The House of Thunder

A psychological thriller of masterful suspense

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472202953

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 8011

DOWNLOAD NOW »

How do you know what is real when you wake into a nightmare? The House of Thunder is an unforgettable novel of terror and murder from bestselling novelist Dean Koontz. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Harlan Coben. 'Dean Koontz is a prose stylist whose lyricism heightens malevolence and tension. [He creates] characters of unusual richness and depth' - The Seattle Times In a cavern called The House of Thunder, Susan Thorton watched in terror as her lover died a brutal death in a college hazing. And in the following four years, the four young men who participated in that grim fraternity rite also died violently. Or did they? Twelve years later Susan wakes in a hospital bed. Apparently involved in a fatal accident, she is suffering from amnesia. She doesn't remember who she is or why she is there. All she knows is that her convalescence is unfolding into a fearful nightmare - and that the faces that surround her, pretending loving care, are those of the four men involved in that murder years before. Have the dead come back to life? Or has Susan plunged into the abyss of madness? With the help of her neurosurgeon, Susan desperately clings to her sanity while fighting to uncover who or what could be stalking her... What readers are saying about The House of Thunder: 'I have never read a book so filled with mystery and suspense' 'Koontz creates several ingenious plot twists and mysteries, some of which had me gasping out loud, they were so fantastic' 'Wonderful plot and living, breathing characters are of course the norm from Koontz, but this book has an indefinable quality about it that sets it apart from the others'
Release

Masterful Stories

Lessons from Golden Age Radio

Author: John V Pavlik

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1315530759

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 360

View: 901

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The early eras of radio storytelling have entered and continue to enter the public domain in large quantities, offering unprecedented access to the Golden Age of Radio. Author and Professor John Pavlik mines the best this age of radio has to offer in Masterful Stories, an examination of the masterpieces of audio storytelling. This book provides a chronological history of the best of the best from radio’s Golden Age, outlining a core set of principles and techniques that made these radio plays enduring examples of storytelling. It suggests that, by using these techniques, stories can engage audiences emotionally and intellectually. Grounded in a historical and theoretical understanding of radio drama, this volume illuminates the foundational works that proceeded popular modern shows such as Radiolab, The Moth, and Serial. Masterful Stories will be a powerful resource in both media history courses and courses teaching audio storytelling for modern radio and other audio formats, such as podcasting. It will appeal to audio fans looking to learn about and understand the early days of radio drama.
Release

Cue

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: New York (N.Y.)

Page: N.A

View: 1728

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release