Postcards from the Past

Author: Marcia Willett

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 144815460X

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 8793

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Can you ever escape your family ties? Siblings Billa and Ed share their beautiful, grand old childhood home in rural Cornwall. Their lives are uncomplicated. With family and friends nearby and their free and easy living arrangements, life seems as content as can be. But when postcards start arriving from a sinister figure they thought belonged well and truly in their pasts, old memories are stirred. Why is he contacting them now? And what has he been hiding all these years? The heartwarming and captivating new novel from favourite author Marcia Willett - perfect for fans of Erica James, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop
Release

Postcard From The Past

Author: Tom Jackson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008220549

Category: Humor

Page: 160

View: 7782

DOWNLOAD NOW »

WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY MARK HADDON In Postcard From The Past, Tom Jackson has gathered a collection of the funniest, weirdest and most moving real messages from the backs of old postcards.
Release

Postcards from the Río Bravo Border

Picturing the Place, Placing the Picture, 1900s–1950s

Author: Daniel D. Arreola

Publisher: University of Texas Press

ISBN: 0292752822

Category: Social Science

Page: 280

View: 5354

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Between 1900 and the late 1950s, Mexican border towns came of age both as tourist destinations and as emerging cities. Commercial photographers produced thousands of images of their streets, plazas, historic architecture, and tourist attractions, which were reproduced as photo postcards. Daniel Arreola has amassed one of the largest collections of these border town postcards, and in this book, he uses this amazing visual archive to offer a new way of understanding how the border towns grew and transformed themselves in the first half of the twentieth century, as well as how they were pictured to attract American tourists. Postcards from the Río Bravo Border presents nearly two hundred images of five significant towns on the lower Río Bravo—Matamoros, Reynosa, Nuevo Laredo, Piedras Negras, and Villa Acuña. Using multiple images of sites within each city, Arreola tracks changes both within the cities as places and in the ways in which the cities have been pictured for tourist consumption. He makes a strong case that visual imagery has a shaping influence on how we negotiate and think about places, creating a serial scripting or narrating of the place. Arreola also shows how postcard images, when systematically and chronologically arranged, can tell us a great deal about how Mexican border towns have been viewed over time. This innovative visual approach demonstrates that historical imagery, no less than text or maps, can be assembled to tell a compelling geographical story about place and time.
Release

Postcards from Vermont

A Social History, 1905-1945

Author: Allen Freeman Davis

Publisher: UPNE

ISBN: 9781584651581

Category: History

Page: 326

View: 1490

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A vivid picture of four decades of social and cultural history in the Green Mountain State.
Release

Postcards from Auschwitz

Holocaust Tourism and the Meaning of Remembrance

Author: Daniel P. Reynolds

Publisher: NYU Press

ISBN: 1479860433

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 5470

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Listening to Auschwitz -- Picturing the camps -- Warsaw -- Berlin -- Jerusalem -- Washington, D.C
Release

Broome County in Vintage Postcards

Author: N.A

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 9780738504476

Category: History

Page: 128

View: 7551

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Broome County offers an exceptional perspective on the city, towns, villages, and hamlets nestled in the river valleys of a picturesque New York county. Located just above the Pennsylvania border in south-central New York State, Broome County has a diverse and unique heritage beginning with legends of the Iroquois and continuing today with hightech corporations--making it, in essence, the history of America.
Release

The Postcard

Author: Cindy Wilson-Buranek

Publisher: THE POSTCARD

ISBN: 1452372470

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 2386

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Does love transcend the boundaries of time? If two people are meant to meet, is it reincarnation or destiny that brings them together? Joe never believed in such things,until the postcard came in the mail; a postcard that was 72 years old. Joe sat down and read the womans words. Now, he didn't’ know what he believed.
Release

The Wildwoods in Vintage Postcards

Author: James D. Ristine

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 1439628378

Category: History

Page: 128

View: 9920

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Wildwoods are located on an island at the southern end of New Jersey's expansive coastline. The communities of Wildwood Crest, Holly Beach, Wildwood, and North Wildwood (formerly Anglesea) have been luring visitors and vacationers to their shores for nearly one hundred twenty years with magnificent beaches and the ever popular boardwalks. With more than two hundred vintage postcards, The Wildwoods looks back at the coastal towns in the early 1900s. Glimpse the long-lost natural beauty of Magnolia Lake and the primeval forests that gave Wildwood its name. See commercial fishermen leaving from the beaches of Holly Beach or the docks of Anglesea to practice their livelihood as recreational fishermen head out to sea on crowded party boats for a day of angling. Witness Fourth of July celebrations, baby parades, and automobile and yacht races. Visit the architectural styling of the early homes, churches, and schools, as well as the hotels that once provided accommodations to ever increasing numbers of vacationers.
Release

A Postcard from the Volcano

A Novel of Pre-war Germany

Author: Lucy Beckett

Publisher: Ignatius Press

ISBN: 1586172697

Category: Fiction

Page: 520

View: 3167

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Follows Prussian aristocrat Max von Hofmannswaldau from 1914 to the beginning of World War II as he comes of age during the rise of the Nazis and seeks to uncover the truth about his own identity and the origin of the modern German ideologies that threaten millions of people.
Release