Sports Idols' Idols

First Heroes of Our Heroes

Author: Scott Lynn

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1504947762

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 584

View: 9492

DOWNLOAD NOW »

You probably had a childhood idol—that one special person who meant the world to you. It might have been a family member, a teacher or a coach. It’s also quite possible you were first drawn to a professional athlete you saw on television or read about in a magazine or newspaper. Many of us once dreamed of becoming a pro athlete just like our first childhood hero. But, do the athletes we idolize have someone they considered to be extra special when they were kids? In Sports Idols’ Idols, nearly 150 past and present athletes—including dozens of Hall of Famers—share stories about their very first childhood heroes. They discuss what it was like the first time they met their idols. Many experienced euphoria. However, a few were crushed when their encounters did not go as anticipated. In this oral history, some of the most well-known sports figures from yesterday and today tell you about their idols and about special moments in their lives and careers. Go ahead! Reach for the stars! In Sports Idols’ Idols, sports fans of all ages will learn about the heroes of their heroes.
Release

Sports Heroes, Fallen Idols

Author: Stanley H. Teitelbaum

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803216440

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 283

View: 9726

DOWNLOAD NOW »

On the court and on the field they are the world?s winners, exhibiting a natural grace and prowess their adoring fans can only dream about. Yet so often, off the field our sports heroes lose their perspective, their balance, and ultimately their place. In a work as timely as the latest fracas on the basketball court or the most recent drug-induced scandal in the dugout, Stanley H. Teitelbaum looks into the circumstances behind many star athletes? precipitous fall from grace. ø In his psychotherapy practice, Teitelbaum has worked extensively with professional athletes and sports agents?work he draws on here for insight into the psyche of sports figures and the off-the-field challenges they face. Considering both historical and current cases, he shows how, in many instances, the very factors that elevate athletes to superstardom contribute to their downfall. An evenhanded and honest look at athletes who have faltered, Teitelbaum?s work helps us see past our sports stars? exalted images into what those images?and their frailty?say about our society and ourselves.
Release

European Heroes

Myth, Identity, Sport

Author: Pierre Lanfranchi,Richard Holt,J A Mangan

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135238987

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 184

View: 9724

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Historians of popular culture have recently been addressing the role of myth, and now it is time that social historians of sport also examined it. The contributors to this collection of essays explore the symbolic meanings that have been attached to sport in Europe by considering some of the mythic heroes who have dominated the sporting landscapes of their own countries. The ambition is to understand what these icons stood for in the eyes of those who watched or read about these vessels into which poured all manner of gender, class and patriotic expectations.
Release

Terrace Heroes

The Life and Times of the 1930s Professional Footballer

Author: Graham Kelly

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 9780714653594

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 174

View: 2939

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Tracing the origins, playing careers and 'afterlives' of several First Division players of the era, Graham Kelly's history explores the reality of living in Britain in the 1930s and draws comparisons with lives of our contemporary 'terrace heroes', the football stars of today."--Jacket.
Release

Picture History of Early Aviation, 1903-1913

Author: Joshua Stoff

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 9780486288369

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 136

View: 4872

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Carefully researched text, lavishly illustrated with over 250 photos, introduce early pioneers of flight: Otto Lilienthal, Samuel Langley, Octave Chanute, Louis Bleriot, the Wright Brothers, many other aviation pioneers.
Release

No Win Race: A Story of Belonging, Britishness and Sport

Author: Derek A. Bardowell

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0008305153

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 3609

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A SUNDAY TIMES SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR A FINANCIAL TIMES SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR LONGLISTED FOR THE WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR ‘Personal, political, powerful and about so much more than race and sport.’ Bernadine Evaristo
Release

Football's Great Heroes and Entertainers

The History of Football through its biggest heroes

Author: Jimmy Greaves

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444718150

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 300

View: 3054

DOWNLOAD NOW »

JIMMY GREAVES was a great entertainer and a national hero as a footballer, and is held in equal affection as a television pundit and performer. Now Greavsie reveals the footballers and managers who have given him most entertainment and are his biggest heroes. Greavsie has confined his star-studded assembly to players and managers of his lifetime -- dipping fondly back into the days of Stanley Matthews, Tom Finney and Len Shackleton and coming up to date with in-depth analysis of modern masters like Thierry Henry, Steven Gerrard and Wayne Rooney. Along the way he nods in the direction of his good pals Bobby Moore, Dave Mackay, Billy Wright and, of course, George Best. Footballing gods of the calibre of Pele, di Stefano, Puskas and Maradona naturally win a place in the personal Greaves Hall of Fame. You may not agree with all his selections, but if you are a true football fan you will agree that this is a book that makes you laugh and grips your attention as you take a look at some of FOOTBALL's GREAT HEROES AND ENTERTAINERS.
Release

The Lord and the Landscaper

Stories to Challenge Your Walk with God

Author: John Gordon

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN: 1598867431

Category: God (Christianity)

Page: 157

View: 7430

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Simple life stories revealilng the profound truth that God is intimately involved in ordering out every step of our lives.
Release

All My Tennis Heroes Autograph Book

For the Fans of Famous and Undiscovered Tennis Players, Who Dream to Have Memorabilia Filled with Their Athletic Sports Idols Signatures and Pictures.

Author: Eventful Books

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781726635066

Category:

Page: 106

View: 8617

DOWNLOAD NOW »

If someone you long admired was suddenly right in front of your eyes, what would you do? Maybe hugs or words of praise would be the first thing you do when you meet your tennis idol. Perhaps you might be so star struck facing these people, you miss your chance to even say just one word. Don't miss out. If you invest so much time into learning about these awesome athletes. Invest so much energy into posting about them on social media and littering your walls and phone gallery with them, wouldn't it be awesome to have something they gave, just for you, if you ever met? This 6x9 autograph book has the ability to hold 50 signatures. Two pages per person so all they see is a fresh clean open book, just for them. On both pages are indicative area's to write about the day you meet your tennis heroes or draw. Insert 4x6 photographs. Record the date. Record their name under the words Thank You. (Just in case you forget your manners while being star struck) And of course a place for their signature. Great for: Christmas Gifts Memorabilia Keepsakes Birthday Prezzies Mother and Father Appreciation day Gift Gift bag Favors Tennis Coach Farewell Presents Graduation Presents Tennis Club Gifts Friend Gifts Gift for Him or a Gift for Her
Release