Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

And Other Lessons from the Crematorium

Author: Caitlin Doughty

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 1782111042

Category: Social Science

Page: 272

View: 1342

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 'Unforgettable . . . a hilarious, poignant and impassioned plea to revolutionise our attitudes to death' Gavin Francis, Guardian From her first day at Westwind Cremation & Burial, twenty-three-year-old Caitlin Doughty threw herself into her curious new profession. Coming face-to-face with the very thing we go to great lengths to avoid thinking about she started to wonder about the lives of those she cremated and the mourning families they left behind, and found herself confounded by people's erratic reactions to death. Exploring our death rituals - and those of other cultures - she pleads the case for healthier attitudes around death and dying. Full of bizarre encounters, gallows humour and vivid characters (both living and very dead), this illuminating account makes this otherwise terrifying subject inviting and fascinating.
Release

Understanding Dying, Death, and Bereavement

Author: Michael R. Leming,George E. Dickinson

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1305537610

Category: Social Science

Page: 624

View: 1642

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Using a social-psychological approach, the new edition of this book remains solidly grounded in theory and research, while also providing useful information to help individuals examine their own feelings about-and cope with-death and grieving. The well-known authors and researchers integrate stimulating personal accounts throughout the text, and apply concepts to specific examples that deal with cross cultural perspectives and the practical matters of death and dying. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.
Release

Summary and Analysis of Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers

Based on the Book by Mary Roach

Author: Worth Books

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 150404407X

Category: Science

Page: 30

View: 3933

DOWNLOAD NOW »

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of Stiff tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Mary Roach’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter summaries Profiles of the characters and places Important quotes Fascinating trivia Glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach: Acclaimed journalist Mary Roach’s bestselling book Stiff offers an inside look through the through the weird world of human cadavers. This globe-spanning story is deeply informative, surprisingly funny, and occasionally disgusting. These “superheroes,” as Roach refers to them, brave high-speed car crashes, gunshots, decomposition in the sun, and other indignities all in the name of advancing science and making life better for the living. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.
Release

Playing Dead

A Journey Through the World of Death Fraud

Author: Elizabeth Greenwood

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1476739366

Category: Social Science

Page: 272

View: 846

DOWNLOAD NOW »

“A delightful read for anyone tantalized by the prospect of disappearing without a trace.” —Erik Larson, New York Times bestselling author of Dead Wake “Delivers all the lo-fi spy shenanigans and caught-red-handed schadenfreude you’re hoping for.” —NPR “A lively romp.” —The Boston Globe “Grim fun.” —The New York Times “Brilliant topic, absorbing book.” —The Seattle Times “The most literally escapist summer read you could hope for.” —The Paris Review Is it still possible to fake your own death in the twenty-first century? With six figures of student loan debt, Elizabeth Greenwood was tempted to find out. So off she sets on a darkly comic foray into the world of death fraud, where for $30,000 a consultant can make you disappear—but your suspicious insurance company might hire a private detective to dig up your coffin...only to find it filled with rocks. Greenwood tracks down a British man who staged a kayaking accident and then returned to live in his own house while all his neighbors thought he was dead. She takes a call from Michael Jackson (no, he’s not dead—or so her new acquaintances would have her believe), stalks message boards for people contemplating pseudocide, and gathers intel on black market morgues in the Philippines, where she may or may not obtain some fraudulent goodies of her own. Along the way, she learns that love is a much less common motive than money, and that making your death look like a drowning virtually guarantees that you’ll be caught. (Disappearing while hiking, however, is a way great to go.) Playing Dead is a charmingly bizarre investigation in the vein of Jon Ronson and Mary Roach into our all-too-human desire to escape from the lives we lead, and the men and women desperate enough to give up their lives—and their families—to start again.
Release

Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?

And Other Questions from Tiny Mortals

Author: CAITLIN. DOUGHTY

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

ISBN: 9781474613392

Category:

Page: 208

View: 5548

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Every day, funeral director Caitlin Doughty receives dozens of questions about death. What would happen to an astronaut's body if it were pushed out of a space shuttle? Do people poo when they die? Can Grandma have a Viking funeral? In the tradition of Randall Munroe's WHAT IF?, Doughty's new book blends her scientific understanding of the body and the intriguing history behind common misconceptions about corpses to offer factual, hilarious and candid answers to more than fifty urgent questions posed by her youngest fans. Readers will learn what happens if you die on an aeroplane, the best soil for mummifying your dog and whether or not you can preserve your friend's skull as a keepsake. Featuring illustrations from Dianné Ruiz, WILL MY CAT EAT MY EYEBALLS? will delight anyone interested in the fascinating truth about what will happen to our bodies after we die.
Release