The Bone Clocks

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1848945043

Category: Fiction

Page: 608

View: 5109

DOWNLOAD NOW »

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2014 One drowsy summer's day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who offers a small kindness in exchange for 'asylum'. Decades will pass before Holly understands exactly what sort of asylum the woman was seeking . . . The Bone Clocks follows the twists and turns of Holly's life from a scarred adolescence in Gravesend to old age on Ireland's Atlantic coast as Europe's oil supply dries up - a life not so far out of the ordinary, yet punctuated by flashes of precognition, visits from people who emerge from thin air and brief lapses in the laws of reality. For Holly Sykes - daughter, sister, mother, guardian - is also an unwitting player in a murderous feud played out in the shadows and margins of our world, and may prove to be its decisive weapon. Metaphysical thriller, meditation on mortality and chronicle of our self-devouring times, this kaleidoscopic novel crackles with the invention and wit that have made David Mitchell one of the most celebrated writers of his generation. Here is fiction at its most spellbinding and memorable best.
Release

The Bone Clocks: A Novel by David Mitchell (Trivia-On-Books)

Author: Trivion Books

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Study Aids

Page: N.A

View: 5627

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Trivia-on-Book: The Bone Clocks: A Novel by David Mitchell Take the challenge yourself and share it with friends and family for a time of fun! David Mitchell is a writer who can take a fairly simple story – following a woman's life – and turn it on its head. "The Bone Clocks", on its face, is a story of a woman as she goes through various phases of her life. And yet, there is so much more to it. Her life and the battle that happens around her, is what David Mitchell is really writing about. What we have here is a story of good versus evil and how one woman's actions can send ripples through time, all the way down to her ancestors. You may have read the book, but not have liked it. You may have liked the book, but not be a fan. You may call yourself a fan, but few truly are. Are you a fan? Trivia-on-Books is an independently curated trivia quiz on the book for readers, students, and fans alike. Whether you're looking for new materials to the book or would like to take the challenge yourself and share it with your friends and family for a time of fun, Trivia-on-Books provides a unique approach to The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell that is both insightful and educational! Features You'll Find Inside: • 30 Multiple choice questions on the book, plots, characters and author • Insightful commentary to answer every question • Complementary quiz material for yourself or your reading group • Results provided with scores to determine "status" Promising quality and value, come play your trivia of a favorite book!
Release

The Bone Clocks

Author: David Stephen Mitchell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781410476012

Category: Fiction

Page: 829

View: 9393

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Interweaves six narratives spanning the period between 1984 and the 2030s to chronicle a secret war between a cult of soul-decanters and a small group of vigilantes who would take them down. (science fiction). By the award-winning author of Cloud Atlas.
Release

A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell

Author: Patrick O'Donnell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1441116133

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 240

View: 8934

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Having emerged as one the leading contemporary British writers, David Mitchell is rapidly taking his place amongst British novelists with the gravitas of an Ishiguro or a McEwan. Written for a wide constituency of readers of contemporary literature, A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell explores Mitchell's main concerns-including those of identity, history, language, imperialism, childhood, the environment, and ethnicity-across the six novels published so far, as well as his protean ability to write in multiple and diverse genres. It places Mitchell in the tradition of Murakami, Sebald, and Rushdie-writers whose works explore narrative in an age of globalization and cosmopolitanism. Patrick O'Donnell traces the through-lines of Mitchell's work from ghostwritten to The Bone Clocks and, with a chapter on each of the six novels, charts the evolution of Mitchell's fictional project.
Release

David Mitchell

Contemporary Critical Perspectives

Author: Wendy Knepper,Courtney Hopf

Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic

ISBN: 9781474262101

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 208

View: 4282

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Since the publication of his first novel Ghostwritten in 1999, David Mitchell has rapidly established himself as one of the most important and original novelists of the 21st-century. David Mitchell: Contemporary Critical Perspectives brings together leading scholars of contemporary fiction to guide readers through the full range of the author's writings, from his major novels such as Cloud Atlas, Number9dream and The Bone Clocks, to his shorter pieces and his libretti. As well as exploring Mitchell's genre-hopping techniques and his engagement with key contemporary issues such as globalization, the environment and gender, the book also includes coverage of the film adaptation of Cloud Atlas. The volume includes an interview with David Mitchell as well as annotated guides to further reading and online resources to help students and readers alike explore the works of this dazzlingly inventive writer.
Release

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1848945035

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 1043

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Sunday Times Number One Bestseller, from the author of CLOUD ATLAS and THE BONE CLOCKS. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2010 Be transported to a place like no other: a tiny, man-made island in the bay of Nagasaki, for two hundred years the sole gateway between Japan and the West. Here, in the dying days of the 18th-century, a young Dutch clerk arrives to make his fortune. Instead he loses his heart. Step onto the streets of Dejima and mingle with scheming traders, spies, interpreters, servants and concubines as two cultures converge. In a tale of integrity and corruption, passion and power, the key is control - of riches and minds, and over death itself.
Release

Ghostwritten

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844568830

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 4601

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Winner of the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. A magnificent achievement and an engrossing experience, David Mitchell's first novel announced the arrival of one of the most exciting writers of the twenty-first century. An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what links him to a jazz buff in downtown Tokyo? Or to a Mongolian gangster, a woman on a holy mountain who talks to a tree, and a late night New York DJ? Set at the fugitive edges of Asia and Europe, Ghostwritten weaves together a host of characters, their interconnected destinies determined by the inescapable forces of cause and effect.
Release

Cloud Atlas

A Novel

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9780307483041

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 520

DOWNLOAD NOW »

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks • Now a major motion picture • Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize Includes a new Afterword by David Mitchell A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for Cloud Atlas “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World
Release