRETS OF GASLIGHT LANE DARK DAWN OVER STEEP HOUSE.
Release

Death Descends On Saturn Villa

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN: 1781859701

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 8285

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fresh, funny crime series for fans of Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. 'Delightful and original ... A series that could well become a cult' DAILY MAIL. 125 Gower Street, 1883. Sidney Grice is London's foremost personal detective. Called away to Yorkshire, he leaves his ward, March Middleton, to run his house. But hearth and home hold little charm for March, who harbours dreams of becoming London's foremost, and first, lady detective. So, when a mysterious letter arrives from her long-lost uncle, she accepts his invitation to stay at the palatial Saturn Villa. Her new Uncle Tolly is sweet, eccentric and – come the morning – very, very dead. But March is not called upon to solve the case, instead she's in the frame for murder. Praise for DEATH DESCENDS ON SATURN VILLA: 'Think Lemony Snicket meets Neil Gaiman for tea in Dracula's castle' BOOKLIST. 'Packed full of delicious dialogue and many laugh-out-loud moments. My adoration of Sidney and March remains unshaken' HISTORICAL NOVELS SOCIETY. Read the whole series: THE MANGLE STREET MURDERS THE CURSE OF THE HOUSE OF FOSKETT DEATH DESCENDS ON SATURN VILLA THE SECRETS OF GASLIGHT LANE DARK DAWN OVER STEEP HOUSE.
Release

Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1784978124

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1423

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Brilliant new series from the author of The Mangle Street Murders, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie, Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. September 1939. As Britain readies for war, Inspector Betty Church must battle a ruthless killer... Inspector Betty Church – one of the few female officers on the force – has arrived from London to fill a vacancy at Sackwater police station. But Betty isn't new here. This is the place she grew up. The place she thought she'd left for good. After a slow start, Betty's called to the train station to investigate a stolen bench. But though there's no bench, there is a body. A smartly dressed man, murdered in broad daylight, with two distinctive puncture wounds in his throat. While the locals gossip about the Suffolk Vampire, Betty Church steels herself to hunt a dangerous killer. Reviews for BETTY CHURCH AND THE SUFFOLK VAMPIRE: 'Betty Church is a wonderful creation ... Had me laughing out loud' GOODREADS. 'I loved this ... A cast of crazy characters, with a gruesome murder or two thrown in for good measure' GOODREADS. 'Loved Betty Church! No nonsense, in control with quirky crazy cast makes this a new series I can't wait to read more of' GOODREADS.
Release