The Illusion of Us

The Suppression and Evolution of Human Consciousness

Author: Matthew LaCroix

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781518671067

Category: Consciousness

Page: 120

View: 6073

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the Second Edition of The Illusion of Us, we travel down the rabbit hole of knowledge to uncover the secrets behind consciousness and the intelligent design behind reality itself. How did we become so lost and disconnected to the world and universe around us? Perhaps the answer can be found by understanding our multidimensional consciousness and true identity. Could humanity have complete amnesia of a past Golden Age due to cataclysms on Earth which wiped out most of the evidence from a lost time period? The renowned philosopher Plato leaves behind compelling evidence for this theory in both the Timaeus and Critias, linking the lost civilization of Atlantis and its destruction. It's time to finally discover all that we have forgotten and piece together the incredible history that preceded us. Were the gods of mankind simply myth or are we missing an important piece of the puzzle that connects all the way back to the stars... From the guarded writings of the Nag Hammadi Library to the cuneiform tablets of the Enuma Elish and Atrahasis, The Illusion of Us connects the entire story and provides a way to free the shackles from Darwin's Cave. The truth will set you free.
Release

Shinto: A celebration of Life

Author: Aidan Rankin

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN: 1846947383

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 176

View: 2011

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Shinto is an ancient faith of forests and snow-capped mountains. It sees the divine in rocks and streams, communing with spirit worlds through bamboo twigs and the evergreen sakaki tree. Yet it is also the manicured suburban garden and the blades of grass between cracks in city paving stones. Structured around ritual cleansing, Shinto contains no concept of sin. It reveres ancestors, but thinks little about the afterlife, asking us to live in, and improve, the present. Central to Shinto is Kannagara: intuitive acceptance of the divine power contained in all living things. Dai Shizen (Great Nature) is the life force with which we ally ourselves through spiritual practice and living simply. This is not asceticism, but an affirmation of all aspects of life. Musubi (organic growth) provides a model for reconciling ancient intuition with modern science, modern society with primal human needs. Shinto is an unbroken indigenous path that now reaches beyond its native Japan. It has special relevance to us a
Release

Invisible, but how? The depth of unconscious processing as inferred from different suppression techniques.

Author: Julien Dubois, Nathan Faivre

Publisher: Frontiers Media SA

ISBN: 2889194205

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9843

DOWNLOAD NOW »

To what level are invisible stimuli processed by the brain in the absence of conscious awareness? It is widely accepted that simple visual properties of invisible stimuli are processed; however, the existence of higher-level unconscious processing (e.g., involving semantic or executive functions) remains a matter of debate. Several methodological factors may underlie the discrepancies found in the literature, such as different levels of conservativeness in the definition of “unconscious” or different dependent measures of unconscious processing. In this research topic, we are particularly interested in yet another factor: inherent differences in the amount of information let through by different suppression techniques. In the same conditions of well-controlled, conservatively established invisibility, can we show that some of the techniques in the “psychophysical magic” arsenal (e.g., masking, but also visual crowding, attentional blink, etc.) reliably lead to higher-level unconscious processing than others (e.g., interocular suppression)? Some authors have started investigating this question, using multiple techniques in similar settings . We argue that this approach should be extended and refined. Indeed, in order to delineate the frontiers of the unconscious mind using a contrastive method, one has to disentangle the limits attributable to unawareness itself, and those attributable to the technique inducing unawareness. The scope of this research topic is to provide a platform for scientists to contribute insights and further experiments addressing this fundamental question.
Release

The Golden Thread

ESCAPING SOCIO-ECONOMIC SUBJUGATION: AN EXPERIMENT IN APPLIED COMPLEXITY SCIENCE

Author: Fuad Udemans

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 1491879327

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 456

View: 5991

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book is an account of a ten-year experiment, whereby the scientist became an entrepreneur so as to experience his own theoretical model applied in a live social system (society). Profit motives and the clinical nature of science became muddied with norms, rules, and laws of social systems and how different people applied and responded to these rules. The insights to be gained from this journey are often surprising. The book highlights many counter-intuitive outcomes. It also reveals how certain individuals interpret society’s rules and norms despite their design to ensure fair and equitable social systems. Indeed, the manipulation of social laws and standards by those with strong fields of power is self-evident, and it is explored in a unique manner. Understanding how the field of power can be manipulated suggests that no matter how bleak one’s current position may be, it is very possible and relatively easy to escape conditions of poverty, oppression, and subjugation, vital issues that citizens in all countries face today.
Release

Biblical Faith

An Evolutionary Approach

Author: Gerd Theissen

Publisher: Fortress Press

ISBN: 9781451408614

Category: Religion

Page: 194

View: 2056

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the tradition of Karl Rahner and Teilhard de Chardin, this book from renowned New Testament scholar Gerd Theissen daringly probes the innermost sanctuaries of the biblical tradition through the lens of evolutionary theory. Without associating evolution with a na?ve optimism about progress, Theissen shows how a thorough examination of the "cultural evolution" of the Christian faith can yield glimmers of a possible goal of history: "complete adaptation to the reality of God."
Release

Syncope

The Philosophy of Rapture

Author: Catherine Clément

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN: 9780816619771

Category: Philosophy

Page: 302

View: 1792

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release