Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698172620

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5540

DOWNLOAD NOW »

New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted"—The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for Salt to the Sea: Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."—The Wall Street Journal ♦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction…she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."—Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."—Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail ♦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."—Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."—Booklist ♦ *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."—School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year Praise for Between Shades of Gray: A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children’s Book ♦ A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."—The Washington Post ♦ *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."—Booklist
Release

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys Student Workbook

Quick Student Workbooks

Author: John Pennington

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781545438831

Category:

Page: 98

View: 9520

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Quick Student Workbooks are designed to get students thinking critically about the text they read and providing a guided study format to facilitate in improved learning and retention. Teachers and Homeschool Instructors may use them to improve student learning and organization. Students will construct and identify the following areas of knowledge. Character Identification Events Location Vocabulary Main Idea Conflict And more as appropriate to the text.
Release

From Sea to Salt

Author: Lisa Owings

Publisher: Lerner Publications

ISBN: 1467762881

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 3713

DOWNLOAD NOW »

How does the salt in the sea become the salt you use at the dinner table? Follow each step in the process--from evaporating the seawater to shipping the salt to a store--in this fascinating book! Start to Finish titles help readers examine how things are made and teach students sequential thinking skills and vocabulary.
Release

We Were the Salt of the Sea

Author: Roxanne Bouchard

Publisher: Orenda Books

ISBN: 1912374048

Category: Fiction

Page: 276

View: 4769

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Truth lingers in murky waters... As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman’s nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man’s heart in knots. Detective Sergeant Joaquin Moralès, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he’s thrown into the deep end of the investigation. On Quebec’s outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen’s wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It’s enough to make DS Moralès reach straight for a large whisky... Both a dark and consuming crime thriller and a lyrical, poetic ode to the sea, We Were the Salt of the Sea is a stunning, page-turning novel, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction. ‘Colourful, authentic characters with the kind of flavour that can only be inspired by real locals. So good it’ll make you want to pack your bags and drive straight to the seaside’ Journal de Montréal ‘Lyrical and elegiac, full of quirks and twists’ William Ryan ‘Wonderfully atmospheric ... I genuinely couldn’t put this book down’ Gill Paul ‘Asks questions right from page one’ Quentin Bates ‘An isolated Canadian fishing community, a missing mother, and some lovely prose. Very impressed by this debut so far’ Eva Dolan 'A tour de force of both writing and translation’ Su Bristow
Release

Salt of the Sea

The Pacific Coast Cod Fishfry and the Last Days Sail

Author: Ed Shields

Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co

ISBN: 9780967363387

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 454

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Salt In The Sea : Fantastic Folktales

Author: Om Books Editorial Team

Publisher: Om Books International

ISBN: 9382607978

Category:

Page: 16

View: 5102

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fantastic Folktales are beautifully illustrated collection of tales from around the world. Retold in easy language, these tales are a story-time treat for the little ones!
Release

Salt of the Desert Sun

A History of Salt Production and Trade in the Central Sudan

Author: Paul E. Lovejoy

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521301824

Category: History

Page: 351

View: 9522

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A study of the organisation of the salt industry of the Sokoto Caliphate and Borno.
Release