The Duke s Children

The Duke s Children

“ If you will come when I am coming . I hate waiting for a fellow . ” " Suppose we leave at half - past ten . " “ I won't fix any time ; but if we can't make it suit there'll be the governor's carriage . " “ Will the Duke go down in his ...

Author: Anthony Trollope

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044011789617

Category:

Page:

View: 382

Categories:

Complete Collection of State Trials

Complete Collection of State Trials

My lord , this I dare positively say , she went persuading mę , she made use of the duke of York's name , down of a Tuesday , and that was the day before the duke and said , she would go down to Windsor to persuade the of York.came from ...

Author: Francis Hargrave

Publisher:

ISBN: BCUL:1092435567

Category:

Page:

View: 802

Categories:

Report of the Late Important Trial in the Court of King s Bench

Report of the Late Important Trial in the Court of King s Bench

Q. Where did you go then ? -A . Some of the boys went down to the water - side , the gates were open , and then we kept along by the Duke of Buccleugh's — the Duke of Montague's at that time of day . Q. Do you remember the old house ...

Author: Sir Charles Merrik Burrell

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105044156169

Category: Electronic books

Page: 191

View: 138

An action in which the plaintiff claimed that Richmond Terrace was not within the parish of St. Margaret, hence that the inhabitants could not be compelled to contribute to the relief of the poor of that parish.
Categories: Electronic books

Playing the Duke s Mistress

Playing the Duke s Mistress

I used to go to the theatre with Papa, of course. ... But now it's not possible for me to go. ... 'I promise to bring your sister home the moment the curtain goes down after the matinee performance,' the duke said.

Author: Eliza Redgold

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 9781488004124

Category: Fiction

Page: 281

View: 936

A timeless historical romance, perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton! "Every actress wants to marry a duke!" Every actress, it seems, apart from leading lady Miss Calista Fairmont. And for Darius Carlyle, the Duke of Albury, that poses a challenge he can't resist. So, to prove to his hapless cousin that all actresses are title-hunters, Darius will persuade Calista to assent to his marriage proposal! Calista wants nothing to do with Darius, but when she discovers the compassionate man behind the arrogant duke she also uncovers an attraction that addles her senses... Before long she's considering her own proposal—to become his mistress!
Categories: Fiction

When the Sun Goes Down

When the Sun Goes Down

I'm down to my last fiftyfive bucks.” Gunther went to the kitchen. “Mirna, would you please give Edgar a takeout Thanksgiving dinner?” “Gimmie five minutes,” she said without looking at either of them. She prepared a plate of the dinner ...

Author: Gwynne Forster

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.

ISBN: 9780758285188

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 210

“When the sun goes down on my life, you’ll all come apart like ripped balloons.” When stingy self-made millionaire and widower Leon Farrell dies, he leaves behind a legacy of family dysfunction—and a missing will. It’s soon clear that his three grown children, Edgar, Gunther, and Shirley, don’t handle loss well—the possible loss of a fortune, that is. And when Edgar hires a private investigator to track down the will, it’s just the beginning of a search that will lead the siblings to re-visit their childhoods, uncover buried secrets, and ultimately learn for themselves what it means to be a family... Praise for the Novels of Gwynne Forster “Wise and wonderful as it points out, once again, the importance of honesty and appreciating what you have while you have it.” —Publishers Weekly on A Different Kind of Blues
Categories: Fiction

Let s Do It

Let s Do It

And don't forget for one minute, if Duke goes down, the whole horse show goes right down on a toboggan with him.' In the next issue, Duke himself wrote a letter to DownBeat, ever the cucumber: 'I've had worse reviews by better people .

Author: Bob Stanley

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 9780571320264

Category: Music

Page: 512

View: 521

The prequel to Bob Stanley's universally acclaimed Yeah Yeah Yeah, Let's Do It is the only book that brings together all genres to tell the definitive story of the birth of Pop, from 1900 to the mid-fifties. 'An absolute landmark/joy/gossip-fest/door to Narnia: the history of pop music before rock'n'roll. Fascinating. I can't recommend it enough.' CAITLIN MORAN 'An encyclopaedic introduction to the fascinating and often forgotten creators of Anglo-American hit music in the first half of the Twentieth Century.' NEIL TENNANT 'A masterful achievement.' LENNY KAYE, author of Lightning Striking Pop music didn't begin with the Beatles in 1963, or with Elvis in 1956, or even with the first seven-inch singles in 1949. There was a pre-history that went back to the first recorded music, right back to the turn of the century . . . Who were the earliest record stars, and were they in any meaningful way 'pop stars'? Who were the likes of George Gershwin writing songs for? Why did swing, the hit sound for a decade or more, become almost invisible after the Second World War? The prequel to Bob Stanley's Yeah Yeah Yeah, Let's Do It is the first book to tell the definitive story of the birth of pop, from the invention of the 78 rpm record at the end of the nineteenth century to the beginnings of rock and the modern pop age. Taking in superstars such as Louis Armstrong, Bessie Smith, Duke Ellington and Frank Sinatra alongside the unheralded songwriters and arrangers behind some of our most enduring songs, Stanley paints an aural portrait of pop music's formative years in stunning clarity, uncovering the silver threads and golden needles that bind the form together. Bringing the eclectic, evolving world of early pop to life - from ragtime, blues and jazz to Broadway, country, crooning and beyond - Let's Do It is essential reading for all music lovers. 'I know a lot about popular music - I didn't know half of this.' DAVID HEPWORTH
Categories: Music

The Westminster Review

The Westminster Review

When he is dressed val of a dispatch from the Duke of Wellington , ho goes down to breakfast ; and while descending with the word ' Immediate superscribed on the the stairs he commonly takes occasion to blow envelope .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UGA:32108041390736

Category: Literature, Modern

Page:

View: 676

Categories: Literature, Modern

The London and Westminster Review

The London and Westminster Review

When he is dressed val of a dispatch from the Duke of Wellington , ho goes down to breakfast ; and while descending with the word Immediate superscribed on the the stairs he commonly takes occasion to blow envelope .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCLA:31158011087797

Category: World politics

Page:

View: 763

Categories: World politics

Powers of Detection

Powers of Detection

Duke goes down to oversee the transfer, and one of the prisoners suddenly falls down bleeding and dies. Duke's personal physician checks him over and finds a fresh stab wound in his chest. Only nobody in the room had a sword, ...

Author: Dana Stabenow

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101208526

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 217

Investigations of a Different Kind Conjured from the minds of today’s most innovative authors, Powers of Detection features a dozen tales of mystery and fantasy, set in worlds where sleuths may wield wands instead of firearms—and criminals may be as inhuman as the crimes they commit. From a magical boarding school murder to a courtroom where a witch stands trial, from ancient legends of Alaska and Egypt to stories featuring such familiar faces as Sookie Stackhouse and such familiar places as the Nightside, these paranormal procedurals reveal the mysterious behind the mystery… Includes stories by… Donna Andrews ٠ Michael Armstrong ٠ Anne Bishop ٠ Jay Caselberg ٠ Mike Doogan ٠ Laura Anne Gilman ٠ Simon R. Green ٠ Charlaine Harris ٠ Anne Perry ٠ Sharon Shinn ٠ Dana Stabenow ٠ John Straley “Highly original tales.”—Publishers Weekly “Everyone’s heart is in the right place and, in the best stories, their tongues are firmly in their cheeks.”—Mystery Scene
Categories: Fiction