The Little Theatre by the Sea

Escape to sunny Sardinia with the perfect summer read!

Author: Rosanna Ley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1784292095

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 9277

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The bestselling author of THE VILLA returns with a gorgeous and evocative summer read about love and starting over 'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat 'It will make you want to jump on the first flight out to Sardinia' - Hello 'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best ********** Faye has just completed her degree in interior design when she finds herself jobless and boyfriend-less. While debating what to do next she receives a surprise phone call from her old college friend Charlotte who now lives in Sardinia and is married to Italian hotelier, Fabio. When Charlotte suggests that Faye relocate for a month to house-sit, Faye wonders if a summer break in sunny Sardinia might be the perfect way to recharge her batteries and think about her future. But then Charlotte tells Faye that there's something more behind the sudden invitation: her friends Marisa and Alessandro are looking for a designer to renovate a crumbling old theatre they own in the scenic village of Deriu. The idea certainly sounds appealing to Faye, but little does she know what she's letting herself in for if she accepts this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity . . . ******** SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY: 'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Such a wealth of fascinating characters set in a glorious village in Sardinia' - Amazon reviewer 'The ultimate feel-good read, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer 'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of Before The Rains 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer
Release

Best Tent Camping: New Jersey

Your Car-Camping Guide to Scenic Beauty, the Sounds of Nature, and an Escape from Civilization

Author: Matt Willen

Publisher: Menasha Ridge Press

ISBN: 1634040996

Category: Travel

Page: N.A

View: 9017

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Perfect Camping for You in New Jersey! The Garden State provides a spectacular backdrop for some of the most scenic campgrounds in the country. But do you know which campgrounds offer the most privacy? Which are the best for first-time campers? Matt Willen traversed the entire state—from the northern reaches of Stokes State Forest to the Atlantic coastal islands—and compiled the most up-to-date research to steer you to the perfect spot! Best Tent Camping: New Jersey presents 50 private, state park, and state forest campgrounds, organized into five distinct regions. Selections are based on location, topography, size, and overall appeal, and every site is rated for beauty, privacy, spaciousness, safety and security, and cleanliness—so you’ll always know what to expect. The new full-color edition of this proven guidebook provides everything you need to know, with detailed maps of each campground and key information such as fees, restrictions, dates of operation, and facilities, as well as driving directions and GPS coordinates. Whether you seek a quiet campground near a fish-filled stream or a family campground with all the amenities, grab Best Tent Camping: New Jersey. It’s an escape for all who wish to find those special locales that recharge the mind, body, and spirit. This guide is a keeper.
Release

The Alfred Wallis Factor

Conflict in Post-War St Ives Art

Author: David Wilkinson

Publisher: ISD LLC

ISBN: 0718845935

Category: Art

Page: 318

View: 8955

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Since his death in 1942, St Ives has become marinated in the spirit of the naive painter, Alfred Wallis. Naum Gabo, the Russian Constructivist, felt that Wallis's gift as an artist was that he never knew he was one. His unconventional approach and the innocence of his personal method of making art marked Alfred Wallis, even after his death, as a crucial figure in the modernist movement. The art scene in St Ives during World War II is depicted vividly in The Alfred Wallis Factor which illustrates the birth of modernism in the small fishing port in the far south-west of England. With dominant personalities like Sven Berlin, Ben Nicholson, Barbara Hepworth, Adrian Stokes, Bernard Leach, Terry Frost, Peter Lanyon, Wilhelmina Barns-Graham and Patrick Heron, it was inevitable that personal relationships would both form and fracture. Though causes would range from the banal to the bizarre, David Wilkinson never loses focus on the high stakes for which these characters were playing: the creation of their work, and reputations, of lasting significance. Their passion was strong and their ambition even stronger. The Alfred Wallis Factor tells the story of this extraordinary painter's long-lasting influence on - and beyond - modernism:David Wilkinson expounds the events around and following the artist's death, assessing the roles of friends and rivals in making Alfred Wallis a benchmark of modern British art. The Alfred Wallis Factor is a comprehensive examination of a troubled era, in which life met war and changed the destiny of the art world.
Release

New Woman Fiction, 1881-1899, Part II

Author: Carolyn W de la L Oulton,Adrienne E Gavin,SueAnn Schatz,Vybarr Cregan-Reid

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1351221566

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 816

View: 8548

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Covers four texts from the 1890s that helped to crystallize the idea of the 'New Woman' during a period where the role of women was increasingly debated and challenged, not least due to the growth of the suffrage movement.
Release

Christmas Letters

Christmas Letters\Three Christmas Wishes

Author: Debbie Macomber,Sheila Roberts

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1488095817

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6211

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Rediscover Christmas on Blossom Street in this classic holiday romance from #1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber. Katherine O’Connor adores her five-year-old twin nieces—and objects to her sister’s plans to dispense with Christmas. While Katherine spends her days at a cozy café, writing Christmas letters for other people, her sister is following the theories of child psychologist and author Wynn Jeffries, who is also, as it happens, Katherine’s neighbor. She is particularly horrified by his edict to “bury Santa under the sleigh,” and she’s out to prove that Wynn and his ideas are full of…snow. He’s not going to ruin her nieces’ Christmas! Too bad the guy’s so darned attractive… As the days—and nights—move closer to Christmas, Katherine and Wynn both discover that love means accepting your differences. And Christmas is about the things you share… Originally published in 2006 Plus, enjoy this FREE fan-favorite bonus story from bestselling author Sheila Roberts about three friends, three wishes and one special Christmas! When three friends visit a shopping-mall Santa on a lark, he’s full of mysterious predictions about the thing they’re all wishing for: the perfect man. Riley Erickson’s fiancé turned out to be a dud, but Santa says that she’s soon going to meet her ideal man in a memorable way. And he predicts that a new man is about to come into Jo’s life. What on earth does that mean? She’s pregnant and already has her hands full with the perfectly stubborn husband she’s got. Meanwhile Noel has given up completely on ever finding her perfect match. But apparently, she’s going to get a good man to go with that house she’s trying desperately to buy. These friends are about to discover that Christmas wishes can come true, because in spite of romantic setbacks and derailed dreams, this truly is the most wonderful time of the year! Originally published in 2016
Release

Bodies in Motion

10 Athletes to Adore

Author: Alicia Hunter Pace,Synithia Williams,Elley Arden,Rachel Cross,Katie Kenyhercz,Lynn Cahoon,Casey Dawes,Toni Jones,CJ Petterson,Lucy Oliver,Angela Smith

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1507205562

Category: Fiction

Page: 2240

View: 4347

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Working up a sweat has never been more fun than in this value-priced collection starring sexy, athletic heroes and the dynamic women who capture their hearts. Reforming Gabe: Once the NFL’s best wide receiver, Gabe Beauford’s been dropping the ball this season—literally. After his team loses the Super Bowl, he heads to Beauford to brood, but crossing paths with independent and talented jewelry maker Neyland MacKenzie puts a new gleam in his eye. She needs saving and he needs a project…But will his not-so-deft touch ruin her dreams and their chance at real love? Worth the Wait: Playboy and fitness instructor Jared Patterson seems like the perfect candidate to help Tasha Smith lose her long-held V-card. But what starts out as a one-time thing quickly turns into an affair neither wants to stop—even when it might get in the way of their futures. High Octane: Fueled: Texan rebel Maddux Bates’s bad behavior won him last year’s Formula One championship—and an image problem. Getting caught dating a sponsor’s girlfriend, oncologist Brynn Douglas, could sabotage this season too—but can anything slow this dynamic duo down when their relationship shifts into overdrive? On the Fly: Newly minted MBA Jacey Vaughn gets in over her head when her father unexpectedly leaves her his NHL team. She knows business, not hockey, but it doesn’t take her long to recognize that her flirtation with team captain Carter Phlynn is a danger to her professional reputation. With the Stanley Cup on the line, she must decide between her heart’s desire and her family’s legacy. The Bull Rider’s Brother: Lizzie Hudson is enjoying rodeo weekend to start her summer when James Sullivan, the cowboy who got away, walks his Justin Ropers back into her life. Can he learn to redefine family before she gives up on him and marries another? Montana Christmas Magic: Tennis pro Logan Collins inherits a cabin in rural Phillipsburg, Montana, that he’s not allowed to sell for six months. It’s just enough time to start a sweet relationship with artist and chocolatier Julie Thompson. But despite the trappings of permanence—a dog, a horse, and a woman who brings light into his dark days—his life is still in New York. He’ll have to persuade Julie that Christmas in Manhattan is just as inspiring, before the holidays put a final wrap on their relationship. No Secrets in Spandex: Allegations of drug use surround bike racer Jacob Hunter, and reporter Ariel Hays is ready to do anything to get that story—except reveal her own secrets. Choosing Carter: When Bryn McKay’s brother escapes from prison bent on revenge, she invites her best friend, naturalist and outdoor guide Carter Danielson, on a rafting trip to help her de-stress—and she wouldn’t mind if things turned romantic. But Carter is a recovering alcoholic who shies away from commitment. Then her brother shows up and they must flee for their lives. Will imminent danger prompt Carter to finally figure out where his heart lies? Winter Storms: Daniel’s sailing accident cost Carly her shot at Olympic dreams, while his own athletic success was unhindered. Now he’s returned and they’re stuck in the Cornish village where storms lash them from outside—and within. Final Mend: Jake Inman may be a triathlete, but he needs a private investigator to help him track down his kidnapped goddaughter in the wilderness. Winona Wall left the PI game, but now to save herself, she must team up with Jake—and avoid love at all costs. Sensuality Level: Sensual
Release