The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree

When people go missing in the sleepy town of Smith’s Hollow, the only clue to their fate comes when a teenager starts having terrifying visions, in a chilling horror novel from national bestselling author Christina Henry.

Author: Christina Henry

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780451492319

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 360

When people go missing in the sleepy town of Smith’s Hollow, the only clue to their fate comes when a teenager starts having terrifying visions, in a chilling horror novel from national bestselling author Christina Henry. When the bodies of two girls are found torn apart in the town of Smiths Hollow, Lauren is surprised, but she also expects that the police won't find the killer. After all, the year before her father's body was found with his heart missing, and since then everyone has moved on. Even her best friend, Miranda, has become more interested in boys than in spending time at the old ghost tree, the way they used to when they were kids. So when Lauren has a vision of a monster dragging the remains of the girls through the woods, she knows she can't just do nothing. Not like the rest of her town. But as she draws closer to answers, she realizes that the foundation of her seemingly normal town might be rotten at the center. And that if nobody else stands for the missing, she will.
Categories: Fiction

The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree

“The story of the Coloring Trees is featured in the legend of Queen Huani the Weaver. When visiting her summer palace in the mountains, she spent hours under the boughs of her favorite shade tree, weaving at her backstrap loom.

Author: Victoria Auberon

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781984586551

Category: Fiction

Page: 38

View: 986

WILL AN ANCIENT LEDGEND WEAVE A YOUNG GIRL’S DESTINY? In a mountain village lived Grandmother Atl, a very talented weaver, and her granddaughter, Nemimati. Nemimati wants nothing more than to help her grandmother live a better life, so she convinces her to enter a contest where the winner will receive the title of Royal Weaver—and get to live in the comfort of the Royal Palace. Grandmother Atl sends Nemimati and her young friend, Mishtla, to gather the scarce magical red Coloring Beans with yellow centers from which a luminous golden dye can be made. Eventually, the children stop to rest near the ruins of a mysterious palace garden where the Spirit Tree of legend fortuitously appears and graciously fills their baskets. However, not until the day of the long-awaited contest do Nemimati and her grandmother hear the miraculous tree’s appearance explained. This mythic tale is set in the pre-Columbian era of a Toltec emperor who took his name from the god, Quetzalcoatl. His legend proclaims him a beneficent sovereign who promoted heartfelt sacrifice for one another rather than the religious rite of sacrificed hearts practiced by other rulers. It is also said that he presented his subjects with wealth and knowledge.
Categories: Fiction

The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree

'Oak,' I ended, and my father glared. 'Well, pick it up,' he ordered angrily, leaving me in no doubt that it was my fault for having distracted him. I recovered the two halves and rinsed them under the tap. 'The Ghost Tree?

Author: M.R.C. Kasasian

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 9781788546423

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 492

Detective Betty Church is forced to revisit ghosts from her past when a skeleton is found buried in the woods. Pitch-perfect WWII crime for fans of Agatha Christie and Jasper Fforde.
Categories: Fiction

Der geisterseher

Der geisterseher

Author: Friedrich Schiller

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044102868189

Category:

Page: 118

View: 693

Categories:

The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree

Before you follow the path into your family’s history, beware of the secrets you may find... The new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author.

Author: Barbara Erskine

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780008195830

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 905

Before you follow the path into your family’s history, beware of the secrets you may find... The new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author.
Categories: Fiction

Ghost Tree Other Eerie Tales

Ghost Tree   Other Eerie Tales

GHOST. TREE. Many stories are told of our native tree, tikouka, or cabbage tree. It's well known that cabbage trees provide resting places for the spirits of the dead (wairua) on their way north to Cape Reinga, as well as being ...

Author: Anthony Holcroft

Publisher: Penguin Random House New Zealand Limited

ISBN: 9781742287430

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 656

This collection of spooky stories is designed to give you chills. With tales of mystical cabbage trees able to move from place to place, not-so-harmless house guests and music that briges the gap between the dead and the living, there's a story here for everyone.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

The Ghost World

The Ghost World

Then she got it: a drawbridge, the ghost tree was going to serve as a drawbridge! Yes, of course, that was obvious. How could she not guess it sooner? 'Dear Tsoug,' she said, 'can you please help us burn London?

Author: H. Jacot-Guillarmod

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781326197278

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 125

Do you believe in astromagic? It’s an art that governs stars and planets and, therefore, enables you to time travel. One morning Lite Yeer fries bacon when out of her watch streams a ghost, and so begins an adventure to the past with the knight Roger and the evil elf Moyo who wants to destroy the entire Universe. Classic narrative devices have been used to deliver a complex detective story intricately woven with black magic.
Categories: Fiction

Lite Yeer and the Ghost World

Lite Yeer and the Ghost World

I am writing to tell you that, although it has not been windy, many trees have fallen around me and my men as from a hurricane. ... The silence that followed told Lite that the ghost tree was putting his old treebrains to work.

Author: Monica Golay

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781326976033

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 331

An owl informs Màrs, a Gandalf sort of time-sorcerer, on an outrageously dangerous elf, Moyo. Moyo plans to travel back to the big bang, which will destroy not only the Earth, but the entire universe. Through the American mass spying system, the NSA, Màrs chooses to send Lite to her ancestor Roger in the aim of damaging Moyo’s Time Wheel which he needs for his return-to-the-big-bang plan. But after going to Roger’s time to prevent him from killing his school teacher, an unexpected relativist effect turns Lite into a baby. Shocked and surprised, Màrs finds no better solution than to place the one-year-old Lite with two horrible aunts, the Mauroux sisters. Her placement involves in fact a baby swap which Lite later investigates and whose story elements she manipulates to frame her aunts. By a strange but fair justice, the Mauroux sisters end up in jail.
Categories: Fiction

Tree Story

Tree Story

In a New Yorker piece from 2015, Kathryn Schulz describes such trees in ghost forests: “Leafless, branchless, backless, they are reduced to their trunks and worn to a smooth silver- gray, as if they had always carried their own ...

Author: Valerie Trouet

Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press

ISBN: 9781421437774

Category: Nature

Page: 256

View: 677

Trouet delights us with her dedication to the tangible appeal of studying trees, a discipline that has taken her to austere and beautiful landscapes around the globe and has enabled scientists to solve long-pondered mysteries of Earth and its human inhabitants.
Categories: Nature