The Bone Clocks

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1848945043

Category: Fiction

Page: 608

View: 8723

DOWNLOAD NOW »

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2014 One drowsy summer's day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who offers a small kindness in exchange for 'asylum'. Decades will pass before Holly understands exactly what sort of asylum the woman was seeking . . . The Bone Clocks follows the twists and turns of Holly's life from a scarred adolescence in Gravesend to old age on Ireland's Atlantic coast as Europe's oil supply dries up - a life not so far out of the ordinary, yet punctuated by flashes of precognition, visits from people who emerge from thin air and brief lapses in the laws of reality. For Holly Sykes - daughter, sister, mother, guardian - is also an unwitting player in a murderous feud played out in the shadows and margins of our world, and may prove to be its decisive weapon. Metaphysical thriller, meditation on mortality and chronicle of our self-devouring times, this kaleidoscopic novel crackles with the invention and wit that have made David Mitchell one of the most celebrated writers of his generation. Here is fiction at its most spellbinding and memorable best.
Release

The Bone Clocks: A Novel by David Mitchell (Trivia-On-Books)

Author: Trivion Books

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Study Aids

Page: N.A

View: 2237

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Trivia-on-Book: The Bone Clocks: A Novel by David Mitchell Take the challenge yourself and share it with friends and family for a time of fun! David Mitchell is a writer who can take a fairly simple story – following a woman's life – and turn it on its head. "The Bone Clocks", on its face, is a story of a woman as she goes through various phases of her life. And yet, there is so much more to it. Her life and the battle that happens around her, is what David Mitchell is really writing about. What we have here is a story of good versus evil and how one woman's actions can send ripples through time, all the way down to her ancestors. You may have read the book, but not have liked it. You may have liked the book, but not be a fan. You may call yourself a fan, but few truly are. Are you a fan? Trivia-on-Books is an independently curated trivia quiz on the book for readers, students, and fans alike. Whether you're looking for new materials to the book or would like to take the challenge yourself and share it with your friends and family for a time of fun, Trivia-on-Books provides a unique approach to The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell that is both insightful and educational! Features You'll Find Inside: • 30 Multiple choice questions on the book, plots, characters and author • Insightful commentary to answer every question • Complementary quiz material for yourself or your reading group • Results provided with scores to determine "status" Promising quality and value, come play your trivia of a favorite book!
Release

Summary of the Bone Clocks: A Novel: Trivia/Quiz for Fans

Author: Whizbooks

Publisher: Blurb

ISBN: 9781518423734

Category: Reference

Page: 86

View: 416

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Summary of The Bone Clocks: A Novel by David Mitchell: Trivia/Quiz for Fans Features You'll Discover Inside: - A comprehensive guide to aid in discussion and discovery - 30 multiple choice questions on the book, plots, characters, and author - Insightful resource for teachers, groups, or individuals - Keep track of scores with results to determine "fan status" - Share with other book fans and readers for mutual enjoyment Disclaimer: This is an unofficial summary, analysis and trivia book to enhance a reader's experience to books they already love and appreciate. We encourage our readers to purchase the original book first before downloading this companion book for your enjoyment.
Release

The Bone Clocks

Author: David Stephen Mitchell

Publisher: Clipper Audio

ISBN: 9781471282621

Category: Audiobooks

Page: N.A

View: 2325

DOWNLOAD NOW »

One summer's day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who offers a small kindness in exchange for 'asylum'. Decades will pass before Holly understands what sort of asylum the woman was seeking... The Bone Clocks follows Holly's life: not so far out of the ordinary, yet punctuated by flashes of precognition, visits from people who emerge from thin air and brief lapses in the laws of reality.
Release

A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell

Author: Patrick O'Donnell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1441116133

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 240

View: 5759

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Having emerged as one the leading contemporary British writers, David Mitchell is rapidly taking his place amongst British novelists with the gravitas of an Ishiguro or a McEwan. Written for a wide constituency of readers of contemporary literature, A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell explores Mitchell's main concerns-including those of identity, history, language, imperialism, childhood, the environment, and ethnicity-across the six novels published so far, as well as his protean ability to write in multiple and diverse genres. It places Mitchell in the tradition of Murakami, Sebald, and Rushdie-writers whose works explore narrative in an age of globalization and cosmopolitanism. Patrick O'Donnell traces the through-lines of Mitchell's work from ghostwritten to The Bone Clocks and, with a chapter on each of the six novels, charts the evolution of Mitchell's fictional project.
Release

David Mitchell

Contemporary Critical Perspectives

Author: Wendy Knepper,Courtney Hopf

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1474262120

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 208

View: 2184

DOWNLOAD NOW »

David Mitchell is one of the most critically acclaimed authors in contemporary global writing. Novels such as Ghostwritten, Cloud Atlas and The Bone Clocks demonstrate the author's dazzling literary technique in an oeuvre that crosses genres, genders and borders, moving effortlessly through time and space. David Mitchell: Contemporary Critical Perspectives brings together leading scholars of contemporary fiction to guide readers through the full range of the author's writings, including discussions of all of his novels to-date plus his shorter fictions, essays and libretti. As well as offering extended coverage of Mitchell's most popular work, Cloud Atlas, the authors explore Mitchell's genre-hopping techniques, world-making aesthetics, and engagements with key contemporary issues such as globalization, empire, the environment, disability, trauma and technology. In addition, this book includes an expansive interview with David Mitchell as well as a guide to further reading to help students and readers alike explore the works of this tremendously inventive writer.
Release

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1848945035

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 4426

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Sunday Times Number One Bestseller, from the author of CLOUD ATLAS and THE BONE CLOCKS. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2010 Be transported to a place like no other: a tiny, man-made island in the bay of Nagasaki, for two hundred years the sole gateway between Japan and the West. Here, in the dying days of the 18th-century, a young Dutch clerk arrives to make his fortune. Instead he loses his heart. Step onto the streets of Dejima and mingle with scheming traders, spies, interpreters, servants and concubines as two cultures converge. In a tale of integrity and corruption, passion and power, the key is control - of riches and minds, and over death itself.
Release

Ghostwritten

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 0307426025

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 1104

DOWNLOAD NOW »

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas A gallery attendant at the Hermitage. A young jazz buff in Tokyo. A crooked British lawyer in Hong Kong. A disc jockey in Manhattan. A physicist in Ireland. An elderly woman running a tea shack in rural China. A cult-controlled terrorist in Okinawa. A musician in London. A transmigrating spirit in Mongolia. What is the common thread of coincidence or destiny that connects the lives of these nine souls in nine far-flung countries, stretching across the globe from east to west? What pattern do their linked fates form through time and space? A writer of pyrotechnic virtuosity and profound compassion, a mind to which nothing human is alien, David Mitchell spins genres, cultures, and ideas like gossamer threads around and through these nine linked stories. Many forces bind these lives, but at root all involve the same universal longing for connection and transcendence, an axis of commonality that leads in two directions—to creation and to destruction. In the end, as lives converge with a fearful symmetry, Ghostwritten comes full circle, to a point at which a familiar idea—that whether the planet is vast or small is merely a matter of perspective—strikes home with the force of a new revelation. It marks the debut of a writer of astonishing gifts.
Release

number9dream

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844568849

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 343

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2001 The second novel from the critically-acclaimed author of GHOSTWRITTEN and CLOUD ATLAS. As Eiji Miyake's twentieth birthday nears, he arrives in Tokyo with a mission - to locate the father he has never met. So begins a search that takes him into the seething city's underworld, its lost property offices and video arcades, and on a journey that zigzags from reality to the realm of dreams. But until Eiji has fallen in love and exorcised his childhood demons, the belonging he craves will remain, tantalizingly, just beyond his grasp.
Release