Storming the Court

How a Band of Law Students Fought the President--and Won

Author: Brandt Goldstein

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416535152

Category: History

Page: 375

View: 8924

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Describes how, in 1992, a group of Yale law students came to the aid of three hundred Haitian men, women, and children who had won asylum in the U.S. but who, having tested positive for HIV, were forced into a Guantanamo compound and battled the Bush administration, the Justice Department, the American military, and the Supreme Court to achieve their release. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.
Release

The Oxford Handbook of Public History

Author: James B. Gardner,Paula Hamilton

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190673788

Category: History

Page: 640

View: 4317

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Oxford Handbook of Public History introduces the major debates within public history; the methods and sources that comprise a public historian's tool kit; and exemplary examples of practice. It views public history as a dynamic process combining historical research and a wide range of work with and for the public, informed by a conceptual context. The editors acknowledge the imprecision bedeviling attempts to define public history, and use this book as an opportunity to shape the field by taking a deliberately broad view. They include professional historians who work outside the academy in a range of institutions and sites, and those who are politically committed to communicating history to the wide range of audiences. This volume provides the information and inspiration needed by a practitioner to succeed in the wide range of workplaces that characterizes public history today, for university teachers of public history to assist their students, and for working public historians to keep up to date with recent research. This handbook locates public history as a professional practice within an intellectual framework that is increasingly transnational, technological, and democratic. While the nation state remains the primary means of identification, increased mobility and the digital revolution have occasioned a much broader outlook and awareness of the world beyond national borders. It addresses squarely the tech-savvy, media-literate citizens of the world, the"digital natives" of the twenty-first century, in a way that recognizes the revolution in shared authority that has swept museum work, oral history, and much of public history practice. This volume also provides both currently practicing historians and those entering the field a map for understanding the historical landscape of the future: not just to the historiographical debates of the academy but also the boom in commemoration and history outside the academy evident in many countries since the 1990s, which now constitutes the historical culture in each country. Public historians need to understand both contexts, and to negotiate their implications for questions of historical authority and the public historian's work. The boom in popular history is characterized by a significant increase in both making and consuming history in a range of historical activities such as genealogy, family history, and popular collecting; cultural tourism, historic sites, and memorial museums; increased memorialization, both formal and informal, from roadside memorials to state funded shrines and memorial Internet sites; increased publication of historical novels, biographies, and movies and TV series set in the past. Much of this, as well as a vast array of new community cultural projects, has been facilitated by the digital technologies that have increased the accessibility of historical information, the democratization of practice, and the demand for sharing authority.
Release

A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court

Author: Brandt Goldstein,Rodger Citron,Molly Beutz Land

Publisher: Aspen Publishers

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law

Page: 273

View: 8888

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court, using key litigation documents, leads the reader through the high-profile lawsuit chronicled in Storming the Court, a nonfiction title by Brandt Goldstein that tracks the lawsuit filed by human rights lawyers and Yale law students on behalf of Haitian refugees detained at the American Navy base in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. Following in the tradition of books such as The Buffalo Creek Disaster and A Civil Action, Storming the Court is an engaging, easy-to-read account of a complex civil trial in which law students play many of the key roles. Meticulously documented to make moving between the original book and the companion trouble-free, this lively, accessible book will provoke energetic discussion and debate among your students. Suitable for use in any civil procedure course, the documentary companion: Uses the real case to illustrate a wide array of important legal concepts , particularly those taught in first-year civil procedure Includes key litigation documents and other original materials from the case along with notes, comments, hypotheticals, and questions that serve as excellent teaching tools Features photos of the key characters in the lawsuit and of the naval base at Guantanamo Bay, which further enhances the realism for students What better way to bring litigation to life for your students and help them understand what the concepts and rules look like in practice than to follow a complex trial step-by-step. A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court takes a gripping and extremely readable book and turns it into a powerful teaching tool.
Release