Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night

A follow-up to the best-selling A Discovery of Witches finds Oxford scholar and reluctant witch Diana Bishop and vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont in Elizabethan London, where Diana seeks a magical tutor and Matthew confronts elements ...

Author: Deborah E. Harkness

Publisher:

ISBN: 0143123890

Category: Great Britain

Page: 708

View: 256

A follow-up to the best-selling A Discovery of Witches finds Oxford scholar and reluctant witch Diana Bishop and vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont in Elizabethan London, where Diana seeks a magical tutor and Matthew confronts elements from his past at the same time the mystery of Ashmole 782 deepens.
Categories: Great Britain

Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night

#I NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER DEBORAH HARKNESS AUTHOR OF A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES ORIGINAL NOW AN , SHADOW NIGHT OF SERIES A NOVEL STREAMING ON SUNDANCE NOW , SHUDDER AND AMC + Book Two of the ALL SOULS SERIES TER PENGUIN BOOKS SHADOW OF ...

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101578933

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 961

The #1 New York Times-bestselling sequel to A Discovery of Witches, book two of the All Souls Series. Look for the hit TV series “A Discovery of Witches,” streaming on AMC Plus, Sundance Now and Shudder. Season 2 premieres January 9, 2021! Picking up from A Discovery of Witches' cliffhanger ending, Shadow of Night takes reluctant witch Diana Bishop and vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont on a trip through time to Elizabethan London, where they are plunged into a world of spies, magic, and a coterie of Matthew's old friends, the School of Night. As the search for Ashmole 782--the lost and enchanted manuscript whose mystery first pulled Diana and Matthew into one another's orbit--deepens and Diana seeks out a witch to tutor her in magic, the net of Matthew's past tightens around them. Together they find they must embark on a very different - and vastly more dangerous - journey. "A captivating and romantic ripping yarn,"** Shadow of Night confirms Deborah Harkness as a master storyteller, able to cast an "addictive tale of magic, mayhem and two lovers."**
Categories: Fiction

The Shadow and Night

The Shadow and Night

THE LAMB AMONG THE STARS SERIES An epic fantasy in the tradition of C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien . Evil has returned , and it must be fought ! TURTL SIGTIGH Available now in stores and online . shadow night dark Infinite day.

Author: Chris Walley

Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.

ISBN: 9781414336183

Category: Fiction

Page: 899

View: 652

In the first book in the epic Lamb among the Stars series, author Chris Walley weaves the worlds of science and the spirit, technology and supernatural into something unique in science fiction. Twelve thousand years into the future, the human race has spread across the galaxy to hundreds of terraformed worlds. The effects of the Fall have been diminished by the Great Intervention, and peace and contentment reign under the gentle rule of the Assembly. But suddenly, almost imperceptibly, things begin to change. On the remotest planet of Farholme, Forester Merral D’Avanos hears one simple . . . lie. Slowly a handful of men and women begin to realize that evil has returned and must be fought. What will this mean for a people to whom war and evil are ancient history? Thus begins the epic that has been described as “If C. S. Lewis and Tolkien had written Star Wars.” The Shadow and Night was previously published in two volumes: The Shadow at Evening and The Power of the Night.
Categories: Fiction

Shadow of Night Movie Tie In

Shadow of Night  Movie Tie In

The #1 New York Times-bestselling sequel to A Discovery of Witches, book two of the All Souls Series. Look for the hit TV series “A Discovery of Witches,” streaming on AMC Plus, Sundance Now and Shudder.

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 9780143136729

Category: Fiction

Page: 0

View: 124

The #1 New York Times-bestselling sequel to A Discovery of Witches, book two of the All Souls Series. Look for the hit TV series “A Discovery of Witches,” streaming on AMC Plus, Sundance Now and Shudder. Season 2 premieres January 9, 2021! Picking up from A Discovery of Witches' cliffhanger ending, Shadow of Night takes reluctant witch Diana Bishop and vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont on a trip through time to Elizabethan London, where they are plunged into a world of spies, magic, and a coterie of Matthew's old friends, the School of Night. As the search for Ashmole 782--the lost and enchanted manuscript whose mystery first pulled Diana and Matthew into one another's orbit--deepens and Diana seeks out a witch to tutor her in magic, the net of Matthew's past tightens around them. Together they find they must embark on a very different - and vastly more dangerous - journey. "A captivating and romantic ripping yarn,"** Shadow of Night confirms Deborah Harkness as a master storyteller, able to cast an "addictive tale of magic, mayhem and two lovers."** *E.L. James **Chicago Tribune
Categories: Fiction

The World of All Souls

The World of All Souls

Praise for the All Souls trilogy: 'This is a glorious, finely-wrought gem of a book: intelligent, thoughtful, intricate. . .

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher:

ISBN: 1472237633

Category: Fiction

Page: 484

View: 566

It's a world of daemons and humans, where a reluctant witch and a centuries-old vampire discover the secrets left in a mysterious manuscript. Welcome to the All Souls trilogy, as Harkness shares information from her files. This companion volume includes character profiles, information on life and lifestyles from the time periods the trilogy covers, background on the science and magic, and even recipes and wine recommendations.
Categories: Fiction

The All Souls Real time Reading Companion

The All Souls Real time Reading Companion

Now, as The Book of Life has brought Deborah Harkness’s #1 New York Times bestselling trilogy to its conclusion, re-immerse yourself in the enchanting fantasy world she has created and enrich your experience of the heart-stopping finale.

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101992968

Category: Fiction

Page: 60

View: 911

A richly illustrated real-time reading guide that brings to life the world created by Deborah Harkness in A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night, retracing the events of the bestselling novels with illuminating behind-the-scenes details A world of witches, vampires, and daemons. A manuscript that holds the secrets of their past and the key to their future. Diana and Matthew—the forbidden love at the heart of the adventure. The All Souls Trilogy began with A Discovery of Witches. It continued with Shadow of Night. Now, as The Book of Life has brought Deborah Harkness’s #1 New York Times bestselling trilogy to its conclusion, re-immerse yourself in the enchanting fantasy world she has created and enrich your experience of the heart-stopping finale.
Categories: Fiction

Bede The Reckoning of Time

Bede  The Reckoning of Time

... the shadow gradually diminishes and dies away. They maintain that the Sun is larger than the Earth, though it seems small because it is so far away. Hence, because the shadow of night gradually decreases, it fades out before it ...

Author: Beda (Venerabilis.)

Publisher: Liverpool University Press

ISBN: 9780853236931

Category: History

Page: 585

View: 412

From the patristic age until the Gregorian calendar reform of 1582, computus -- the science of time reckoning and art of calendar construction -- was a matter of intense concern. Bede's The Reckoning of Time (De temporum ratione) was the first comprehensive treatise on this subject and the model and reference for all subsequent teaching discussion and criticism of the Christian calendar. It is a systematic exposition of the Julian solar calendar and the Paschal table of Dionysius Exiguus, with their related formulae for calculating dates. But it is more than a technical handbook. Bede sets calendar lore within a broad scientific framework and a coherent Christian concept of time, and incorporates themes as diverse as the theory of tides and the doctrine of the millennium. This translation of the full text of The Reckoning of Time includes an extensive historical introduction and a chapter-by-chapter commentary. It will interest historians of medieval science, theology, and education, Bede scholars and Anglo-Saxonists, liturgists, and Church historians. It will also serve as an accessible introduction to computus itself. Generations of medieval computists nourished their expertise in Bede's orderly presentation; modern scholars in quest of safe passage through this complex terrain can hope for no better guide.
Categories: History

A Commentary on the Book of Job

A Commentary on the Book of Job

The night . " - Davidson . people of the East to the present day measure time by the length of their own shadow . ... Shall he be " made to inherit " months of wretchedness and nights of trouble , and receive no compensation ?

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:AH5KWM

Category: Bible

Page: 324

View: 445

Categories: Bible

Dictionary of the Bible

Dictionary of the Bible

Shadow is taken for the obscurity of night , for the total absence of light in a night of clouds ; and hence " the shadow of death , " intense darkness ; to which add , the horror which naturally attends the tomb , and the unexplored ...

Author: Augustin Calmet

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HNTT55

Category:

Page: 1044

View: 777

Categories:

Shakespeare s Sonnet Story

Shakespeare s Sonnet Story

While the antithesis between Love's Labour's Lost and The Shadow of Night is evident , it may be argued that it is accidental . There is , however , an expression used by Shakespeare in Act iv . Scene iii . hitherto quite meaningless ...

Author: Arthur Acheson

Publisher: Ardent Media

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 704

View: 861

Categories: