The Elite The Selection Book 2

The Elite  The Selection  Book 2

The Selection gets fierce as rivals stake their claim on the Prince. Six girls, one life-changing prize...

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780007466733

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 336

View: 148

The Selection gets fierce as rivals stake their claim on the Prince. Six girls, one life-changing prize...
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

The Elite

The Elite

Kiera Cass?s -- The EliteThe Selection expect, and continues the love triangle that captivated them.

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books

ISBN: 0007466706

Category: Aristocracy (Social class)

Page: 323

View: 674

Potential royal bride America is confused about her feelings for both Prince Maxon and childhood sweetheart Aspen as she gets nearer to the finals of The Selection.
Categories: Aristocracy (Social class)

The Selection Series 3 Book Collection

The Selection Series 3 Book Collection

The first three novels in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series are available together in one ebook collection, along with the first two novellas in the series.

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780062367365

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 1056

View: 140

The first three novels in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series are available together in one ebook collection, along with the first two novellas in the series. Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want.nThen America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. Before America arrived at the palace to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life. In The Prince, follow Maxon from the week before the Selection begins through the first day of the competition. Raised as a Six, Aspen Leger never dreamed that he would find himself living in the palace. In The Guard, get an inside look at Aspen’s life as a palace guard—and the truth about his world that America will never know. Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Book of Abstracts of the 68th Annual Meeting of the European Federation of Animal Science

Book of Abstracts of the 68th Annual Meeting of the European Federation of Animal Science

The effect of divergent selection for a composite trait on genetic responses in components S.W.P. Cloete1,2, J.B. Van Wyk3 and J.J. Olivier1 1Directorate Animal Sciences: Elsenburg, Private Bag X1, Elsenburg 7607, South Africa, ...

Author: EAAP Scientific committee

Publisher: Wageningen Academic Publishers

ISBN: 9789086868599

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 512

View: 574

This Book of Abstracts is the main publication of the 68th Annual Meeting of the European Federation of Animal Science (EAAP). It contains abstracts of the invited papers and contributed presentations of the sessions of EAAP's eleven Commissions: Animal Genetics, Animal Nutrition, Animal Management and Health, Animal Physiology, Cattle Production, Sheep and Goat Production, Pig Production, Horse Production and Livestock Farming Systems, Insects and Precision Livestock Farming.
Categories: Technology & Engineering

Beyond the Blockbusters

Beyond the Blockbusters

Aguirre, Ann. Outpost (Razorland Book 2). Feiwel and Friends, 2012. Cass, Kiera. The Elite (Book 2). HarperCollins, 2013. Cass, Kiera. The One (Book 3). HarperCollins, 2014. Cass, Kiera. The Selection (Book 1). HarperCollins, 2012.

Author: Rebekah Fitzsimmons

Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

ISBN: 9781496827159

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 254

View: 612

Contributions by Megan Brown, Jill Coste, Sara K. Day, Rachel Dean-Ruzicka, Rebekah Fitzsimmons, Amber Gray, Roxanne Harde, Tom Jesse, Heidi Jones, Kaylee Jangula Mootz, Leah Phillips, Rachel L. Rickard Rebellino, S. R. Toliver, Jason Vanfosson, Sarah E. Whitney, and Casey Alane Wilson While critical and popular attention afforded to twenty-first-century young adult literature has exponentially increased in recent years, classroom materials and scholarship have remained static in focus and slight in scope. Twilight, The Hunger Games, The Fault in Our Stars, and The Hate U Give overwhelm conversations among scholars and critics—but these are far from the only texts in need of analysis. Beyond the Blockbusters: Themes and Trends in Contemporary Young Adult Fiction offers a necessary remedy to this limiting perspective, bringing together essays about the many subgenres, themes, and character types that have until now been overlooked. The collection tackles a diverse range of topics—modern updates to the marriage plot; fairy tale retellings in dystopian settings; stories of extrajudicial police killings and racial justice. The approaches are united, though, by a commitment to exploring the large-scale generic and theoretical structures at work in each set of texts. As a collection, Beyond the Blockbusters is an exciting entryway into a field that continues to grow and change even as its works captivate massive audiences. It will prove a crucial addition to the library of any scholar or instructor of young adult literature.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Elite Dualism and Leadership Selection in China

Elite Dualism and Leadership Selection in China

... and findings from this book include: 1 political development in the reform era has enhanced the division of labor between the CCP and the government in governance, leading to two distinctive career paths in these two systems.

Author: Xiaowei Zang

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781134353613

Category: Social Science

Page: 264

View: 322

Who are the top political leaders in China? What are the major criteria in elite recruitment? How is job promotion in high politics determined? By studying over one and a half thousand top political Chinese leaders, this book seeks to answer these questions and, as a result, defines how Chinese leadership is stratified. Unlike existing research on Chinese leaders, Elite Dualism and Leadership Selection in China draws on extensive statistical information and data analysis. It evidences how political development in the reform era has led to the division of labour between the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and the government in governance, leading to two distinctive career paths in the two political systems respectively. Key issues examined include: * the different criteria the CCP and the government demand * the requirements for promotion * the effect of university education on the rate of mobility * the different affiliations of the two groups * the role of cooptation in leadership selection. Many of the elites discussed are still leading figures in China, making this book the most up-to-date and extensive biographical data set in elite studies. This allows for a meaningful analysis of elite behaviour in China for the first time in Chinese Studies. This book will be useful to both students of Chinese studies and comparative politics and will also interest researchers, political commentators, statesmen and China-watchers.
Categories: Social Science

The Complete Book on Cashew Cultivation Processing By Products

The Complete Book on Cashew  Cultivation  Processing   By Products

There are two ways of preserving living materials: 1. In situ preservation and 2. Ex situ preservation. In situ preservation is pertaining to protection of the plants in its original habit, after marking the elite plants in its original ...

Author: Dr. H. Panda

Publisher: ASIA PACIFIC BUSINESS PRESS Inc.

ISBN: 9788178331560

Category:

Page: 640

View: 329

Now a day’s horticultural commodities getting export from India, among them cashew retain top position. For cashew cultivation certain parameters such as characteristics of cashew, weather condition, geographical location, propagation - layering, budding and grafting, nature of soil are the main to improve and increase the overall productivity of cashew with suitable planning of efficient water management. This book includes organic farming method of cashew. Three main cashew products are traded on the international market - raw nuts, cashew kernels and cashew nut shell liquid (CNSL). A fourth product - the cashew apple is generally processed and consumed locally. This book is not only confined to the different methods of cashew processing but also describe about by-products obtained from cashew. The traditional method of cashew processing through which we get CNSL(Cashew Nut Shell Liquid),the major source of Cardanol. We also came to know about production of CNSL derivatives, polymerization of CNSL, rubber like elasticity products, styrene product of CNSL, multifunctional alcohol obtained from CNSL and lots of other information. Cardanol is a phenolic lipid which is the byproduct of cashew nut processing. It has several uses and applications in chemistry, chemical industries, additives industries and fuel industries for low sulphur diesel fuel. This book contains the purification process of CNSL for isolation of cardanol, evaluation of copperised CNSL and neem oil as wood preservatives. It also provides a wide idea to their readers about its nutritional value, commercial exploitation, hygiene and safety issues, packaging and preservation, uses, manufacturers and suppliers of machinery of this process. This book also engaged in quality control system, design and development of soft nano materials from CNSL cashew to play a vital role in nano technology. It covers all the area concerned in this field and presents a crystal clear overview on the process and its by-product from all possible aspects.
Categories:

The Genetics and Exploitation of Heterosis in Crops

The Genetics and Exploitation of Heterosis in Crops

An International Symposium, 17-22 August 1997, Mexico City, Mexico : Book of Abstracts CIMMYT. ... Postal 6-641 , 06600 Mexico DF Introduction Two phases of selection common in plant breeding programs are the creation of variability by ...

Author: CIMMYT.

Publisher: CIMMYT

ISBN: 968692390X

Category: Heterosis

Page: 400

View: 748

Categories: Heterosis

Book Of Abstracts Of The 54th Annual Meeting Of The European Association For Animal Production

Book Of Abstracts Of The 54th Annual Meeting Of The European Association For Animal Production

Stallions selection is performed in three steps: 2 year old males are evaluated for gaits by measuring length and speed oftheir free trot and 3 year old males are evaluated for free jumping: these two steps are carried out in a unique ...

Author: Y. Van Der Honing

Publisher: Wageningen Academic Pub

ISBN: 9789076998206

Category: Medical

Page: 564

View: 852

Categories: Medical