The Apple of her Eye

The tragedy of war unites two London families

Author: Pamela Evans

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472219295

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 5994

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Two families face the aftermath of war, and the promise of new love. Pam Evans' family saga, The Apple of Her Eye, brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds love and purpose. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' - Bolton News It is 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then tragedy strikes when the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit. April and her brother do all they can to help their grieving mother and, by tending her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables. Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is facing the fact that her husband may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and April's supply of home-grown vegetables couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye... What readers are saying about The Apple of Her Eye: 'An excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed. If you enjoy books filled with personalities, and story-lines which not only entertain but take you on a journey back in time when history was being made, this certainly is the book for you' 'Incredibly heartwarming story, I loved it all the way through. Pamela Evans you have done it again'
Release

Congressional Record

Proceedings and Debates of the ... Congress

Author: United States. Congress

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law

Page: N.A

View: 5373

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873. Debates for sessions prior to 1873 are recorded in The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873)
Release

To be Continued

An Annotated Guide to Sequels

Author: Merle Jacob,Hope Apple

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9781573561556

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 465

View: 8761

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Adds 1,600 new books and 400 new series, maintaining the first volume's successful formula.
Release

St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost & Gothic Writers

Author: David Pringle

Publisher: St James Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 746

View: 2702

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Provides background information and a critical evaluation of authors of horror, ghost and gothic fiction, and lists each author's works in these fields and in other genres.
Release