Nella Last's War

The Second World War Diaries of 'Housewife, 49'

Author: Nella Last

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 1847654088

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 2806

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'Next to being a mother, I'd have loved to write books...' Nella Last, Oct 8, 1939 In September 1939, housewife and mother Nella Last began a diary whose entries, in their regularity, length and quality, have created a record of the Second World War which is powerful, fascinating and unique. When war broke out, Nella's younger son joined the army while the rest of the family tried to adapt to civilian life. Writing each day for the "Mass Observation" project, Nella, a middle-aged housewife from the bombed town of Barrow, shows what people really felt during this time. This was the period in which she turned 50, saw her children leave home, and reviewed her life and her marriage - which she eventually compares to slavery. Her growing confidence as a result of her war work makes this a moving (though often comic) testimony, which, covering sex, death and fear of invasion, provides a new, unglamorised, female perspective on the war years.
Release

The Last War

A Post-Apocalyptic Emp Survivor Thriller

Author: Ryan Schow

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781790665075

Category:

Page: 212

View: 4500

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With thousands of copies sold and millions of pages read, The Last War is an edge-of-your-seat thriller that's perfect for fans of Jack Hunt, Ryan Westfield, Harley Tate and Bruno Miller. The end of one world marks the beginning of another... With San Francisco literally crashing down all around her, and her family scattered about the city, Cincinnati McNamara will fight for a daughter who may already be dead, a husband with a death wish and a brother who's fresh out of the military and shaped by a war he just left behind. Caught in the killing fields and forced to fight, this remarkable family will attempt the impossible: they'll try to escape a world now backsliding into a nightmarish landscape more reminiscent of the stone ages than the once famed city by the bay. The Last War is a clean, lightning-fast thriller about an ordinary family struggling to escape San Francisco in the face of insurmountable odds, an abysmal loss of life and the dawn of a new, post-apocalyptic dark age. Prepare yourself for a ride like no other. Are you ready? ***This is the revised edition to take care of a few pesky errors! - 8.21.18*** WHAT FANS OF THE LAST WAR ARE SAYING... "This is the best so far. And why is that? Well because it is a reliable alternative reality. The focus is not just survival but the description of human behavior, thoughts and ethical conundrums. Character development is very strong and the book addresses all the male/female issues being struggled with today. Ryan Schow is one of the first writers I have read that discusses suicide as an escape from an untenable situation. What would you rather be, a survivor or good person killed?" - Christopher La Londe, Amazon Reviewer ★★★★★ "Incredible. Loved it! This book pulled me in from the beginning and kept me absolutely hooked to the very end. I could not put it down!! I felt like I was living through mayhem with this family, navigating seemingly impossible odds, feeling the despair of their situation at times and glimmers of hope along the way. As is the case in his other books, I love the way this author continually finds ways to weave humor into even the most dire of situations. I truly enjoyed the characters and their unforgettable journey through a city I know well, but came to envision in a whole new light. This really is a must read!" Coach, Amazon Reviewer ★★★★★ "Wow, what a story! The author managed to weave a tale of action, depth of personality and realism around an apocalyptic event that grabs you by the throat and does not let go to the very last page. I was delighted to hear that it is the first of a series! Don't miss jumping aboard and enjoying the thrill..." - Dusty, Amazon Reviewer ★★★★★ READING ORDER OF THE COMPLETE LAST WAR SERIES: The Last War The Zero Hour The Ophidian Horde The Infernal Regions The Killing Fields The Barbarous Road The Terminal Run Categories: Post Apocalyptic Survival Fiction, EMP, Action, Adventure, Science Fiction, Dystopian, Women's Adventure, Men's Adventure, Teen and Young Adult Science Fiction
Release

World War II: The Last War Heroes

From D-Day to Berlin with the men and machines that won the war

Author: Stephen Bull

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1780962045

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 8040

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The companion volume to the groundbreaking TV series, this book tells the story of the physical, emotional and psychological journey of Allied soldiers from the beaches of Normandy to the ruins of Berlin. In their own words these brave men from Britain, the United States, Canada and Russia tell us what it was like to face the bullets, bombs, mortars, mines and artillery shells of Nazi Germany. Interviews with over 80 soldiers who fought in the conflict, totalling 150 hours, provide a new perspective on the experiences of 1944–45. Building on the high-speed, multi-camera filming of World War II weapons and munitions shown in the TV series, this book brings the terrifying reality of the war to life. Technical descriptions and the experiences of the men in the field explain the dramatic power and effect that this weaponry had on the battlefield, from the sinister simplicity of the deadly AP mine through to the immense firepower of the 88mm gun, giving the modern historian a unique insight into the last days of the war for the troops on the frontline. This is not a history of generals, of armies manoeuvring and strategic objectives. It is a book about the ordinary men put into incredible situations, deprived of sleep and food, and in constant fear of death on the long road to victory.
Release

The Last War Trial

Author: Edward Sylvester Ellis,John Coghlan

Publisher: University of Arkansas Press

ISBN: 9780976800781

Category: Fiction

Page: 188

View: 7035

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The adventures of Fred Linden, Terry Clark, and their friend Deerfoot continue in this third and final volume of the Deerfoot Series, set at the close of the eighteenth century in the southwestern part of the present state of Missouri.
Release

The Last Operation (The Remnants of War Series, Book 1)

Author: Patrick Astre

Publisher: ePublishing Works!

ISBN: 1614175071

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 3512

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A US Special Forces operator and veteran of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, Richard Daniels is weary of serving government officials. Ensconced deep in the Florida Everglades, Daniels flies out of his own base of operations, rescuing wealthy refugees from dangerous situations then using the funds to extract unfortunates facing the same dangers. When two shadowy government-types attempt to hire Daniels and his team, Daniels flatly refuses. Then his seaplane is impounded, a federal warrant is issued for his arrest, and Deeno, an honorary team member with Downs Syndrome, is detained on federal charges. Daniels' mind is changed. His new mission: In exchange for Deeno's freedom, hunt down and return "Bio", a genetically enhanced soldier gone rogue. Simple enough; Bio is already a proven killer. But when Daniels finds the diary of the last man Bio killed... plans change. THE REMNANTS OF WAR, in series order The Last Operation The Doppelganger Protocol The Devil's Eye Twilight of Demons
Release

The Last War

Detective Ferrets and the Case of the Golden Deed

Author: Richard Bach

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0743227565

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 4520

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Relentless investigator ferrets Shamrock and Burrows seek out an object that has the ability to change the future and may enable modern ferrets to contact the ancient and secret home planet from which they came. Original. 35,000 first printing.
Release

Earth's Last War

Author: Renee VAN DYKE,Glenn VAN DYKE

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781690648970

Category:

Page: 636

View: 1070

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The surface of Earth is dead. The attack had come fast and without warning. Within weeks, even those hiding below ground were gone, hunted by a ruthless enemy. Radioactive and terrifying electrical super-storms a thousand miles wide roam the planet, destroying the cities and last vestiges of human existence. The first wave of the invasion had been perfect.*Almost ...*Six-thousand people survived, hidden in a military base deep in the Pacific Ocean. They have but one ship. It is untested, and has never flown. Even with the ship, it's Commander knows its an unwinnable war. The numbers are too great, the odds beyond calculation. To fight, means certain death and the end of humanity.*And yet, his thoughts and dreams haunt him. The last broken communication from the President years ago, giving him unfounded confidence that mankind still had a fighting chance.*Today is the day that he learns what it is. It lies far below ground, in an impenetrable chamber. And its awakening.**ALSO AVAILABLE IN THE SERIES: EARTH'S LAST WAR - BOOK 2 EARTH'S LAST WAR - BOOK 3*Our thanks go out to George Noory, George Knapp, Linda Moulten Howe and the late Zechariah Sitchen...it is because of dedicated people like you that this book is possible.*Welcome! EARTH'S LAST WAR began with our wanting to find the book we'd always wanted to read, but couldn't find. A hybrid sci-fi / fantasy story built around likable and memorable characters with truthful and realistic personal interactions.Full of twists and turns, we hope that you too will find it to be a surprisingly human look, no punches pulled novel about an enduring love that is worth fighting for across the depths of time.*GLENN VAN DYKERENEE VAN DYK
Release

Troy

Last War of the Heroic Age

Author: Si Sheppard

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 147280130X

Category: Fiction

Page: 80

View: 6603

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When Paris, prince of Troy, ran off with Helen, wife of the king of Sparta, it launched the greatest war of the mythic age of Greece. Heroes and gods assembled on both sides, as the combined armies of Greece launched a siege that would last for ten years. During that time, famous heroes, such as Achilles, Ajax, and Hector, would find glory on the battlefield, before being cut down. Others, such as Agamemnon, Odysseus, and Aeneas, would survive the war, only to face even greater challenges afterwards. Thanks to the Iliad of Homer, and numerous other ancient sources, the story of the siege of Troy has survived over 3,000 years. In this new book in the Myths and Legends series, Professor Si Sheppard draws together all of these ancient writings to tell the complete story of the Trojan war, from the flight of the “face that launched a thousand ships” to the great wooden horse that brought the city to bloody ruin.
Release