The Bookshop Book

The Bookshop Book

April 2021 It warms my heart to be writing this introductory note to the paperback edition of The Bookshop Book. This love-letter-book of mine was first published seven years ago, when I was working in an antiquarian bookshop in North ...

Author: Jen Campbell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781472116703

Category: Humor

Page: 288

View: 912

Every bookshop has a story We're not talking about rooms that are just full of books. We're talking about bookshops in barns, disused factories, converted churches and underground car parks. Bookshops on boats, on buses, and in old run-down train stations. Fold-out bookshops, undercover bookshops, this-is-the-best-place-I've-ever-been-to-bookshops. Meet Sarah and her Book Barge sailing across the sea to France; meet Sebastien, in Mongolia, who sells books to herders of the Altai mountains; meet the bookshop in Canada that's invented the world's first antiquarian book vending machine. And that's just the beginning. From the oldest bookshop in the world, to the smallest you could imagine, The Bookshop Book examines the history of books, talks to authors about their favourite places, and looks at over three hundred weirdly wonderful bookshops across six continents (sadly, we've yet to build a bookshop down in the South Pole). The Bookshop Book is a love letter to bookshops all around the world. 'A good bookshop is not just about selling books from shelves, but reaching out into the world and making a difference' David Almond (The Bookshop Book includes interviews and quotes from David Almond, Ian Rankin, Tracy Chevalier, Audrey Niffenegger, Jacqueline Wilson, Jeanette Winterson and many, many others.)
Categories: Humor

Summary of Jen Campbell s The Bookshop Book

Summary of Jen Campbell s The Bookshop Book

Ripping Yarns is a second-hand bookshop that specializes in books about women and their history. It is one of the last remaining treasure troves of bookshops, and it is always an adventure to visit and come home with books I love.

Author: Everest Media,

Publisher: Everest Media LLC

ISBN: 9781669373599

Category: Humor

Page:

View: 731

Please note: This is a companion version & not the original book. Sample Book Insights: #1 Bookshops are full of stories. The stories of bookshop owners, and all the books they read that made them fall in love with reading. The stories of authors, and why they wrote their first book. The stories of customers who walk through the door. #2 The book industry has changed a lot over the past few centuries. Bookshops are closing due to increased rents, business rates, and retail giants undercutting prices. But bookshops are still relevant because so much of our lives is spent on computers, and the idea of a shopping experience is more important than ever before. #3 Bookshops are still relevant today. They are magical places that instill a sense of wonder and adventure in children, and they offer a haven in a busy world for us to stop and think.
Categories: Humor

The Bookseller and Newsman

The Bookseller and Newsman

He is exceedingly fond of good Central , you may go by boat , at a round trip charge books and very few men have read ... while a ride by these conveyances will cost a little bookshop , and without waiting for the flies to settle on him ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433000305064

Category:

Page:

View: 247

Categories:

The Bookshop

The Bookshop

Includes three novels: "The Bookshop," about a bookstore owner bothered by hostile townsfolk, "The Gates of Angels," an Edwardian romance, and "The Blue Flower," about the fictionalized relationship between German poet, Novalis and his true ...

Author: Penelope Fitzgerald

Publisher: Everyman's Library

ISBN: 9781400041268

Category: Fiction

Page: 472

View: 203

Includes three novels: "The Bookshop," about a bookstore owner bothered by hostile townsfolk, "The Gates of Angels," an Edwardian romance, and "The Blue Flower," about the fictionalized relationship between German poet, Novalis and his true love.
Categories: Fiction

The Bookseller

The Bookseller

The competition was Colchester Bookshop , 47 Head Street , ceeded at the Bath University branch judged by local author , Phil Drackett Colchester , Essex ; Foster's Book by Jane Adams , formerly the deputy ( Inns and Harbours of North ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3312314

Category: Bibliography

Page: 936

View: 227

Categories: Bibliography

The Bookshop of Second Chances

The Bookshop of Second Chances

An enchanting story of Scottish lords, second-hand books, new beginnings and second chances perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Veronica Henry, Rachael Lucas and Jenny Colgan. 'How much do I love this book? So, so much.

Author: Jackie Fraser

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781471196263

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 603

Set in a charming little Scottish town, The Bookshop of Second Chances is an uplifting story of fresh starts and new beginnings by a hugely talented debut author. Thea’s having a bad month. Not only has she been made redundant, she’s also discovered her husband of nearly twenty years is sleeping with one of her friends. And he’s not sorry – he’s leaving. Bewildered and lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But, when she learns the great-uncle she barely knew has died and left her his huge collection of second-hand books and a house in the Scottish Lowlands, she seems to have been offered a second chance. Running away to a little town where no one knows her seems like exactly what Thea needs. But when she meets the aristocratic Maltravers brothers – grumpy bookshop owner Edward and his estranged brother Charles, Lord Hollinshaw – her new life quickly becomes just as complicated as the life she was running from... An enchanting story of Scottish lords, second-hand books, new beginnings and second chances perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Veronica Henry, Rachel Lucas and Jenny Colgan. 'How much do I love this book? So, so much. Refreshing and romantic, it's an absolute cracker!' HEIDI SWAIN, Sunday Times bestselling author 'A gorgeous, tip-top, pitch-perfect romantic read - I loved it!' RACHEL HORE, Sunday Times bestselling author 'The Bookshop of Second Chances has lifted my heart more than anything I’ve read for a very long time. It’s funny, clever, well written, warm, joyful and comforting. I could rave about it all day!' IONA GREY, bestselling author of Letters to the Lost 'An escapist romance that glows with warmth! I loved it.' CARMEL HARRINGTON, bestselling author of A Thousand Roads Home 'A real winner with so much heart and a wonderfully relatable heroine.' CHRISTINA PISHIRIS, author of Love Songs for Sceptics
Categories: Fiction

The Bookseller and the Stationery Trades Journal

The Bookseller and the Stationery Trades  Journal

DEATH OF AN OLD MANCHESTER BOOKSELLER . His THIRTY to forty years ago , the travellers of the London publishers were accustomed to call upon William Ardrey , who owned a large stock of books in Market Street , Manchester . educational ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112081497429

Category: Bibliography

Page: 1708

View: 518

Official organ of the book trade of the United Kingdom.
Categories: Bibliography

Sheppard s Book Dealers in the British Isles

Sheppard s Book Dealers in the British Isles

84 327 115 125 103 116 195 125 266 221 96 268 313 237 290 280 150 2754 Talisman Books , Cheshire Tel : ( 061 ) 449-9271 . Talisman Booksearch , Scotland Tel : ( 056 73 ) 238 . Tall Storeys Bookshop , East Sussex Tel : ( 0273 ) 697381 .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015023709937

Category: Antiquarian booksellers

Page:

View: 291

Categories: Antiquarian booksellers

The Bookseller

The Bookseller

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015036931163

Category: Bibliography

Page: 806

View: 491

Vols. for 1871-76, 1913-14 include an extra number, The Christmas bookseller, separately paged and not included in the consecutive numbering of the regular series.
Categories: Bibliography

The Bookshop at Water s End

The Bookshop at Water s End

The women who spent their childhood summers in a small southern town discover it harbors secrets as lush as the marshes that surround it.

Author: Patti Callahan Henry

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780399583124

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 279

The women who spent their childhood summers in a small southern town discover it harbors secrets as lush as the marshes that surround it... Bonny Blankenship’s most treasured memories are of idyllic summers spent in Watersend, South Carolina, with her best friend, Lainey McKay. Amid the sand dunes and oak trees draped with Spanish moss, they swam and wished for happy-ever-afters, then escaped to the local bookshop to read and whisper in the glorious cool silence. Until the night that changed everything, the night that Lainey’s mother disappeared. Now, in her early fifties, Bonny is desperate to clear her head after a tragic mistake threatens her career as an emergency room doctor, and her marriage crumbles around her. With her troubled teenage daughter, Piper, in tow, she goes back to the beloved river house, where she is soon joined by Lainey and her two young children. During lazy summer days and magical nights, they reunite with bookshop owner Mimi, who is tangled with the past and its mysteries. As the three women cling to a fragile peace, buried secrets and long ago loves return like the tide. READERS GUIDE INSIDE
Categories: Fiction