The Immeasurable World

The Immeasurable World

Reviving the illustrious British tradition of travel writing, The Immeasurable World is destined to become a classic of desert literature.

Author: William Atkins

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 9780571319756

Category: Nature

Page: 450

View: 751

For all the desert's dreamlike beauty, to travel here was not just to pitch yourself into oblivion: it was to grind away at yourself until nothing was left. It was to aspire to the condition of sand. One third of the earth's land surface is desert, much of it desolate and inhospitable. What is it about this harsh environment that has captivated humankind throughout history? From the prophets of the Bible to Marco Polo, Lawrence of Arabia to Gertrude Bell, travellers have often seen deserts as cursed places to be avoided, or crossed as quickly as possible. But for those whose call deserts home, the 'hideous blanks' described by explorers are rich in resources and significance. Travelling to five continents over three years, visiting deserts both iconic and little-known, William Atkins discovers a realm that is as much internal as physical. His journey takes him to the Arabian Peninsula's Empty Quarter and Australia's nuclear-test grounds; the dry Aral Sea of Kazakhstan and 'sand seas' of China's volatile north-west; the contested borderlands of Arizona and the riotous Burning Man festival in Nevada's Black Rock Desert; and the ancient monasteries of Egypt's Eastern Desert. Along the way, Atkins illuminates the people, history, topography, and symbolism of these remarkable but often troubled places. Reviving the illustrious British tradition of travel writing, The Immeasurable World is destined to become a classic of desert literature.
Categories: Nature

The Immeasurable Equation

The Immeasurable Equation

This world, is not the real world. It looks like it is, ... Someone cast a magic spell On the people on the planet earth, and then left them here.

Author: Sun Ra

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 9783833426599

Category: Poetry

Page: 530

View: 346

A talented pianist and composer in his own right, Sun Ra (1914 - 1993) founded and conducted one of jazz's last great big bands from the 1950s until he left planet Earth. Few only know that he also was a gifted thinker and poet. Sun Ra's poetry leaves everything behind what's called contemporary, and flings out pictures of infinity into the outer space. These poems are for tomorrow. This is the only edition of Sun Ra's complete poetry and prose in one volume. The Contributors James L. Wolf Earned a music degree from Carleton College, and studied ethnomusicology at the University of Washington, Seattle. Now works at the Library of Congress in the Music Division. Active musician in various bands in the DC area. Many contributions to Sun Ra scholarship. Hartmut Geerken Oriental studies, philosophy and comparative religion at the universities of Tubingen and Istanbul. Writer, filmmaker, musician, composer. Since the 1970s, close relationships to Sun Ra and his works, setting up the world's most comprehensive Waitawhile Sun Ra Archive Sigrid Hauff Studied oriental languages and arts, philosophy, and romance studies at the universities of Tubingen and Istanbul. Free lance writer on literary and philosophical subjects. Klaus Detlef Thiel Studied philosophy and history at Trier University, Ph.D. Philosophical author, focussing on theory and history of writing. Brent Hayes Edwards Teaches in the English Department at Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ. Author and Co-Editor of works on jazz and literature."
Categories: Poetry

Discover The Immeasurable

Discover The Immeasurable

And I think it is very important psychologically to understand this compulsion; otherwise, we shall go on blindly struggling in this world in which we live ...

Author: Jiddu Krishnamurti

Publisher: SCB Distributors

ISBN: 9781935387862

Category: Philosophy

Page: 96

View: 356

For nearly sixty years, J. Krishnamurti, one of the most distinguished voices of modern times, tirelessly traveled the world lecturing on the need to know the mind, and earned the respect of countless people. Dozens of books document his talks both in the US and in Europe. Discover the Immeasureable contains a series of six lectures given by J. Krishnamurti in the Fall of 1956. It includes the original questions from his listeners, together with his insightful and practical answers. These lectures, as all of the great philosopher’s work, are based on the need for radical change in understanding our own minds. With the term “immeasurable,” Krishnamurti is urging us to explore “what is beyond the beliefs and theories, beyond the sentimental hopes and intellectual assertions [and] mere projections of the mind” that determine our lives. He calls us to passionate action in experiencing life directly, since “only direct experience has validity.” To directly experience what is immeasurable will have an extraordinary significance in our lives, even to the point of realizing what is God, or what is truth. The practice of knowing oneself is not an esoteric one, the author asserts. What we discover, with focused attention, is that truth is revealed in every relationship and at every moment. Krishnamurti advocates the practice of meditation not as some otherworldly transport, but as the method for initiating self-knowledge. Through meditation the mind becomes stilled, without demands. In this state, he speculates, “that which is not measurable comes into being.” Attachment to any belief undermines the search for truth. A book for seekers of wisdom & truth from any tradition ... or no tradition. For readers of J. Krishnamurti’s previous books, and for bookstores and libraries—university & public—everywhere.
Categories: Philosophy

The World to Come

The World to Come

As the varying clouds in earthly scenes carry means of refreshment , which they themselves use not ; so , in the immeasurable worlds of space and spirit ...

Author: Joseph William Reynolds

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:AH5A3M

Category: Immortality

Page: 310

View: 392

Categories: Immortality

Measuring the Immeasurable

Measuring the Immeasurable

In a world in which knowledge creation, application, and protection are essential drivers for a firm's success, his 250year-old words of wisdom are still ...

Author: Christian Grube

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 383499457X

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 249

View: 894

Christian Grube analyses the value potential of patent protection of knowledge-based competitive advantages. His findings show that complex licensing contracts represent a profitable strategy to exploit the value of patented inventions and that bibliographic patent data can support the valuation of complex patent portfolios.
Categories: Business & Economics

Critical and Miscellaneous Essays

Critical and Miscellaneous Essays

And when dreams , which bear us away from under the I looked up to the immeasurable world for the tumult of the waterfall into the still heights of Divine ...

Author: Thomas Carlyle

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HN61NY

Category:

Page: 568

View: 896

Categories:

The Scottish Christian journal

The Scottish Christian journal

Fogs full looked up to the immeasurable world for of worlds arise out of the sea of death . the Divine Eye , it glared upon me from an The future is a ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:590891110

Category:

Page:

View: 510

Categories:

The Immeasurable Mercy and Grace of God

The Immeasurable Mercy and Grace of God

He described him to be sober, the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world, Light, and a Man full of grace. However, Jesus described Himself as a ...

Author: O’Brien K. Awuah

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781499043990

Category: Self-Help

Page: 64

View: 357

I was privileged to read Minister O’Brien Awuah’s manuscript The Immeasurable Mercy And Grace of God, and I am grateful I did. This is one of the most practical, informative and inspiring presentations on the present day Christian life. This book has not come from the world of psychological confi gurations; instead it has come from a compassionate and prayerful searching of scripture. God’s grace, according to the author is found in Jesus Christ, and Christ is God’s gift of Immeasurable Mercy. Yes, it is of the Lord’s immeasurable mercies and grace that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: Great is thy faithfulness (Lamentations 3:22-23). God’s immeasurable mercy and grace though abounding create and demand a change in our lives. Therefore, my Christian friends, I challenge you to read chapter eight (8) of the book over and over again and your life will never be the same. You will not only be blessed; you will be a blessing.
Categories: Self-Help

The Modern British Essayists

The Modern British Essayists

And when dreams , which bear us away from under the I looked up to the immeasurable world for the tumult of the waterfall into the still heights of Divine ...

Author: Francis Jeffrey

Publisher:

ISBN: SRLF:AA0002995751

Category: English essays

Page:

View: 579

Categories: English essays

Latter day Pamphlets

Latter day Pamphlets

And when I looked up to the immeasurable world for the Divine Eye , it glared on me with an empty , black , bottomless Eye - socket ; and Eternity lay upon ...

Author: Thomas Carlyle

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000006730185

Category: Great Britain

Page: 143

View: 143

Categories: Great Britain

Summary of the Great Vehicle The

Summary of the Great Vehicle  The

The Buddha dwells in a great palace , which is ornamented with the seven gems and emits a great light completely filling immeasurable world realms .

Author: Asanga

Publisher: Numata Center for Buddhist Translation & Research

ISBN: UOM:39015041774020

Category: Knowledge, Theory of (Buddhism)

Page: 147

View: 548

Categories: Knowledge, Theory of (Buddhism)

The Gentle Life

The Gentle Life

We , reader and writer , too , have around us the immeasurable world ; we walk in the presence of infinities ; we have thoughts that touch upon the verge of ...

Author: James Hain Friswell

Publisher:

ISBN: BCUL:1092405063

Category: Conduct of life

Page: 406

View: 784

Categories: Conduct of life

The Gentle Life Etc Special Edition

The Gentle Life  Etc   Special Edition

We , reader and writer , too , have around us the immeasurable world ; we walk in the presence of infinities ; we have thoughts that touch upon the verge of ...

Author: James Hain Friswell

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0018645396

Category:

Page:

View: 448

Categories:

Thoughts and Aspirations of the Ages

Thoughts and Aspirations of the Ages

Selections in Prose and Verse from the Religious Writings of the World ... and fell down in drops ; and when I looked up to the immeasurable world for ...

Author: William Chatterton Coupland

Publisher: London: Swan Sonnenschein / New York: Macmillan

ISBN: COLUMBIA:CU53290011

Category: Religions

Page: 715

View: 378

Categories: Religions

The Library of Choice Literature

The Library of Choice Literature

A gray I looked up to the immeasurable world for sultry fog hung suspended in heavy folds in the Divine Eye , it glared upon me from an the heavens , and a ...

Author: Ainsworth Rand Spofford

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HWET71

Category: Literature

Page:

View: 233

Categories: Literature

Life of John Duncan

Life of     John Duncan

... polyAnd when I looked up to the immeasurable world for THE DIVINE EYE , it gazed on me WITH AN EMPTY , BLACK , BOTTOMLESS EYESOCKET .

Author: David Brown

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:600013620

Category:

Page:

View: 367

Categories: