Strange as this Weather Has Been

A Novel

Author: Ann Pancake

Publisher: Counterpoint Press

ISBN: 159376166X

Category: Fiction

Page: 360

View: 1025

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Domestic conflicts involving a town's endangerment by mining plans threaten to tear apart a family when matriarch Lace contemplates fighting the mine owners and her daughter, Bant, becomes involved with a miner. A first novel. Original.
Release

Me and My Daddy Listen to Bob Marley

Novellas and Stories

Author: Ann Pancake

Publisher: Counterpoint

ISBN: 1619025108

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 3293

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ann Pancake’s 2007 novel Strange as This Weather Has Been centered on mountaintop removal and its effects upon a single coal mining family. In Me and My Daddy Listen to Bob Marley, a follow-up collection of eleven astonishing short stories, Pancake returns to her native West Virginia to tell stories of other traditional people. These are folks living much as they have for three hundred years, tried by poverty and ill health but needing the coal companies’ upon which the economy is entirely dependent, even as they witness the air and land and water of this beautiful place being imperiled and destroyed. Ann Pancake’s ear for the Appalachian dialect – in both towns and in the countryside -- is both pitch perfect and respectful, that of one who writes from the heart of this world. Her characters are ensnared in the complexities of rural economies where there are no quick fixes to questions surrounding right livelihood even going off to college. With first-hand knowledge of the provincial locale and her exquisite depictions of the intricacies of families, she might well remind you of Alice Munro. In her intimate depiction of the natural history of rural Appalachia, Me and My Daddy
Release

Strange Weather

Four Short Novels

Author: Joe Hill

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062663135

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 2062

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A collection of four chilling novels, ingeniously wrought gems of terror from the brilliantly imaginative, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman, Joe Hill. "One of America’s finest horror writers" (Time magazine), Joe Hill has been hailed among legendary talents such as Peter Straub, Neil Gaiman, and Jonathan Lethem. In Strange Weather, this "compelling chronicler of human nature’s continual war between good and evil," (Providence Journal-Bulletin) who "pushes genre conventions to new extremes" (New York Times Book Review) deftly expose the darkness that lies just beneath the surface of everyday life. "Snapshot" is the disturbing story of a Silicon Valley adolescent who finds himself threatened by "The Phoenician," a tattooed thug who possesses a Polaroid Instant Camera that erases memories, snap by snap. A young man takes to the skies to experience his first parachute jump. . . and winds up a castaway on an impossibly solid cloud, a Prospero’s island of roiling vapor that seems animated by a mind of its own in "Aloft." On a seemingly ordinary day in Boulder, Colorado, the clouds open up in a downpour of nails—splinters of bright crystal that shred the skin of anyone not safely under cover. "Rain" explores this escalating apocalyptic event, as the deluge of nails spreads out across the country and around the world. In "Loaded," a mall security guard in a coastal Florida town courageously stops a mass shooting and becomes a hero to the modern gun rights movement. But under the glare of the spotlights, his story begins to unravel, taking his sanity with it. When an out-of-control summer blaze approaches the town, he will reach for the gun again and embark on one last day of reckoning. Masterfully exploring classic literary themes through the prism of the supernatural, Strange Weather is a stellar collection from an artist who is "quite simply the best horror writer of our generation" (Michael Kortya).
Release

Journal of a Novel

The East of Eden Letters

Author: John Steinbeck

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1440673314

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 192

View: 8320

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Each working day from January 29 to November 1, 1951, John Steinbeck warmed up to the work of writing East of Eden with a letter to the late Pascal Covici, his friend and editor at The Viking Press. It was his way, he said, of "getting my mental arm in shape to pitch a good game." Steinbeck's letters were written on the left-hand pages of a notebook in which the facing pages would be filled with the test of East of Eden. They touched on many subjects—story arguments, trial flights of worknamship, concern for his sons. Part autobiography, part writer's workshop, these letters offer an illuminating perspective on Steinbeck's creative process, and a fascinating glimpse of Steinbeck, the private man.
Release

Grand Ambition: A Novel

Author: Lisa Michaels

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393344347

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 5592

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"An absorbing, affecting and beautifully written novel."—New York Times Book Review In Lisa Michaels's enthralling debut novel, she weaves the tale of two young newlyweds, Glen and Bessie Hyde, who set out in 1928 to run the rapids of the Grand Canyon. The pair hoped to set a record: Bessie would be the first woman to negotiate that treacherous stretch of the Colorado River. When they failed to appear at their destination on time, Glen's father mounted a desperate search to find them. Based on the few known facts of a true story, Grand Ambition contemplates our need for risk and danger, and treats with great complexity the power of youthful passion. Reading Group Guide included.
Release

I Am Abraham: A Novel of Lincoln and the Civil War

Author: Jerome Charyn

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0871407728

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 807

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Jerome Charyn’s “daring” and “memorable” (The New Yorker) historical novel renders the inner life of our sixteenth president like never before. This unforgettable portrait of Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War effortlessly mixes humor with Shakespearean-like tragedy to create an achingly human portrait of the sixteenth president. Charyn conducts an orchestra of historical figures and fictional extras centered around a profoundly moral but troubled commander in chief whose relationship with his Ophelia-like wife and his sons—Robert, Willie, and Tad—is explored with penetrating psychological insight and the utmost compassion. Seized by melancholy and imbued with an unfaltering sense of human worth, Charyn’s President Lincoln comes to vibrant, three-dimensional life in a haunting portrait we have rarely seen in historical fiction.
Release

Child of the Prophecy: A Sevenwaters Novel 3

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN: 9781741984941

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 2341

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The third book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series Child of the Prophecy is the eagerly-awaited follow-up to the winner of the Aurealis Award Son of the Shadows and the international bestseller Daughter of the Forest. Raised in an isolated cove, Fainne has been sent to live at Sevenwaters and burdened with a terrible task. She must use whatever powers she can to prevent the Fair Folk winning back the Islands, no matter what the cost. Even if it means denying herself the one she loves. But can Fainne turn her back on the people she has come to care for? And can she bring herself to rid the world of the chosen one-child of the prophecy? PRAISE FOR THE SERIES "Enormously satisfying ... enchanting, deftly told" Good Reading "There are some series so lyrical, so well-conceived, that every new book is a delight, and this describes Marillier's Sevenwaters." The Weekend West "A rousing page-turner, a heady blending of romance, magic and battle" Booklist Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.
Release

The Haunting of Eagleden Estate

Author: Jamie L. King

Publisher: Booktango

ISBN: 1468912402

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 1132

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A successful architect, Jessie has no memories of her life before her eleventh birthday. Her trip to England for the funeral of an unknown grandmother and the subsequent inheritance of an unexpected fortune are coupled with eerie, profoundly unsettling incidents that point in the direction of her mysterious past. The terrifying events that transpire send into a psychotic breaking point, a panic that lands her in a white padded room. As she journeys into the deep recesses of her amnesia, Jessie realized that there are some doors that should never be opened. Now, the only way out is to travel back to Eagleden Estate and face the demons of her past.
Release

Daughter of the Forest: A Sevenwaters Novel 1

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN: 9781741984958

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 8393

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The first book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series "I enjoyed it immensely... For an Irish resident, familiar with the mores and customs, Daughter of the Forest had special meaning and relevance." Anne McCaffrey "This saga will hold you entranced" Australian Women's Weekly Daughter of the Forest is a mixture of history and heritage, myth and magic, legend and love. Lord Colum of Sevenwaters is blessed with seven children but it is Sorcha, the youngest child and only daughter, who alone is destined to defend her family and protect their land from the invading Britons. For Sorcha is the only one who escapes the cruel influence of Lady Oonagh, her father's new wife. Exiled from Sevenwaters and cast out into the forest and the terrifying world beyond, Sorcha falls into the hands of the feared enemy. Now she is torn between a life she has always known and a love that only comes once. Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.
Release