The Children of Lovely Lane

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1784975044

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 9129

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
Release

The Angels of Lovely Lane

A powerful 1950s nursing saga from the Sunday Times bestseller

Author: Nadine Dorries

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN: 178408221X

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 6460

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking, this novel is unputdownable' Sunday Express. It is 1953 and five very different girls are arriving at the nurses' home in Lovely Lane, Liverpool, to start their training at St Angelus Hospital. Dana has escaped from her family farm on the west coast of Ireland. Victoria is running away from a debt-ridden aristocratic background. Beth is an army brat and throws her lot in with bitchy Celia Forsyth. And Pammy has come from quite the wrong side of the tracks in Liverpool. The world in which they now find themselves is complicated and hierarchical, with rules that must be obeyed. Everyone has their place at St Angelus and woe betide anyone who strays from it. But when an unknown girl is admitted, after a botched late abortion in a backstreet kitchen, a tragedy begins to unfold which will rock the world of St Angelus to its foundations. Can't wait for the next one? THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE is out now! What people are saying about THE ANGELS OF LOVELY LANE: 'Nadine Dorries's writing is sparkling and vibrant, her books are a joy to read' 'The book was like a dream – difficult to put down' 'You feel as if you know the characters personally!' 'Enthralling read, can't wait to read more'
Release

Freedom's Port

The African American Community of Baltimore, 1790-1860

Author: Christopher Phillips

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 9780252066184

Category: History

Page: 350

View: 5524

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Children and Cultural Memory in Texts of Childhood

Author: Heather Snell,Lorna Hutchison

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134498705

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 236

View: 676

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The essays in this collection address the relationship between children and cultural memory in texts both for and about young people. The collection overall is concerned with how cultural memory is shaped, contested, forgotten, recovered, and (re)circulated, sometimes in opposition to dominant national narratives, and often for the benefit of young readers who are assumed not to possess any prior cultural memory. From the innovative development of school libraries in the 1920s to the role of utopianism in fixing cultural memory for teen readers, it provides a critical look into children and ideologies of childhood as they are represented in a broad spectrum of texts, including film, poetry, literature, and architecture from Canada, the United States, Japan, Germany, Britain, India, and Spain. These cultural forms collaborate to shape ideas and values, in turn contributing to dominant discourses about national and global citizenship. The essays included in the collection imply that childhood is an oft-imagined idealist construction based in large part on participation, identity, and perception; childhood is invisible and tangible, exciting and intriguing, and at times elusive even as cultural and literary artifacts recreate it. Children and Cultural Memory in Texts of Childhood is a valuable resource for scholars of children’s literature and culture, readers interested in childhood and ideology, and those working in the fields of diaspora and postcolonial studies.
Release

The Rough Guide to Australia

Author: N.A

Publisher: Rough Guides UK

ISBN: 1405388900

Category: Travel

Page: 1024

View: 9461

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Rough Guide to Australia is your indispensable guide to one of the most unmissable countries on earth. Packed with practical information on once-in-a-lifetime experiences in Oz, from sunrise walks around Uluru to viewing Kangaroo Island's wild seals, sea lions, kangaroos and koalas; bush-camping safaris in UNESCO World Heritage-listed Kakadu National Park to exhilarating helicopter flights down the dramatic gorges of Aboriginal-owned Nitmiluk National Park - not forgetting the stunning harbour side bars and restaurants of Sydney. Written by a team of widely-travelled, dedicated authors, this Rough Guide will help you to discover the best hotels, restaurants, cafes, shops and festivals around Australia, whatever your budget. Plus, you'll find expert background on Australia's history, wildlife, cinema and fascinating aboriginal culture and the clearest maps of any guide. Make the most of your trip with The Rough Guide to Australia.
Release

Heaven's Promise (Haunting Hearts Series, Book 2)

Author: Rachel Wilson

Publisher: ePublishing Works!

ISBN: 1614178623

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 4049

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the timeworn pages of a secret diary lies the dark mystery of a woman's soul... and the shining destiny of a woman's heart. It's 1895, forty years since Susanna Clement's great-aunt disappeared, leaving only a mysterious diary as her legacy, and much to Susanna's annoyance, Julian Kittrick--a dashing, care-for-nothing newspaperman--is creating new scandal out of old stories. But when the ghost of her great-aunt's beloved fiancé begins making trouble, and memories of her dearly departed ancestor invade Susanna's dreams, she reluctantly teams up with Julian to free a spirit trapped on earth--and a love waiting to be born. HAUNTING HEARTS SERIES, in order Restless Souls Heaven's Promise Bittersweet Summer Spirit of Love
Release

Catalog of Copyright Entries. Third Series

1963: July-December

Author: Library of Congress. Copyright Office

Publisher: Copyright Office, Library of Congress

ISBN: N.A

Category: Copyright

Page: 1272

View: 6551

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Includes Part 1, Number 2: Books and Pamphlets, Including Serials and Contributions to Periodicals July - December)
Release