The Creation of Anne Boleyn

Author: Susan Bordo

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

ISBN: 1780744293

Category: History

Page: 368

View: 7426

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Part biography, part cultural history, The Creation of Anne Boleyn is a fascinating reconstruction of Anne's life and an illuminating look at her afterlife in the popular imagination. Why is Anne so compelling? Why has she inspired such extreme reactions? What did she really even look like?! And perhaps the most provocative questions concern Anne's death more than her life. How could Henry order the execution of a once beloved wife? Drawing on scholarship and popular culture Bordo probes the complexities of one of history's most infamous relationships. In her inimitable, straight-talking style Bordo dares to confront the established histories, stepping off the well-trodden paths of Tudoriana to expertly tease out the human being behind the myths.
Release

Lying in Early Modern English Culture

From the Oath of Supremacy to the Oath of Allegiance

Author: Andrew Hadfield

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0192506595

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 408

View: 4549

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Lying in Early Modern English Culture is a major study of ideas of truth and falsehood in early modern England from the advent of the Reformation to the aftermath of the failed Gunpowder Plot. The period is characterised by panic and chaos when few had any idea how religious, cultural, and social life would develop after the traumatic division of Christendom. While many saw the need for a secular power to define the truth others declared that their allegiances belonged elsewhere. Accordingly there was a constant battle between competing authorities for the right to declare what was the truth and so label opponents as liars. Issues of truth and lying were, therefore, a constant feature of everyday life and determined ideas of individual identity, politics, speech, sex, marriage, and social behaviour, as well as philosophy and religion. This book is a cultural history of truth and lying from the 1530s to the 1610s, showing how lying needs to be understood in action as well as in theory. Unlike most histories of lying, it concentrates on a series of particular events reading them in terms of academic theories and more popular notions of lying. The book covers a wide range of material such as the trials of Ann Boleyn and Thomas More, the divorce of Frances Howard, and the murder of Anthony James by Annis and George Dell; works of literature such as Othello, The Faerie Queene, A Mirror for Magistrates, and The Unfortunate Traveller; works of popular culture such as the herring pamphlet of 1597; and major writings by Castiglione, Montaigne, Erasmus, Luther, and Tyndale.
Release

History, Fiction, and The Tudors

Sex, Politics, Power, and Artistic License in the Showtime Television Series

Author: William B. Robison

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137438835

Category: History

Page: 384

View: 5195

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This is the first book-length study of the award-winning historical drama The Tudors. In this volume twenty distinguished scholars separate documented history, plausible invention, and outright fantasy in a lively series of scholarly, but accessible and engaging essays. The contributors explore topics including Henry VIII, Catherine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, his other wives and family, gender and sex, kingship, the court, religion, and entertainments.
Release

Provocations

A Transnational Reader in the History of Feminist Thought

Author: Susan Bordo

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520264207

Category: History

Page: 608

View: 7142

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The first collection of its kind, Provocations: A Transnational Reader in the History of Feminist Thought is historically organized and transnational in scope, highlighting key ideas, transformative moments, and feminist conversations across national and cultural borders. Emphasizing feminist cross-talk, transnational collaborations and influences, and cultural differences in context, this anthology heralds a new approach to studying feminist history. Provocations includes engaging, historically significant primary sources by writers of many nationalities in numerous genres—from political manifestos to theoretical and cultural analysis to poetry and fiction. These texts range from those of classical antiquity to others composed during the Arab Spring and represent Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, Western Europe, and the United States. Each section begins with an introductory essay that presents central ideas and explores connections among readings, placing them in historical, national, and intellectual contexts and concluding with questions for discussion and reflection.
Release

The Destruction of Hillary Clinton

Author: Susan Bordo

Publisher: Text Publishing

ISBN: 1925603024

Category: Political Science

Page: 252

View: 7283

DOWNLOAD NOW »

• The essential analysis of how and why Hillary Clinton lost the 2016 election by acclaimed cultural critic and historian Susan Bordo • The Destruction of Hillary Clinton offers insightful blow-by-blow analysis of how Clinton—the most well-qualified and experienced candidate ever to run for president—lost to a former reality TV star • Susan Bordo is a hugely respected feminist scholar and philosopher, author of the seminal Pulitzer Prize-nominated Unbearable Weight: Feminism, Western Culture and the Body, and known for her persuasive but accessible writing style • Her most recent book, The Creation of Anne Boleyn, looks at how Anne Boleyn, like Hillary Clinton, has been made out to be scheming, overly ambitious and untrustworthy in popular culture • Will appeal to all those whose hopes were invested in Clinton as the first woman president, and who have been mortified by Trump's catastrophic rise to power • Bordo currently holds the Otis A. Singletary Chair in the Humanities at the University of Kentucky • Will be the subject of a major marketing and publicity campaign from Text that will coincide with US publication
Release

The Literary Gazette

A Weekly Journal of Literature, Science, and the Fine Arts

Author: William Jerdan,William Ring Workman,Frederick Arnold,John Morley,Charles Wycliffe Goodwin

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6153

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait

A Novel

Author: Alison Weir

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 1101966580

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 4965

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The surprising and dramatic life of the least known of King Henry VIII’s wives is illuminated in the fourth volume in the Six Tudor Queens series—for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, and The Crown. Newly widowed and the father of an infant son, Henry VIII realizes he must marry again to ensure the royal succession. Forty-six, overweight, and suffering from gout, Henry is soundly rejected by some of Europe's most eligible princesses. Anna of Kleve, from a small German duchy, is twenty-four, and has a secret she is desperate to keep hidden. Henry commissions her portrait from his court painter, who depicts her from the most flattering perspective. Entranced by the lovely image, Henry is bitterly surprised when Anna arrives in England and he sees her in the flesh. Some think her attractive, but Henry knows he can never love her. What follows is the fascinating story of an awkward royal union that somehow had to be terminated. Even as Henry begins to warm to his new wife and share her bed, his attention is captivated by one of her maids-of-honor. Will he accuse Anna of adultery as he did Queen Anne Boleyn, and send her to the scaffold? Or will he divorce her and send her home in disgrace? Alison Weir takes a fresh and astonishing look at this remarkable royal marriage by describing it from the point of view of Queen Anna, a young woman with hopes and dreams of her own, alone and fearing for her life in a royal court that rejected her almost from the day she set foot on England’s shore.
Release