Take this Woman

A moving and utterly compelling coming-of-age saga

Author: Josephine Cox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755384563

Category: Fiction

Page: 483

View: 1039

DOWNLOAD NOW »

After growing up in bitterness, can she overcome past events to find the happiness she deserves? Take This Woman is a powerful saga about learning to put your past behind you in the pursuit of happiness, from bestselling author Josephine Cox. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale. Blackburn, 1947. In the tiny front parlour fourteen-year-old Laura Blake watches her beloved father die. But not before he tells her she will make something of her life. Laura never forgets his words. Yet her path to success proves to be a rocky one. Forced to trundle a cart around the back streets, selling other folk's cast-offs to support her family, Laura learns enough to start work in her uncle's furniture shop. But then fate deals another cruel blow when Laura is brutally raped. Bearing the child of her attacker in secret, she vows to make the world pay for its injustice towards her. As she grows older her protective shell hardens even as her beauty blossoms, and her new toughness helps her forge a successful career in the antiques business. But it is in affairs of the heart that Laura stumbles, and before she can find fulfilment, she must learn to put the past behind her, and give as well as take. What readers are saying about Take This Woman: 'Has you gripped from first page onwards. You get lost in amongst the characters, feeling like you are there with them every inch of the way' 'The story was full of twists and turns. I found it difficult to put down, reading well into the night sometimes! Brilliant' 'Loved it. Fantastic read and very exciting'
Release

Library Journal

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 4908

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.
Release

Time Out Film Guide

Author: John Pym

Publisher: Time Out Publishing

ISBN: 9780140294149

Category: Motion pictures

Page: 1592

View: 8667

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This is an aphabetical critical guide to films, based on Time-Out reviews since the mid-1980s. It covers every area of world cinema, including: classic silents and 1930s comedies, documentaries and the avant garde, French or Japanese, the Hollywood mainstream and B-movie horrors. Features include cast lists and other key creative personnel, more than 110 obituary notes from 2001/2002 and indexes covering film by country, genre, subject, director and actor. This new edition includes a new Time Out readers' top 100 film poll, plus 2001/2002 Oscar and BAFTA awards, as well as prizes from the Berlin, Venice and Cannes festivals.
Release

Time

Author: Briton Hadden,Henry Robinson Luce

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3420

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release