The Great Global Warming Blunder

How Mother Nature Fooled the World s Top Climate Scientists

Author: Roy W Spencer

Publisher: Encounter Books

ISBN: 1594036039

Category: Political Science

Page: 216

View: 1273

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Great Global Warming Blunder unveils new evidence from major scientific findings that explode the conventional wisdom on climate change and reshape the global warming debate as we know it. Roy W. Spencer, a former senior NASA climatologist, reveals how climate researchers have mistaken cause and effect when analyzing cloud behavior and have been duped by Mother Nature into believing the Earth’s climate system is far more sensitive to human activities and carbon dioxide than it really is. In fact, Spencer presents astonishing new evidence that recent warming is not the fault of humans, but the result of chaotic, internal natural cycles that have been causing periods of warming and cooling for millennia. More carbon dioxide in the atmosphere is not necessarily to be feared; The Great Global Warming Blunder explains that burning of fossil fuels may actually be beneficial for life on Earth. As group-think behavior and misguided global warming policy proposals threaten the lives of millions of the world’s poorest, most vulnerable citizens, The Great Global Warming Blunder is a scintillating exposé and much-needed call for debate.
Release

Punch-Drunk on Co2...Dizzy from Spin

Catastrophic Man-Made Global Warming Sustainable Hypothesis or Unsustainable Hoax?

Author: Peter Sullivan

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 148361431X

Category: Science

Page: 530

View: 724

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Prior to the 2009 Copenhagen climate conference, it became evident that no discernible global warming had occurred since 1998, despite a significant increase in carbon dioxide emissions. Consequently, the catastrophic man-made global warming hypothesis of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) was conveniently rebranded as climate change. This book allows readers, with little or no understanding of the issues behind the climate change debate, to obtain an appreciation as to why so much doubt and suspicion has been cast over the IPCC and its gold standard climate science (IPCC Fourth Assessment Report) often referred to as the settled science backed by a consensus of scientists. This book reveals that what the public has been led to believe about man-made global warming alarmism, and about the IPCC, often is misleading or just plain wrong, and that the IPCCs climate alarmism is not actually backed by science but rather by shonky predictions from unreliable computer models. It also makes it evident that man-made global warming alarmism has been driven largely by politics and environmentalism using any means possible to justify action to halt catastrophic man-made global warming (climate change) warming that has not, in fact, been happening. This book will leave the reader better informed about the IPCC and its climate alarmism, and about carbon dioxide, the temperature data, climate model predictions and misleading claims, as well as about the efforts of sceptics in revealing why the hypothesis of the IPCC, and its alarmist claims, are not valid.
Release

Evidence-based Climate Science

Data Opposing CO2 Emissions as the Primary Source of Global Warming

Author: Don J. Easterbrook

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN: 0123859565

Category: Science

Page: 400

View: 9165

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Global warming and human-induced climate change are perhaps the most important scientific issues of our time. These issues continue to be debated in the scientific community and in the media without true consensus about the role of greenhouse gas emissions as a contributing factor. Evidence-Based Climate Science: Data opposing CO2 emissions as the primary source of global warming objectively gathers and analyzes scientific data concerning patterns of past climate changes, influences of changes in ocean temperatures, the effect of solar variation on global climate, and the effect of CO2 on global climate to clearly and objectively present counter-global-warming evidence not embraced by proponents of CO2. An unbiased, evidence-based analysis of the scientific data concerning climate change and global warming Authored by 8 of the world's leading climate scientists, each with more than 25 years of experience in the field Extensive analysis of the physics of CO2 as a greenhouse gas and its role in global warming Comprehensive citations, references, and bibliography Adaptation strategies are presented as alternative reactions to greenhouse gas emission reductions
Release

Soul, Self, and Society

The New Morality and the Modern State

Author: Edward L. Rubin

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199348677

Category: Political Science

Page: 336

View: 2056

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Political and social commentators regularly bemoan the decline of morality in the modern world. They claim that the norms and values that held society together in the past are rapidly eroding, to be replaced by permissiveness and empty hedonism. But as Edward Rubin demonstrates in this powerful account of moral transformations, these prophets of doom are missing the point. Morality is not diminishing; instead, a new morality, centered on an ethos of human self-fulfillment, is arising to replace the old one. As Rubin explains, changes in morality have gone hand in hand with changes in the prevailing mode of governance throughout the course of Western history. During the Early Middle Ages, a moral system based on honor gradually developed. In a dangerous world where state power was declining, people relied on bonds of personal loyalty that were secured by generosity to their followers and violence against their enemies. That moral order, exemplified in the early feudal system and in sagas like The Song of Roland, The Song of the Cid, and the Arthurian legends has faded, but its remnants exist today in criminal organizations like the Mafia and in the rap music of the urban ghettos. When state power began to revive in the High Middle Ages through the efforts of the European monarchies, and Christianity became more institutionally effective and more spiritually intense, a new morality emerged. Described by Rubin as the morality of higher purposes, it demanded that people devote their personal efforts to achieving salvation and their social efforts to serving the emerging nation-states. It insisted on social hierarchy, confined women to subordinate roles, restricted sex to procreation, centered child-rearing on moral inculcation, and countenanced slavery and the marriage of pre-teenage girls to older men. Our modern era, which began in the late 18th century, has seen the gradual erosion of this morality of higher purposes and the rise of a new morality of self-fulfillment, one that encourages individuals to pursue the most meaningful and rewarding life-path. Far from being permissive or a moral abdication, it demands that people respect each other's choices, that sex be mutually enjoyable, that public positions be allocated according to merit, and that society provide all its members with their minimum needs so that they have the opportunity to fulfill themselves. Where people once served the state, the state now functions to serve the people. The clash between this ascending morality and the declining morality of higher purposes is the primary driver of contemporary political and cultural conflict. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Francis Fukuyama's The End of History, Charles Taylor's The Secular Age, and Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man, Edward Rubin's new volume promises to reshape our understanding of morality, its relationship to government, and its role in shaping the emerging world of High Modernity.
Release