A Christmas Grace (Christmas Novella 6)

A festive mystery set in rugged western Ireland

Author: Anne Perry

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755382811

Category: Fiction

Page: 95

View: 4897

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Some people will do anything to keep their secrets safe... In the sixth of Anne Perry's charming Christmas novellas, A Christmas Grace, a community learns to come to terms with a terrible event from its past. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. '[A] heart-warming, if crime-tinged, complement to the holiday season' - Booklist Emily Radley's Christmas plans are shattered when she learns that her aunt is dying. Although estranged from her, Emily decides that she must journey to Susannah's home in Ireland to assist her in her final days. When she reaches Connemara though, it is evident that Susannah has more on her mind than her health. Then Daniel, the lone survivor of a ship wrecked in a violent storm, seeks refuge in Susannah's house. Determined to understand why the village is not welcoming its new arrival, Emily discovers strange parallels with the unsolved death of another young man, Connor, many years before. Susannah, desperate to find out what happened to Connor before she dies, urges Emily to investigate. And as she does, Emily learns that some people will do anything to keep their secrets safe. What readers are saying about Anne Perry's Christmas novellas: 'A delightful, gentle read to prepare you for Christmas... What more could a reader want?' 'Christmas would not be Christmas without a Perry novella' 'A great read, good to curl up with by the fire on a snowy day'
Release

The Moonlit Mind: A Novella

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007465041

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 2973

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In this chilling original stand-alone novella, available exclusively as an eBook, Dean Koontz offers a taste of what’s to come in his novel, 77 Shadow Street, with a mesmerizing tale of a homeless boy at large in a city fraught with threats ... both human and otherwise. Includes the first chapter of 77 Shadow Street.
Release

Cleo

Confessions of a Street Dog

Author: Anjali Venkatesh

Publisher: Notion Press

ISBN: 1642496553

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 98

View: 6315

DOWNLOAD NOW »

“And how long, Butch? How long till the universe makes up?” “Depends Stars need darkness to shine bright.” There is one basic rule out on the streets – survival of the fittest. So how am I, a street dog who’s never been on the streets; who’s grown up in a mansion her whole life; going to survive on the savage streets of Chennai? Answer: I most probably won’t. “A German word ‘Bildungsroman’ suggested itself to me after I read ‘Cleo.’ The word means a novel dealing with a person’s formative years or a spiritual education. ?Much like Harry Potter and Frodo, I couldn’t help but see this parallel in feisty little Cleo.”
Release

A Soldier's Heart

A Snowberry Creek Novella (A Penguin Special from Signet Eclipse)

Author: Alexis Morgan

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101603968

Category: Fiction

Page: 112

View: 3929

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A novella of loyalty and survival—in which three soldiers must survive active duty before they can find their true loves in the town of Snowberry Creek, Washington… Best friends Nick, Spence, and Leif are counting down the last days of their third deployment as members of the U.S. Army, and their first in Afghanistan. But when one of them receives heartbreaking news from home, their camaraderie will be tested both under fire and under the strain of nearly unbearable emotional pain. Then, while on patrol in a dangerous sector, the strangest thing happens—a stray dog appears from nowhere, alerting them to a coming ambush, and saves their lives. And as the three soldiers struggle to rescue the pooch from the firefight, each of the friends finds a little lost piece of himself—and a part of themselves they need to carry home… Includes a preview of the upcoming full-length novel set in the Snowberry Creek series, A Time for Home
Release

A Dog Named Nate

A Small Town Romance

Author: Inglath Cooper

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0369700422

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 1549

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A rescue dog unleashes romance in this classic uplifting novella from RITA® Award—winning author Inglath Cooper. When Tanner Morgan’s car breaks down in a small town, she’s in no hurry to get back to her real life. At 39, divorced and staggering under a case of career burnout, Tanner’s ready for a change. She’s always wanted to make a difference, so she enlists the help of Gabe Traynor, a handsome chivalrous doctor, to save an injured stray dog. Can their empathy and honesty lead to romance? Originally published in 2006.
Release

A Kiss for Luck

A Novella

Author: Grace Burrowes

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN: 1492605344

Category: Fiction

Page: 128

View: 3299

DOWNLOAD NOW »

All is fair in love and court... Dunstan Cromarty is practicing law far from his native Scotland, and battles his personal loneliness with professional zeal . On a lucrative and fractious divorce case, he meets his match in a sharp-witted and stunningly beautiful adversary ... "Let Burrowes lift your heart." -RT Book Reviews "Burrowes" powerful and complex characters will enthrall you." -RT Book Reviews "Grace Burrowes weaves her magic with eloquent, revealing words, and subtle humor." -Long and Short Reviews "Burrowes continues to captivate and enchant!" -Fresh Fiction
Release

Two Novellas

Uncle Willy and the Golden Bird - The Search for Paul

Author: EarleLord

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1450069304

Category: Fiction

Page: 117

View: 2996

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The first novella, Uncle Willy and the Golden Bird, tells the story of a boy trying to survive in the l930s during the Great Depression. When his prosperous family is destroyed by catastrophic illness, alcoholism, and the depression, he is sent to live with an older brother with whom he has nothing in common. This man becomes his legal guardian and employer and plans a life for him as a grocery store clerk. The boy dreams of going to college and becoming a journalist but his dreams are dashed when he wins a scholarship to a school of journalism but has to refuse it because of lack of family support. Then a fabulous character enters his life, the boy's Uncle Willy, a charming man, part con man, part saint, who is sent to live with the boy and his brother from a Mexican jail where he has been sent for a fantastic attempt at embezzlement that gained national coverage for the effrontery of the crime. With him comes his golden bird, a souvenir of his attempted crime, a beautiful work of art, made of lead and encrusted with a thin layer of gold. And with that bird comes the malignant presence of a Mexican crime boss named El Pelon who believes Uncle Willy is hiding gold from him. The boy becomes a central figure in the conflict between Uncle Willy on one hand and his brother, the grocery store manager, and El Pelon, a Mexican crime lord. The second novella, The Search for Paul, tells the story of a middle school teacher in Los Angeles who becomes involved in a government search for a sleeper espionage cell imbedded somewhere in Southern California by the former Soviet Union. Established by the Russian during the first Gulf War, it apparently has been transferred to Arab Terrorists, probably for a profit , now that the Cold War has ended. The Department of Homeland Security has become convinced that the Resident Director of this sleeper cell, whom they have named Paul, is somehow connected to a middle school in Los Angeles, a school at which Mike Carlins works. They have lost one agent in the school and they want to draft Carlins to replace him as an inside observer in their search for Paul Carlins after some persuasion and with much reluctance agrees to help the department in its search for a traitor and a spy, living in our midst and planning for our destruction.
Release

The Halloween Promise, a Haven Harbor Novella

Haven Harbor #2

Author: Jeanne Adams

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780996431699

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5985

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Welcome to Haven Harbor, Massachusetts!In 1691, a group of renegade witches fled Salem in the dark of night, escaping the desperate evil that spawned the Witch Trials. They struck out to form their own town, with their own rules. Three hundred years later, their descendants celebrate Halloween more than most towns...A valuable guard dog dumped on the darkest of nights.Veterinarian Dr. Adele Picard is no stranger to treating stray dogs. Finding a valuable German Shepherd in the road in the middle of the night is a new experience, however, as is having sexy town librarian, Dan Nutter show up on the same dark road just in time to help her. When tracing the dog's owner brings the FBI to her door, Adele's sure there's more going on than a simple missing pooch.The ghosts have the clues.The dog, the FBI and the librarian are a whole bundle of trouble and Adele isn't sure which is the biggest problem. Adele and Dan have flirted for months, and that connection flares into passion as they bond over the case of a missing little girl and her injured German Shepherd. Able to converse with ghosts, but only of his own blood ancestors, Dan knew to meet Adele on the road. Will she trust his sources--the ghosts--and let him help her find the missing girl, before it's too late?Ghosts, magick and a Halloween Promise make Haven Harbor the place to be in October!
Release

Victorian San Francisco Novellas

Author: M. Louisa Locke

Publisher: M. Louisa Locke

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 3067

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This collection brings together three novellas by USA Today bestselling author, M. Louisa Locke: Violet Vanquishes a Villain, Kathleen Catches a Killer, and Dandy Delivers. These shorter works contain the light romance, humor, and suspense of the novels in her cozy Victorian San Francisco mystery series and are an excellent introduction to the gas-lit world of late 19th-century San Francisco. Violet Vanquishes a Villain: In this novella set in August of 1880, Annie and Nate Dawson’s trip down the San Francisco peninsula to San Jose was supposed to be a pleasant romantic interlude and a chance for Annie to get to know Nate’s family better. When the visit takes a serious turn, Annie races to expose a criminal who could ruin a young man’s life, getting help from an unexpected quarter. The events in Violet Vanquishes a Villain come right after Deadly Proof, the fourth book in Locke’s Victorian San Francisco mystery series. Kathleen Catches a Killer: As 1880 comes to a close, the O'Farrell Street boardinghouse servant, Kathleen Hennessey, expects to spend a quiet week while her employers, amateur sleuths Annie and Nate Dawson, are off spending the Christmas holidays with Nate's family. However, when she agrees to help out one of her friends, Kathleen discovers that a simple case of a servant being dismissed without notice has turned into a complicated and dangerous puzzle that she is determined to solve. The events in Kathleen Catches a Killer come right between those in Pilfered Promises and the third novella in this collection, Dandy Delivers. Dandy Delivers: It’s January, 1881, and while the grown-ups in Annie and Nate Dawson’s San Francisco O’Farrell Street boardinghouse are busy with their own affairs, two boys and a dog find their own adventure. Ian Hennessey, a poor boy from South of Market, who is trying to shoulder a man’s responsibilities, gets in trouble, and his best friend, Jamie Hewitt, does what he can to help. But it is Jamie’s young Boston Terrier, Dandy, who saves the day.
Release