The Anti-Education Era

Creating Smarter Students through Digital Learning

Author: James Paul Gee

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1137324112

Category: Education

Page: 256

View: 2642

DOWNLOAD NOW »

One of the first champions of the positive effects of gaming reveals the dark side of today's digital and social media Today's schools are eager to use the latest technology in the classroom, but rather than improving learning, the new e-media can just as easily narrow students' horizons. Education innovator James Paul Gee first documented the educational benefits of gaming a decade ago in his classic What Video Games Have to Teach Us About Learning and Literacy. Now, with digital and social media at the center of modern life, he issues an important warning that groundbreaking new technologies, far from revolutionizing schooling, can stymie the next generation's ability to resolve deep global challenges. The solution-and perhaps our children's future-lies in what Gee calls synchronized intelligence, a way of organizing people and their digital tools to solve problems, produce knowledge, and allow people to count and contribute. Gee explores important strategies and tools for today's parents, educators, and policy makers, including virtual worlds, artificial tutors, and ways to create collective intelligence where everyday people can solve hard problems. By harnessing the power of human creativity with interactional and technological sophistication we can finally overcome the limitations of today's failing educational system and solve problems in our high-risk global world. The Anti-Education Era is a powerful and important call to reshape digital learning, engage children in a meaningful educational experience, and bridge inequality.
Release

Geofusion: Mapping Of The 21st Century

Author: Norbert Csizmadia

Publisher: World Scientific

ISBN: 9811214670

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 432

View: 5828

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Geofusion is an exciting journey around the main issues of the 21st century.This is a book with roadmaps that show the complexity of our world, the interconnections between places, people, schools of thoughts, and disciplines. Starting with a geographical frame of reference, readers are taken through the global geo-economic trends and likely future scenarios as well as the driving forces of the new world economy. The book points to the importance of cities as the power centers for the multidimensional global network of the 21st century. Geofusion is a thought-provoking guidebook to our interconnected world.
Release

The Utopia of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

Author: David Graeber

Publisher: Melville House

ISBN: 1612193757

Category: Political Science

Page: 272

View: 3620

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence? To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy. Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible. An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.
Release

Revolutionary Wealth

Author: Alvin Toffler,Heidi Toffler

Publisher: Knopf

ISBN: 0307265552

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 512

View: 4745

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Starting with the publication of their seminal bestseller, Future Shock, Alvin and Heidi Toffler have given millions of readers new ways to think about personal life in today’s high-speed world with its constantly changing, seemingly random impacts on our businesses, governments, families and daily lives. Now, writing with the same rare grasp and clarity that made their earlier books classics, the Tofflers turn their attention to the revolution in wealth now sweeping the planet. And once again, they provide a penetrating, coherent way to make sense of the seemingly senseless. Revolutionary Wealth is about how tomorrow’s wealth will be created, and who will get it and how. But twenty-first-century wealth, according to the Tofflers, is not just about money, and cannot be understood in terms of industrial-age economics. Thus they write here about everything from education and child rearing to Hollywood and China, from everyday truth and misconceptions to what they call our “third job”—the unnoticed work we do without pay for some of the biggest corporations in our country. They show the hidden connections between extreme sports, chocolate chip cookies, Linux software and the “surplus complexity” in our lives as society wobbles back and forth between depressing decadence and a hopeful post-decadence. In their earlier work, the Tofflers coined the word “prosumer” for people who consume what they themselves produce. In Revolutionary Wealth they expand the concept to reveal how many of our activities—whether parenting or volunteering, blogging, painting our house, improving our diet, organizing a neighborhood council or even “mashing” music—pump “free lunch” from the “hidden” non-money economy into the money economy that economists track. Prosuming, they forecast, is about to explode and compel radical changes in the way we measure, make and manipulate wealth. Blazing with fresh ideas, Revolutionary Wealth provides readers with powerful new tools for thinking about—and preparing for—their future. From the Hardcover edition.
Release

Handbook of Public Pedagogy

Education and Learning Beyond Schooling

Author: Jennifer A. Sandlin,Brian D. Schultz,Jake Burdick

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135184186

Category: Education

Page: 684

View: 4618

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Bringing together scholars, public intellectuals, and activists from across the field of education, the Handbook of Public Pedagogy explores and maps the terrain of this burgeoning field. For the first time in one comprehensive volume, readers will be able to learn about the history and scope of the concept and practices of public pedagogy. What is 'public pedagogy'? What theories, research, aims, and values inform it? What does it look like in practice? Offering a wide range of differing, even diverging, perspectives on how the 'public' might operate as a pedagogical agent, this Handbook provides new ways of understanding educational practice, both within and without schools. It implores teachers, researchers, and theorists to reconsider their foundational understanding of what counts as pedagogy and of how and where the process of education occurs. The questions it raises and the critical analyses they require provide curriculum and educational workers and scholars at large with new ways of understanding educational practice, both within and without schools.
Release

The Atlantic Community

The Titanic of the XXI Century?

Author: Antoni Kukliński,Krzysztof Pawłowski

Publisher: Oficyna Wydawnicza "Rewasz"

ISBN: 8362460067

Category: Asia

Page: 300

View: 6480

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Social Science

An Introduction to the Study of Society -- Pearson eText

Author: Elgin F. Hunt,David C. Colander

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317344146

Category: Social Science

Page: 480

View: 6235

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Social Science, 15/e, approaches social science from a common-sense perspective, rather than from a conventional social science angle. Readers will see how seemingly diverse disciplines intermingle – anthropology and economics, for example. In the end, students will be able to approach social issues with unbiased problem-solving skills.
Release

The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Leadership, Change, and Organizational Development

Author: H. Skipton Leonard,Rachel Lewis,Arthur M. Freedman,Jonathan Passmore

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 111832644X

Category: Psychology

Page: 496

View: 6974

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A state-of-the-art reference, drawing on key contemporary research to provide an in-depth, international, and competencies-based approach to the psychology of leadership, change and OD Puts cutting-edge evidence at the fingertips of organizational psychology practitioners who need it most, but who do not always have the time or resources to keep up with scholarly research Thematic chapters cover leadership and employee well-being, organizational creativity and innovation, positive psychology and Appreciative Inquiry, and leadership-culture fit Contributors include David Cooperrider, Manfred Kets de Vries, Emma Donaldson-Feilder, Staale Einarsen, David Day, Beverley Alimo-Metcalfe, Michael Chaskalson and Bernard Burnes
Release

War and Anti-war

Survival at the Dawn of the 21st Century

Author: Alvin Toffler,Heidi Toffler

Publisher: Little Brown & Company

ISBN: 9780316850247

Category: Political Science

Page: 302

View: 8926

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Two leading futurists analyze war in the past, offer insight into modern conflicts, and examine the future face of war based on the idea that forms of war and of economic activity are parallel. 150,000 first printing. $150,000 ad/promo. Tour.
Release