The Last War

Author: Peter Bostrom

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781545124369

Category: Extraterrestrial beings

Page: 356

View: 9644

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Earth is under attack. 20 years after the American-Chinese war devastated our worlds, we finally have a tense peace. But legendary American Admiral Jack Mattis, on his inspection tour of the first joint American-Chinese space station, finds himself in the middle of the unthinkable: an alien invasion. Their ships are powerful, their weapons overwhelming. And in the confusion, our tentative peace with the Chinese is shaken to the core. Taking command of his old battleship, The Midway, Admiral Mattis races the alien fleet to Earth, desperate to prevent the utter destruction of humanity's home. And in Earth's darkest hour, Mattis must unify and lead old adversaries to the fight against a common enemy, one that doesn't care about flags or borders. An enemy driven by malevolent hate and a thirst for blood. An enemy that cares for one thing only: Earth's destruction.
Release

The Tales of the Last War

Author: Mark Sehestedt

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780786939862

Category: Fiction

Page: 339

View: 6768

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This anthology collects stories by authors writing in the Eberron setting, a world of swashbuckling action and dark fantasy. One of the stories is by Keith Baker, the creator of the setting. Includes stories by James, Wyatt, Edward Bolme, and others.
Release

Nella Last's War

The Second World War Diaries of 'Housewife, 49'

Author: Nella Last

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 1847654088

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 6811

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'Next to being a mother, I'd have loved to write books...' Nella Last, Oct 8, 1939 In September 1939, housewife and mother Nella Last began a diary whose entries, in their regularity, length and quality, have created a record of the Second World War which is powerful, fascinating and unique. When war broke out, Nella's younger son joined the army while the rest of the family tried to adapt to civilian life. Writing each day for the "Mass Observation" project, Nella, a middle-aged housewife from the bombed town of Barrow, shows what people really felt during this time. This was the period in which she turned 50, saw her children leave home, and reviewed her life and her marriage - which she eventually compares to slavery. Her growing confidence as a result of her war work makes this a moving (though often comic) testimony, which, covering sex, death and fear of invasion, provides a new, unglamorised, female perspective on the war years.
Release

The Last Champion

Book 4 of the Last War Series

Author: Peter Bostrom

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781719545846

Category:

Page: 450

View: 9262

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Admiral Jack Mattis has defeated Spectre, humanity's nemesis. But he had to destroy the USS Midway to do it. Now, one of his pilots has gone missing, terrorists have kidnapped a dozen infants, his own grandson is sick with a mysterious disease that no doctor can diagnose, and no one can put all the puzzle pieces together. Finally, Mattis finds an actual mutant human from the future in a derelict ship who has come back to kill Spectre himself. Because humanity's nemesis is not dead. And this time he will stop at nothing to carry out his apocalyptic plan of galactic domination. And only one champion can stop him. Or die trying.
Release

The Last War

A Post-Apocalyptic Emp Survivor Thriller

Author: Ryan Schow

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781790665075

Category:

Page: 212

View: 2511

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With thousands of copies sold and millions of pages read, The Last War is an edge-of-your-seat thriller that's perfect for fans of Jack Hunt, Ryan Westfield, Harley Tate and Bruno Miller. The end of one world marks the beginning of another... With San Francisco literally crashing down all around her, and her family scattered about the city, Cincinnati McNamara will fight for a daughter who may already be dead, a husband with a death wish and a brother who's fresh out of the military and shaped by a war he just left behind. Caught in the killing fields and forced to fight, this remarkable family will attempt the impossible: they'll try to escape a world now backsliding into a nightmarish landscape more reminiscent of the stone ages than the once famed city by the bay. The Last War is a clean, lightning-fast thriller about an ordinary family struggling to escape San Francisco in the face of insurmountable odds, an abysmal loss of life and the dawn of a new, post-apocalyptic dark age. Prepare yourself for a ride like no other. Are you ready? ***This is the revised edition to take care of a few pesky errors! - 8.21.18*** WHAT FANS OF THE LAST WAR ARE SAYING... "This is the best so far. And why is that? Well because it is a reliable alternative reality. The focus is not just survival but the description of human behavior, thoughts and ethical conundrums. Character development is very strong and the book addresses all the male/female issues being struggled with today. Ryan Schow is one of the first writers I have read that discusses suicide as an escape from an untenable situation. What would you rather be, a survivor or good person killed?" - Christopher La Londe, Amazon Reviewer ★★★★★ "Incredible. Loved it! This book pulled me in from the beginning and kept me absolutely hooked to the very end. I could not put it down!! I felt like I was living through mayhem with this family, navigating seemingly impossible odds, feeling the despair of their situation at times and glimmers of hope along the way. As is the case in his other books, I love the way this author continually finds ways to weave humor into even the most dire of situations. I truly enjoyed the characters and their unforgettable journey through a city I know well, but came to envision in a whole new light. This really is a must read!" Coach, Amazon Reviewer ★★★★★ "Wow, what a story! The author managed to weave a tale of action, depth of personality and realism around an apocalyptic event that grabs you by the throat and does not let go to the very last page. I was delighted to hear that it is the first of a series! Don't miss jumping aboard and enjoying the thrill..." - Dusty, Amazon Reviewer ★★★★★ READING ORDER OF THE COMPLETE LAST WAR SERIES: The Last War The Zero Hour The Ophidian Horde The Infernal Regions The Killing Fields The Barbarous Road The Terminal Run Categories: Post Apocalyptic Survival Fiction, EMP, Action, Adventure, Science Fiction, Dystopian, Women's Adventure, Men's Adventure, Teen and Young Adult Science Fiction
Release

World War II: The Last War Heroes

From D-Day to Berlin with the men and machines that won the war

Author: Stephen Bull

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1780962045

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 3901

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The companion volume to the groundbreaking TV series, this book tells the story of the physical, emotional and psychological journey of Allied soldiers from the beaches of Normandy to the ruins of Berlin. In their own words these brave men from Britain, the United States, Canada and Russia tell us what it was like to face the bullets, bombs, mortars, mines and artillery shells of Nazi Germany. Interviews with over 80 soldiers who fought in the conflict, totalling 150 hours, provide a new perspective on the experiences of 1944–45. Building on the high-speed, multi-camera filming of World War II weapons and munitions shown in the TV series, this book brings the terrifying reality of the war to life. Technical descriptions and the experiences of the men in the field explain the dramatic power and effect that this weaponry had on the battlefield, from the sinister simplicity of the deadly AP mine through to the immense firepower of the 88mm gun, giving the modern historian a unique insight into the last days of the war for the troops on the frontline. This is not a history of generals, of armies manoeuvring and strategic objectives. It is a book about the ordinary men put into incredible situations, deprived of sleep and food, and in constant fear of death on the long road to victory.
Release

The Last War Trial

Author: Edward Sylvester Ellis,John Coghlan

Publisher: University of Arkansas Press

ISBN: 9780976800781

Category: Fiction

Page: 188

View: 685

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The adventures of Fred Linden, Terry Clark, and their friend Deerfoot continue in this third and final volume of the Deerfoot Series, set at the close of the eighteenth century in the southwestern part of the present state of Missouri.
Release

The Last Operation (The Remnants of War Series, Book 1)

Author: Patrick Astre

Publisher: ePublishing Works!

ISBN: 1614175071

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 1446

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A US Special Forces operator and veteran of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, Richard Daniels is weary of serving government officials. Ensconced deep in the Florida Everglades, Daniels flies out of his own base of operations, rescuing wealthy refugees from dangerous situations then using the funds to extract unfortunates facing the same dangers. When two shadowy government-types attempt to hire Daniels and his team, Daniels flatly refuses. Then his seaplane is impounded, a federal warrant is issued for his arrest, and Deeno, an honorary team member with Downs Syndrome, is detained on federal charges. Daniels' mind is changed. His new mission: In exchange for Deeno's freedom, hunt down and return "Bio", a genetically enhanced soldier gone rogue. Simple enough; Bio is already a proven killer. But when Daniels finds the diary of the last man Bio killed... plans change. THE REMNANTS OF WAR, in series order The Last Operation The Doppelganger Protocol The Devil's Eye Twilight of Demons
Release

The Last War

Detective Ferrets and the Case of the Golden Deed

Author: Richard Bach

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0743227565

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 3830

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Relentless investigator ferrets Shamrock and Burrows seek out an object that has the ability to change the future and may enable modern ferrets to contact the ancient and secret home planet from which they came. Original. 35,000 first printing.
Release