Shadow of Night

(All Souls 2)

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755384768

Category: Fiction

Page: 605

View: 9217

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the captivating second volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Gabaldon. *A Discovery of Witches is soon to be a major TV series - immerse yourself in the ALL SOULS world* 'Deborah Harkness writes as if she's the hugely more talented love child of Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling' thebookbag.co.uk on SHADOW OF NIGHT In a world of witches, daemons and vampires the fragile balance of peace is unravelling. Diana and Matthew's forbidden love has broken the laws dividing creatures. To discover the manuscript which holds their hope for the future, they must now travel back to the past. When Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont. Now the coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened. Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot. Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers...
Release

Shadow of Night

Author: Deborah E. Harkness

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780670025954

Category: Great Britain

Page: 584

View: 4686

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A follow-up to the best-selling A Discovery of Witches finds Oxford scholar and reluctant witch Diana and vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont in Elizabethan London, where Diana seeks a magical tutor and Matthew confronts elements from his past at the same time the mystery of Ashmole 782 deepens.
Release

The Book of Life

(All Souls 3)

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755384806

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 2239

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE NO.1 SUNDAY TIMES AND NEW YORK TIMES HARDBACK BESTSELLER *A Discovery of Witches is soon to be a major TV series - immerse yourself in the ALL SOULS world* Fall under the spell of Diana and Matthew once more in the stunning climax to their epic tale, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES and SHADOW OF NIGHT. A world of witches, daemons and vampires. A manuscript which holds the secrets of their past and the key to their future. Diana and Matthew - the forbidden love at the heart of it. 'Rich in arcane detail, fans will relish this exotic cauldron of romantic fantasy' Sunday Mirror on THE BOOK OF LIFE After travelling through time in SHADOW OF NIGHT, the second book in Deborah Harkness's enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew's ancestral home in France they reunite with their families - with one heart-breaking exception. But the real threat to their future is yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on a terrifying urgency. Using ancient knowledge and modern science, from the palaces of Venice and beyond, Diana and Matthew will finally learn what the witches discovered so many centuries ago.
Release

A Discovery of Witches

A Novel

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101475690

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 9296

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Book one of the New York Times-bestselling All Souls trilogy—"a wonderfully imaginative grown-up fantasy with all the magic of Harry Potter and Twilight” (People). Now “[a] hot show that’s like Twilight meets Outlander” (Thrillist) airing Sundays on AMC and BBC America, as well as streaming on Sundance Now and Shudder. Deborah Harkness’s sparkling debut, A Discovery of Witches, has brought her into the spotlight and galvanized fans around the world. In this tale of passion and obsession, Diana Bishop, a young scholar and a descendant of witches, discovers a long-lost and enchanted alchemical manuscript, Ashmole 782, deep in Oxford's Bodleian Library. Its reappearance summons a fantastical underworld, which she navigates with her leading man, vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont. Harkness has created a universe to rival those of Anne Rice, Diana Gabaldon, and Elizabeth Kostova, and she adds a scholar's depth to this riveting tale of magic and suspense. The story continues in book two, Shadow of Night, and concludes with The Book of Life.
Release

A Discovery of Witches: free exclusive chapter sampler

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472225058

Category: Fiction

Page: 48

View: 8519

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Free for a limited time only, this is the thrilling opening to the internationally bestselling All Souls trilogy. A Discovery of Witches will introduce you to the magical world of Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont. Look out for second book Shadow of Night, also available now, and the final instalment The Book of Life, out on July 15th 2014.
Release

All Souls Trilogy

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698195418

Category: Fiction

Page: 1760

View: 7911

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, and The Book of Life, now available in an eBook bundle With more than a million copies sold in the United States, A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night have landed on all of the major bestseller lists, garnered rave reviews, and spellbound legions of loyal fans. The Book of Life brings the number one New York Times bestselling series to a deeply satisfying close, and we are now pleased to offer all three books in a lavishly designed boxed set, perfect for fans and newcomers alike. And don’t forget—The Book of Life goes on sale July 15, 2014, and will still be going strong. Be sure to stock up for the holidays!
Release

Time's Convert

A Novel

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0399564527

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 3552

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Discovery of Witches—now a hit TV series airing Sundays on AMC and BBC America, and streaming on Sundance Now and Shudder—comes a novel about what it takes to become a vampire. On the battlefields of the American Revolution, Matthew de Clermont meets Marcus MacNeil, a young surgeon from Massachusetts, during a moment of political awakening when it seems that the world is on the brink of a brighter future. When Matthew offers him a chance at immortality and a new life free from the restraints of his puritanical upbringing, Marcus seizes the opportunity to become a vampire. But his transformation is not an easy one and the ancient traditions and responsibilities of the de Clermont family clash with Marcus's deeply held beliefs in liberty, equality, and brotherhood. Fast-forward to contemporary Paris, where Phoebe Taylor--the young employee at Sotheby's whom Marcus has fallen for--is about to embark on her own journey to immortality. Though the modernized version of the process at first seems uncomplicated, the couple discovers that the challenges facing a human who wishes to be a vampire are no less formidable than they were in the eighteenth century. The shadows that Marcus believed he'd escaped centuries ago may return to haunt them both--forever. A passionate love story and a fascinating exploration of the power of tradition and the possibilities not just for change but for revolution, Time's Convert channels the supernatural world-building and slow-burning romance that made the All Souls Trilogy instant bestsellers to illuminate a new and vital moment in history, and a love affair that will bridge centuries.
Release

The World of All Souls

The Complete Guide to A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, and The Book of Life

Author: Deborah Harkness

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735220751

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 1425

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A fully illustrated guide to Deborah Harkness's #1 New York Times bestselling All Souls trilogy--"an irresistible . . . wonderfully imaginative grown-up fantasy" (People) A Discovery of Witches introduced Diana Bishop, Oxford scholar and reluctant witch, and vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont. Shadow of Night and The Book of Lifecarried Deborah Harkness's series to its spellbinding conclusion. In The World of All Souls, Harkness shares the rich sources of inspiration behind her bewitching novels. She draws together synopses, character bios, maps, recipes, and even the science behind creatures, magic, and alchemy--all with her signature historian's touch. Bursting with fascinating facts and dazzling artwork, this essential handbook is a must-have for longtime fans and eager newcomers alike.
Release

John Dee's Conversations with Angels

Cabala, Alchemy, and the End of Nature

Author: Deborah E. Harkness

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521622288

Category: History

Page: 252

View: 8332

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book is about Elizabethan England's most famous 'scientist' or natural philosopher John Dee and his 'conversations with angels'.
Release

The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

A Novel

Author: Emily Croy Barker

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101585579

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 2277

DOWNLOAD NOW »

An imaginative story of a woman caught in an alternate world—where she will need to learn the skills of magic to survive Nora Fischer’s dissertation is stalled and her boyfriend is about to marry another woman. During a miserable weekend at a friend’s wedding, Nora wanders off and walks through a portal into a different world where she’s transformed from a drab grad student into a stunning beauty. Before long, she has a set of glamorous new friends and her romance with gorgeous, masterful Raclin is heating up. It’s almost too good to be true. Then the elegant veneer shatters. Nora’s new fantasy world turns darker, a fairy tale gone incredibly wrong. Making it here will take skills Nora never learned in graduate school. Her only real ally—and a reluctant one at that—is the magician Aruendiel, a grim, reclusive figure with a biting tongue and a shrouded past. And it will take her becoming Aruendiel’s student—and learning magic herself—to survive. When a passage home finally opens, Nora must weigh her “real life” against the dangerous power of love and magic. For lovers of Lev Grossman's The Magicians series (The Magicians and The Magician King) and Deborah Harkness's All Souls Trilogy (A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night).
Release