Heal Yourself with Qigong

Heal Yourself with Qigong

Healing Sound: To Purge Grief and Sadness All of us have experienced grief and sadness in our lives. ... Sadness, which is said to be stored in the lungs, has the most direct effect on our breathing of any emotion. The way we breathe ...

Author: Suzanne B. Freidman

Publisher: New Harbinger Publications

ISBN: 9781572245839

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 210

View: 819

In Heal Yourself with Qigong, acupuncturist and qigong expert Suzanne Friedman presents traditional Chinese energy techniques that renew energy and vitality, soothe the spirit, and calm the mind.
Categories: Health & Fitness

Poetical Works

Poetical Works

... To the rose a colouring not its own , To the breath of the myrtle a mournful powerSadness and Mirth ! ye had each your dower ! ... The incense , the sunshine - but , Sadness ! thy part , Deepest of all , was the victor's heart !

Author: Mrs. Hemans

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HN3192

Category:

Page: 614

View: 217

Categories:

Sacred World

Sacred World

On the in - breath , open yourself to admit the pain and sadness of the world . Allow into your being the suffering , anxiety , stress , and darkness of all those trapped in the setting - sun world . Let yourself feel the sadness of all ...

Author: Jeremy Hayward

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 0712672400

Category: Buddhism

Page: 262

View: 111

In Sacred World, Hayward provides step-by-step instructions in Shambhala warriorship, the Tibetan Buddhist path to personal and community transformation.
Categories: Buddhism

Conversations with Plants

Conversations with Plants

Self-esteem on the positive side, or the lack of it, which leads to sadness and depression. The action of the breath is our most basic and immediate interaction with the world. This also allows the process of taking in and letting go.

Author: Nikki Darrell

Publisher: Aeon Books

ISBN: 9781912807437

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 320

View: 142

In some parts of the world, plant medicine is still taught at the kitchen table, by the cooking fire, or in the fields, passed down from parent to child and woven through the fabric of the culture. In many places it has been severely eroded, but it has not been lost. This book helps us reclaim and restore a hugely important part of our heritage: our plant medicine path. Conversations with Plants reminds us of the intimate bond that has always existed between people and plants and encourages us to bring them back into our daily lives. It includes instructions on how to develop these connections by using essential oils, gardening and growing herbs, medicine making and gathering wild food. It is an invitation to step into your own relationship with plants - their stories and meanings - feel into their medicine and understand how to work with them by bringing your own medicine into the conversation. It is for practitioners, students, and anyone wishing to deepen their knowledge of the green world.
Categories: Health & Fitness

Fifty Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

Fifty Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

I can feel it between my ribs, rising and falling rhythmically with his breath. Sadness is awake. Sadness is not like Anger. He doesn't sleep. He's always alive and alert inside me, blue and solid, but sometimes he's the size and shape ...

Author: Caela Carter

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062996657

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 909

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a moving own-voices story that shines a light on how one girl’s learning differences are neither right nor wrong…just perfectly individual. For fans of Alyson Gerber, Cammie McGovern, and Kathryn Erskine. No one can figure out what Gwendolyn Rogers’s problem is—not her mom, or her teachers, or any of the many therapists she’s seen. But Gwendolyn knows she doesn’t have just one thing wrong with her: she has fifty-four. At least, according to a confidential school report (that she read because she is #16. Sneaky, not to mention #13. Impulsive). So Gwendolyn needs a plan, because if she doesn’t get these fifty-four things under control, she’s not going to be able to go to horse camp this summer with her half-brother, Tyler. But Tyler can’t help her because there’s only one thing “wrong” with him: ADHD. And her best friend Hettie can’t help her because there’s nothing wrong with Hettie. She’s perfect. So Gwendolyn is hopeless until she remembers the one thing that helped her mother when her own life was out of control. Or actually, the twelve things. Can these Twelve Steps that cured her mother somehow cure Gwendolyn too?
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Agents of Peace

Agents of Peace

He awoke in an empty sadness, which seemed to permeate his very marrow. Holding to the breath he trudged through the motions of the day. His friends thought him depressed. Marvin even asked him if he had always been prone to fits of ...

Author: Joseph Naft

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595094158

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 629

Agents of Peace presents a journey of spiritual discovery, fusing ancient practices and modern problems. Corrado Borsini, a successful businessman, recently divorced by his wife and shaken by the death of his father, launches into a search for meaning. He finds it in the person of Elizabeth Rikovic and the international Peace Group, which applies spiritual practices and principles in responding to crime, war, and environmental devastation around the world. Corrado, ever the skeptic, enters a Peace Group training center near Konya, Turkey to learn sacred disciplines (Buddhist, Sufi and Christian) which bring him into the depths of his soul. In the company of close friends and a troubled new relationship, Corrado undergoes a sometimes wrenching inner transformation that opens him to a new life. He experiences the drama and excitement of the path to the sacred and its interplay with everyday life. The minds and hearts of his Peace Group teachers and colleagues unveil the subtleties of spiritual practice and the impact of personal crises.
Categories: Fiction

Innovative Skills to Support Well Being and Resiliency in Youth

Innovative Skills to Support Well Being and Resiliency in Youth

Learning to use the breath in the ways discussed here is complicated by the fact that the easy, smooth inhales and exhales we experienced as infants have been interrupted by experiences of stress, anxiety, sadness, trauma, ...

Author: Nicole Nicotera

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190657116

Category: Social Science

Page: 176

View: 432

Innovative Skills to Support Well-Being and Resiliency in Youth emphasizes the step-by-step procedures readers will need to implement evidence-based, innovative techniques and skills that emphasize well-being and resilience in youth. The strategies are specifically chosen to capture and hold the interest of youth who are often reticent to counseling. Furthermore, the skills-based approach of the book aims to demystify what one actually does in session with youth by moving away from the vagueness of talk therapy when youth have nothing to say, and toward sessions that engage youth in action, stimulating communication and change. Innovative Skills to Support Well-Being and Resiliency in Youth also advocates for practice interventions that empower youth to be in charge of their personal well-being and the healing process. By doing so, youth can take an active role in their own healthy functioning, as opposed to passively receiving treatment.
Categories: Social Science

Cut flowers

Cut flowers

Many a heart is pining ; And many a darkened home Whose star has been declining - Longs for thy tuneful voice , To breathe of hope and gladness , To bid the soul rejoice That hath known but grief and sadness . 156 THE BREATH OF SPRING .

Author: Dolly Ellen Goodman Shepard

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:$B29236

Category:

Page: 180

View: 648

Categories:

Materia Medica

Materia Medica

Sad , especially in the evening . 2 3 . Sad and troubled , most of all when walking in the open air . 3 4 . Very sad with unusual ... If he only thinks of his past troubles , his pulse is quickened and his breath fails him . 11 12.

Author: Samuel Hahnemann

Publisher: B. Jain Publishers

ISBN: 8180560309

Category: Medical

Page: 1132

View: 353

Homoeopathy today has developed a beautiful orchid which is disseminating its sweets fragrance and freshness to the whole of world by healing all living beings in a rapid, gentle and permanent way.
Categories: Medical