The Girl in The Tower

(Winternight Trilogy)

Author: Katherine Arden

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473528062

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 1535

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic. . . The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile bandits roam the countryside, burning the villages and kidnapping its daughters. Setting out to defeat the raiders, the Prince and his trusted companion come across a young man riding a magnificent horse. Only Sasha, a priest with a warrior's training, recognises this 'boy' as his younger sister, thought to be dead or a witch by her village. But when Vasya proves herself in battle, riding with remarkable skill and inexplicable power, Sasha realises he must keep her secret as she may be the only way to save the city from threats both human and fantastical. . . A spellbinding fairytale full of magic and wonder, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. *Make sure you've read all the books in the Winternight Trilogy* 1. The Bear and the Nightingale 2. The Girl in the Tower 3. The Winter of the Witch
Release

The Bear and The Nightingale

(Winternight Trilogy)

Author: Katherine Arden

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473528054

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 7639

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Beware the evil in the woods. . . In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church. But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods. . . Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. ***** Now with over 100 5* reviews, readers are spellbound by this magical story: 'This book stayed with me, I didn't want it to end' 'A beautifully written story' 'An entrancing story, which swept me up from the very first chapter' 'Full of magic' *Make sure you've read all the books in the Winternight Trilogy* 1. The Bear and the Nightingale 2. The Girl in the Tower 3. The Winter of the Witch
Release

The Winter of the Witch

Author: Katherine Arden

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473560969

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 7901

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. One girl can make a difference... Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers – and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders. But she may not be able to save them all. 'heart-stoppingly good...beautifully written, this adventure shimmers and shines with magic of all kinds. Unmissable.' Sunday Express 'If you're a lover of fairytales you are in for an absolute treat. It's truly magical' The Pool 'Katherine Arden’s Winternight Trilogy isn’t just good—it’s hug-to-your-chest, straight-to-the-favourites-shelf, reread-immediately good, and each book just gets better. 'Laini Taylor
Release

The Environmental Tradition

Studies in the architecture of environment

Author: Dr Dean Hawkes,Dean Hawkes

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 1136741089

Category: Architecture

Page: 214

View: 961

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This text brings together a unique collection of writing by a leading researcher and critic which outlines the evolution of the environmental dimension of architectural theory and practice in the past twenty-five years. It deals with the transformation of the environmental design field which was brought about by the growth of energy awareness in the 1970s and 1980s, and places environmental issues in the broader theoretical and historical context in architecture.
Release

NICEM Index to Nonprint Special Education Materials, Multimedia Learner Volume

Contains a Portion of the NICEM Data Base Developed at the University of Southern California, Includes 33,558 Abstracts of Materials Appropriate for Use with Exceptional Learners

Author: National Information Center for Special Education Materials

Publisher: National Information Center for Special Education Materials

ISBN: N.A

Category: Audio-visual materials

Page: 1006

View: 1121

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

The Works of Robert Burns

With a Series of Authentic Pictorial Illustrations, Marginal Glossary, Numerous Notes, and Appendixes: Also the Life of Burns

Author: Robert Burns,Charles Annandale,Thomas Carlyle,John Wilson,John Gibon Lockhart

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6880

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release