Yes, I Am Your Brother

Understanding the Indigenous African American Muslim

Author: Nuri Madina

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1524613452

Category: Social Science

Page: 516

View: 9514

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Muslims and African Americans are the two most misunderstood groups in America today, yet both groups have been a part of American life from its beginning. Today, it is the African American that most represents the aspirations of both groups. They are a new peoplea people who have overcome a history of oppression yet retained the good human character that is the saving grace of humanity. But we first have to acknowledge that we all have one Creator, share one common origin, and are part of one brotherhood of man. It is this people, the African American Muslim, that represents those ideals and who presents a model for humanity going forward.
Release

The Anti-Education Era

Creating Smarter Students through Digital Learning

Author: James Paul Gee

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1137324112

Category: Education

Page: 256

View: 8027

DOWNLOAD NOW »

One of the first champions of the positive effects of gaming reveals the dark side of today's digital and social media Today's schools are eager to use the latest technology in the classroom, but rather than improving learning, the new e-media can just as easily narrow students' horizons. Education innovator James Paul Gee first documented the educational benefits of gaming a decade ago in his classic What Video Games Have to Teach Us About Learning and Literacy. Now, with digital and social media at the center of modern life, he issues an important warning that groundbreaking new technologies, far from revolutionizing schooling, can stymie the next generation's ability to resolve deep global challenges. The solution-and perhaps our children's future-lies in what Gee calls synchronized intelligence, a way of organizing people and their digital tools to solve problems, produce knowledge, and allow people to count and contribute. Gee explores important strategies and tools for today's parents, educators, and policy makers, including virtual worlds, artificial tutors, and ways to create collective intelligence where everyday people can solve hard problems. By harnessing the power of human creativity with interactional and technological sophistication we can finally overcome the limitations of today's failing educational system and solve problems in our high-risk global world. The Anti-Education Era is a powerful and important call to reshape digital learning, engage children in a meaningful educational experience, and bridge inequality.
Release

The Utopia of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

Author: David Graeber

Publisher: Melville House

ISBN: 1612193757

Category: Political Science

Page: 272

View: 4659

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence? To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy. Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible. An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.
Release

The Atlantic Community

The Titanic of the XXI Century?

Author: Antoni Kukliński,Krzysztof Pawłowski

Publisher: Oficyna Wydawnicza "Rewasz"

ISBN: 8362460067

Category: Asia

Page: 300

View: 7749

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Leadership, Change, and Organizational Development

Author: H. Skipton Leonard,Rachel Lewis,Arthur M. Freedman,Jonathan Passmore

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 111832644X

Category: Psychology

Page: 496

View: 9394

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A state-of-the-art reference, drawing on key contemporary research to provide an in-depth, international, and competencies-based approach to the psychology of leadership, change and OD Puts cutting-edge evidence at the fingertips of organizational psychology practitioners who need it most, but who do not always have the time or resources to keep up with scholarly research Thematic chapters cover leadership and employee well-being, organizational creativity and innovation, positive psychology and Appreciative Inquiry, and leadership-culture fit Contributors include David Cooperrider, Manfred Kets de Vries, Emma Donaldson-Feilder, Staale Einarsen, David Day, Beverley Alimo-Metcalfe, Michael Chaskalson and Bernard Burnes
Release

Revolutionary Wealth

Author: Alvin Toffler,Heidi Toffler

Publisher: Knopf

ISBN: 0307265552

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 512

View: 5215

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Starting with the publication of their seminal bestseller, Future Shock, Alvin and Heidi Toffler have given millions of readers new ways to think about personal life in today’s high-speed world with its constantly changing, seemingly random impacts on our businesses, governments, families and daily lives. Now, writing with the same rare grasp and clarity that made their earlier books classics, the Tofflers turn their attention to the revolution in wealth now sweeping the planet. And once again, they provide a penetrating, coherent way to make sense of the seemingly senseless. Revolutionary Wealth is about how tomorrow’s wealth will be created, and who will get it and how. But twenty-first-century wealth, according to the Tofflers, is not just about money, and cannot be understood in terms of industrial-age economics. Thus they write here about everything from education and child rearing to Hollywood and China, from everyday truth and misconceptions to what they call our “third job”—the unnoticed work we do without pay for some of the biggest corporations in our country. They show the hidden connections between extreme sports, chocolate chip cookies, Linux software and the “surplus complexity” in our lives as society wobbles back and forth between depressing decadence and a hopeful post-decadence. In their earlier work, the Tofflers coined the word “prosumer” for people who consume what they themselves produce. In Revolutionary Wealth they expand the concept to reveal how many of our activities—whether parenting or volunteering, blogging, painting our house, improving our diet, organizing a neighborhood council or even “mashing” music—pump “free lunch” from the “hidden” non-money economy into the money economy that economists track. Prosuming, they forecast, is about to explode and compel radical changes in the way we measure, make and manipulate wealth. Blazing with fresh ideas, Revolutionary Wealth provides readers with powerful new tools for thinking about—and preparing for—their future. From the Hardcover edition.
Release

Women and Gaming

The Sims and 21st Century Learning

Author: James Paul Gee,Elisabeth R. Hayes

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

ISBN: 9780230623415

Category: Education

Page: 216

View: 2853

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Today, virtual worlds abound, avatars are every day occurrences, and video games are yesterday’s news. But today’s games are not just a pastime for millions – they are also a technological focal point for new forms of learning. James Paul Gee and Elisabeth Hayes are leading researchers in the field of gaming, and here they argue that women gamers—a group too often marginalized—are at the forefront of today’s online learning world. By utilizing the tools of gaming in ways never before imagined - actively engaging in game design, writing fan fiction, and organizing themselves into collaborative learning communities - women of all ages acquire the tools to successfully navigate the complex social, cultural , and economic problems of the 21st century. Women are leading the way to a new understanding of online learning techniques, from cultural production to learning communities to technical proficiency in the latest software. This book draws on case studies about women who “play” the Sims, the best selling game in history, to argue for a new general theory of learning for the 21st Century.
Release

How Global Youth Values Will Change Our Future

Author: Gayle Kimball

Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN: 1527525511

Category: Social Science

Page: 300

View: 7467

DOWNLOAD NOW »

How Global Youth Values Will Change Our Future reveals the values and religious beliefs of Generations Y and Z, representing over 4,000 young people from 88 countries. This book is based on their own voices, rather than adult projections from multiple-choice surveys. It also includes futurists’ projections of significant trends to predict where society is headed. As the largest, best-educated, and most connected generation ever, today’s youth are creating a more democratic world.
Release