The Confession A Novel

The Confession  A Novel

It was from Capri that the longer novels, The Spy and this work, The Confession, were written. He was by this time living entirely in the cultured world, thinking earnestly and scientifically to the best of his ability about the ...

Author: Maksim Gorky

Publisher: Prabhat Prakashan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 473

Russia's changes were Gorky's changes. He first flung his type of hero, the people from the lowest of the low—water-rats, tramps, petty thieves—into a discouraged, disappointed and hopeless Russia. It was a Russia that had almost decided that there were no more people, that they were without courage, that the misery and degradation in which they lived was there because of their own inefficiency, their lack of idealism, their incapacity to grasp an idea and to strike and fight for it.
Categories: Fiction

The Confession

The Confession

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who—of Harry, Julie and JP—is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

Author: Jo Spain

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 1683316207

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 855

You find out who did it on the very first page. On the last page, you'll find out why in this expertly plotted, “enthralling” (J. P. Delaney) psychological suspense novel from an internationally bestselling author. Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. And when the man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry, a horror-struck Julie, frozen by fear, watches her husband die. Just one hour later, the attacker, J. P. Carney hands himself into the police and confesses to beating Harry to death. Except he also claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn’t know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, who was just found innocent in a highly sensationalized fraud trial, the detectives cannot help but wonder: Was this really a random act of violence? Was Julie really powerless to stop JP? When Harry’s many sins are unveiled to include corruption, greed, and betrayal, nothing is for sure. This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who—of Harry, Julie and JP—is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game? Brilliant and ice-pick sharp, The Confession is perfect for fans of B. A. Paris and Fiona Barton.
Categories: Fiction

The Novels of Charles Lever The confessions of Con Cregan

The Novels of Charles Lever  The confessions of Con Cregan

And here I may be pardoned for saying that I have been sadly constrained in these my Confessions to avoid , upon the ... In a novel , the world would seem to consist of only the very characters introduced , or rather , the characters ...

Author: Charles Lever

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044090345125

Category:

Page:

View: 766

Categories:

Confession in the Novel

Confession in the Novel

confession that the demands of its own nature as spiritual truth : it can only conduce to a mystery that transcends the novel's frame of reference . Just the same , Dmitri's experience in court undercuts any attempt to elevate ...

Author: Les W. Smith

Publisher: Fairleigh Dickinson Univ Press

ISBN: 0838636462

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 167

View: 274

Contemporary criticism generally neglects the author's role in narrative, a tendency that conflicts with compelling advances in physics that contrarily stress the immediacy of connection in subject-object relations. This book addresses the issue through theoretical elaboration of Bakhtin's concept of author and its application to works in which authors are explicitly concerned with their relations to characters. A heritage of conflict in author-character relations emerges through works by Dostoevsky, Mauriac, O'Connor, and DeLillo, where the issue of a character's freedom from the author's perspective proves essential to understanding narrative form. In the case of all four authors, the novel always asserts the uniqueness of a creative act against the uniqueness of a creative act against traditional or contemporary outlooks that tend to level out distinctions between discursive practices and to homogenize human experience.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Confess

Confess

The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it. To save their relationship, all Owen needs to do is confess.

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781476791463

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 732

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends With Us, a novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies. At age twenty-one, Auburn Reed has already lost everything important to her. In her fight to rebuild her shattered life, she has her goals in sight and there is no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry. For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping a major secret from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it. To save their relationship, all Owen needs to do is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.
Categories: Fiction

Claude s Confession and Other Early Novels of mile Zola

Claude s Confession and Other Early Novels of   mile Zola

she was allowed to confess her sins without being interrupted too much; then she plunged with exquisite delight into the story of her debauch, passing on of her own accord to shameful confessions, and seeming to wallow in her own words, ...

Author: Émile Zola

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: 9788027231713

Category: Fiction

Page: 1300

View: 577

La Confession de Claude (Claude's Confession) was Emile Zola's first novel and his first attempt at what he would later call an "Experimental Novel". Published in Paris in 1865, it was quickly banned in the United States and Great Britain and was not translated into English for several decades. The Dead Woman's Wish The Dead Woman's Wish was first published in 1902. It tells the story of a young orphan Daniel, sponsored by Madame de Rionne who is on her death bed. The Mystery of Marseille A novel Les Mystères de Marseille appeared as a serialized story in 1867. "The Mysteries Marseille" recounts the love of Philippe Cayol, poor, untitled, republican, and of young Blanche de Cazalis, the niece of De Cazalis, a millionaire, politician and all-powerful in Marseille. Philippe's brother, Marius, devotes himself to protecting the two lovers - and the child Blanche gave birth to before entering a convent - from the anger of De Cazalis. Thérèse Raquin Thérèse Raquin is the title of a novel first published in 1867 and a play first performed in 1873. It tells the story of a young woman Thérèse and her lover, Laurent, murder her husband, Camille, but are pursued by guilt in the form of vivid hallucinations. One particularly intense passage describes Laurent's visits to the morgue in search of Camille's corpse. Madeleine Férat Madeleine Férat introduced what was to become one of Zola's central preoccupations, the question of heredity. Contents: Claude's Confession The Dead Woman's Wish The Mystery Of Marseille Therese Raquin Madeleine Ferat Émile Zola (1840–1902) was a French novelist, playwright, journalist, the best-known practitioner of the literary school of naturalism, and an important contributor to the development of theatrical naturalism.
Categories: Fiction

The Novel of Female Adultery

The Novel of Female Adultery

2 Towards the Novel of Female Adultery: Chateaubriand, Constant, Musset, Mérimée The main forerunners of the novel of female adultery in France are the Romantic confession and the narrative of seduction. In a key respect these two forms ...

Author: Bill Overton

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9781349251735

Category: Fiction

Page: 284

View: 385

The novel of adultery is a nineteenth-century form about the experience of women, produced almost exclusively by men. Bill Overton's study is the first to address the gender implications of this form, and the first to write its history. The opening chapter defines the terms 'adultery' and 'novel of adultery', and discusses how the form arose in Continental Europe, but failed to appear in Britain. Successive chapters deal with its development in France, and with examples from Russia, Denmark, Germany, Spain and Portugal.
Categories: Fiction

The Confessions of Nat Turner

The Confessions of Nat Turner

His works, which include the bestseller Sophie's Choice (1979) and the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Confessions of Nat Turner (1967), garnered broad acclaim for their elegant prose and insights into human psychology. Styron's fiction and ...

Author: William Styron

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781936317097

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 538

The “magnificent” Pulitzer Prize–winning and #1 New York Times–bestselling novel about the preacher who led America’s bloodiest slave revolt (The New York Times). The Confessions of Nat Turner is William Styron’s complex and richly drawn imagining of Nat Turner, the leader of the 1831 slave rebellion in Virginia that led to the deaths of almost sixty men, women, and children. Published at the height of the civil rights movement, the novel draws upon the historical Nat Turner’s confession to his attorney, made as he awaited execution in a Virginia jail. This powerful narrative, steeped in the brutal and tragic history of American slavery, reveals a Turner who is neither a hero nor a demon, but rather a man driven to exact vengeance for the centuries of injustice inflicted upon his people. Nat Turner is a galvanizing portrayal of the crushing institution of slavery, and Styron’s deeply layered characterization is a stunning rendering of one man’s violent struggle against oppression. This ebook features a new illustrated biography of William Styron, including original letters, rare photos, and never-before-seen documents from the Styron family and the Duke University Archives.
Categories: Fiction

Confessions of an Undercover Cop The Confessions Series

Confessions of an Undercover Cop  The Confessions Series

A catalogue copy of this book is available from the British Library. This novel is entirely a work of fiction. The names, characters and incidents portrayed in it are the work of the author's imagination. Any resemblance to actual ...

Author: Ash Cameron

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780007515097

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 448

View: 409

The sixth book in the bestselling Confessions series. What is life like for a female Undercover Cop? Ash Cameron gives readers a behind-the-scenes look at life in the Police. Funny, moving and irreverent, you’ll never look at a bobby the same way again...
Categories: Biography & Autobiography