Clover Park Boxed Set (Books 1-3)

Author: Kylie Gilmore

Publisher: Extra Fancy Books

ISBN: 1942238355

Category: Fiction

Page: 748

View: 4476


The Clover Park Boxed Set includes three full-length novels: The Opposite of Wild, Daisy Does It All, and Bad Taste in Men. I wrote this series so one story picks up exactly where the previous story left off, which makes it fun to binge read all together.

The Essential Jack Reacher, Volume 1, 7-Book Bundle

Persuader, The Enemy, One Shot, The Hard Way, Bad Luck and Trouble, Nothing to Lose, Gone Tomorrow

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Delacorte Press

ISBN: 081298787X

Category: Fiction

Page: 2528

View: 5840


Seven modern classics featuring the ultimate thriller hero, Jack Reacher—hailed by Stephen King as “the coolest continuing series character now on offer” Once an elite military cop, Reacher is now a man with no phone, no address, and no ties anywhere. He wanders the land and lives in the moment—a cool-headed righter of wrongs who won’t let the bad guys get away with anything. This addictive eBook bundle features seven Reacher adventures, which can be read in any order. But fair warning: Once you start, you won’t stop until you’ve finished them all. PERSUADER THE ENEMY ONE SHOT THE HARD WAY BAD LUCK AND TROUBLE NOTHING TO LOSE GONE TOMORROW Also includes a preview of the highly anticipated new Jack Reacher thriller, Make Me! Praise for #1 bestselling author Lee Child and his Reacher series “Welcome to the relentless world of Jack Reacher and his impressive tendency to be in the wrong place at the right time. . . . Child has created an iconic character that other thriller writers try to emulate but don’t come close to matching.”—Associated Press “[Reacher] is the stuff of myth, a great male fantasy. . . . One of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes.”—The Washington Post “Child is a superb craftsman of suspense.”—Entertainment Weekly “Easily the best thriller series going.”—NPR “The truth about Reacher gets better and better.”—Janet Maslin, The New York Times “If you’re a thriller fan and you’re not reading the Reacher series, you’re not a thriller fan.”—Chicago Tribune

Pinter Problem

Author: Austin E. Quigley

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 1400872405

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 316

View: 6323


In spite of steady growth in popularity, Pinter's plays have continued to elude adequate critical appraisal. Considering the last decade's scholarship, Austin E. Quigley attributes the impasse in Pinter criticism to the failure of Pinter's readers to appreciate the diversity of ways in which language can transmit information. This explanation places recent commentaries in a new light and enables the author to take a fresh approach to the plays themselves. Originally published in 1975. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.

Cengage Advantage Books: The American Experiment: A History of the United States, Volume 2: Since 1865

Author: Steven M. Gillon,Cathy D. Matson

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 0840029543

Category: History

Page: 592

View: 5325


Developed to meet the demand for a low-cost, high-quality history book, this economically priced version of THE AMERICAN EXPERIMENT, Third Edition offers readers the complete narrative while limiting the number of features, photos, and maps. All volumes feature a paperback, two-color format that appeals to those seeking a comprehensive, trade-sized history text. Approaching the American history survey course in an innovative way, this text features a more expansive definition of political history that includes all forms of politics, not just electoral politics, while simultaneously incorporating cultural history. With the specific aim of expanding history beyond elite actors, THE AMERICAN EXPERIMENT emphasizes everyday work, family life, customs, and objects of cultural history to address its four themes: the role of government, American identity, the broad concept of culture, and America and the world. The Third Edition features an enhanced thematic approach that helps students understand America's development as an experiment in politics, culture, and identity, within a global context. Available in the following options: CENGAGE ADVANTAGE BOOKS: THE AMERICAN EXPERIMENT, Third Edition (Chapters 1-32); Volume 1: To 1877 (Chapters 1-16); Volume 2: Since 1865 (Chapters 16-32). Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

20 Years to Life

The Self-Imposed Sentence of an Only Child Born in the Dirty Thirties

Author: T. Hartman

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1477157263

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 132

View: 7276


I was born on Flag Day, 1935, the same year Social Security was enacted. Consequently, I have always felt a tug of birthday patriotism and as a child I secretly hoped the flags might be flying for my benefit. Growing up with the SS system has been a comfort, as well. I didn't mind contributing to the pot all during my working years and I cretainly appreciate the pay out during retirement. Graduating from journalism school and working for ten years as a newspaper reporter and magazine editor gave me a chance to write about and promote what's right with America. My generation saw dramatic changes throughout the 30s, 40s and 50s, which paralleled my coming of age over a 20 year span. Recounting some of these events and how they impacted me as an only child with a bit of an attitude, is the theme of the momoir.