The Illusion of Us

The Suppression and Evolution of Human Consciousness

Author: Matthew LaCroix

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781518671067

Category: Consciousness

Page: 120

View: 2388

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the Second Edition of The Illusion of Us, we travel down the rabbit hole of knowledge to uncover the secrets behind consciousness and the intelligent design behind reality itself. How did we become so lost and disconnected to the world and universe around us? Perhaps the answer can be found by understanding our multidimensional consciousness and true identity. Could humanity have complete amnesia of a past Golden Age due to cataclysms on Earth which wiped out most of the evidence from a lost time period? The renowned philosopher Plato leaves behind compelling evidence for this theory in both the Timaeus and Critias, linking the lost civilization of Atlantis and its destruction. It's time to finally discover all that we have forgotten and piece together the incredible history that preceded us. Were the gods of mankind simply myth or are we missing an important piece of the puzzle that connects all the way back to the stars... From the guarded writings of the Nag Hammadi Library to the cuneiform tablets of the Enuma Elish and Atrahasis, The Illusion of Us connects the entire story and provides a way to free the shackles from Darwin's Cave. The truth will set you free.
Release

Shinto: A celebration of Life

Author: Aidan Rankin

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN: 1846947383

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 176

View: 6131

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Shinto is an ancient faith of forests and snow-capped mountains. It sees the divine in rocks and streams, communing with spirit worlds through bamboo twigs and the evergreen sakaki tree. Yet it is also the manicured suburban garden and the blades of grass between cracks in city paving stones. Structured around ritual cleansing, Shinto contains no concept of sin. It reveres ancestors, but thinks little about the afterlife, asking us to live in, and improve, the present. Central to Shinto is Kannagara: intuitive acceptance of the divine power contained in all living things. Dai Shizen (Great Nature) is the life force with which we ally ourselves through spiritual practice and living simply. This is not asceticism, but an affirmation of all aspects of life. Musubi (organic growth) provides a model for reconciling ancient intuition with modern science, modern society with primal human needs. Shinto is an unbroken indigenous path that now reaches beyond its native Japan. It has special relevance to us a
Release

The Golden Thread

ESCAPING SOCIO-ECONOMIC SUBJUGATION: AN EXPERIMENT IN APPLIED COMPLEXITY SCIENCE

Author: Fuad Udemans

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 1491879327

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 456

View: 6249

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book is an account of a ten-year experiment, whereby the scientist became an entrepreneur so as to experience his own theoretical model applied in a live social system (society). Profit motives and the clinical nature of science became muddied with norms, rules, and laws of social systems and how different people applied and responded to these rules. The insights to be gained from this journey are often surprising. The book highlights many counter-intuitive outcomes. It also reveals how certain individuals interpret society’s rules and norms despite their design to ensure fair and equitable social systems. Indeed, the manipulation of social laws and standards by those with strong fields of power is self-evident, and it is explored in a unique manner. Understanding how the field of power can be manipulated suggests that no matter how bleak one’s current position may be, it is very possible and relatively easy to escape conditions of poverty, oppression, and subjugation, vital issues that citizens in all countries face today.
Release

Sweet Sorrow

Love, Loss and Attachment in Human Life

Author: Alan Eppel

Publisher: Karnac Books

ISBN: 1855756455

Category: Psychology

Page: 147

View: 2365

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In this volume the author proposes that it is the interplay of love and loss that lies at the epicentre of the human story. Support for this proposal is taken from neuroscience, art and psychoanalysis. It will also introduce the reader to important ideas and findings from Attachment Theory. An exploration of the relationship between love and loss can lead us to some understanding of the meaning of our lives. It shows how love and loss are inextricably bound at the centre of human experience, and form the essential dynamic of the human struggle. This book will appeal to sophisticated lay readers, in addition to various categories of student and professional audiences. It will be of interest to psychologists, psychiatrists, psychotherapists, philosophers, neuroscientists and sociologists. Readers with a background mainly in the arts and humanities will find it appealing because of its linkages and use of poetry, song and visual art to elucidate and illustrate the major propositions of the book. More generally, anyone with a curiosity about love and loss will find this book attractive. It provides insight and illumination to many of the human circumstances that people encounter in their day-to-day lives.
Release

Free Will and Determinism in Joseph Conrad's Major Novels

Author: Ludwig Schnauder

Publisher: Rodopi

ISBN: 9042026162

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 268

View: 385

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Although it has often been pointed out that the protagonists of Joseph Conrad's novels frequently fail in what they attempt to achieve, the forces that oppose them have rarely been examined systematically. Furthermore, no sustained attempts have been made to rigorously address the central philosophical issue the characters' predicament raises: that of the freedom-of-the-will. This interdisciplinary study seeks to remedy this neglect by taking recourse not only to the philosophical debate about free will and determinism but also to the relevant historical, economic, scientific, and literary discourses in the Victorian and Early-Modernist periods. Against this background a paradigmatic analysis of three of Conrad's most significant novels –Heart of Darkness, Nostromo, and The Secret Agent – investigates the writer's position in the free will and determinism debate by identifying certain recurring themes in which the freedom-of-the-will problem manifests itself. Light is thereby also thrown on a central Conradian paradox: how Conrad can insist on morality and moral responsibility, which presupposes the existence of free will, in a materialist-deterministic world, which denies it.
Release

Biblical Faith

An Evolutionary Approach

Author: Gerd Theissen

Publisher: Fortress Press

ISBN: 9781451408614

Category: Religion

Page: 194

View: 6267

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the tradition of Karl Rahner and Teilhard de Chardin, this book from renowned New Testament scholar Gerd Theissen daringly probes the innermost sanctuaries of the biblical tradition through the lens of evolutionary theory. Without associating evolution with a na?ve optimism about progress, Theissen shows how a thorough examination of the "cultural evolution" of the Christian faith can yield glimmers of a possible goal of history: "complete adaptation to the reality of God."
Release