Owl Babies

Author: Martin Waddell

Publisher: Walker Books Limited

ISBN: 9781406323917

Category:

Page: 32

View: 3285

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Three baby owls awake one night to find their mother gone. They start to get worried and hear strange noises all night long. But when Mom returns, she has something they all want. Includes a DVD and reusable stickers. Full color. Consumable.
Release

Owl Babies

Author: Louise Carrythers

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781407113562

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6145

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A wealth of resources on CD-ROM to enhance teachers work on 'Owl Babies'. * Interactive text extracts to annotate with the class. * Non-fiction, cross-curricular photos and videos to put the story in context. * Author interviews or biography. * Interactive whiteboard activities.
Release

Owl Babies Fly

Author: Janet Craig

Publisher: Troll Communications Llc

ISBN: 9780816742486

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 3417

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When an owl's eggs hatch, the owlets are covered with soft down. Their parents bring them food so they can grow stronger. Then the owl babies beat their wings and learn to fly.
Release

Baby Owls

Author: Christina Leaf

Publisher: Bellwether Media

ISBN: 1681030349

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 5760

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Baby owls are a noisy bunch! Some owl siblings even talk to one another at mealtime to communicate who gets the food. Fly through the pages of this book to learn more about these fluffy screechers.
Release

Building a Community of Writers

Author: Kim Cernek

Publisher: Creative Teaching Press

ISBN: 1591983762

Category: Education

Page: 96

View: 1468

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Featuring: writer's workshop teaching techniques ; activities directly linked to writing standards."--Cover.
Release

Introducing Nonfiction Writing in the Early Grades

Lessons, Activities, and Graphic Organizers That Teach Young Children What Nonfiction Is and How to Write It

Author: Jodi Weisbart Mahoney

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 9780439338165

Category: Education

Page: 80

View: 6508

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Presents tools, including lessons, activities, and graphic organizers, for teaching children in grades K-2 how to understand and write nonfiction; covers using research tools, conducting whole-class research, sharing resources, and editing and compiling.
Release

Beyond Good Night, Moon - 75 Reviews of Classic Books for Young Children

Author: Joan Louthain Ayer

Publisher: Dog Ear Publishing

ISBN: 1598582402

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 116

View: 5287

DOWNLOAD NOW »

According to a recent census, there are more than 18 million preschoolers in this country, and hopefully all of them have a caring adult who reads to them on a regular basis. Whether you are the parent of a young child, an early primary teacher, a busy nanny, a doting grandparent or simply a wise and loving aunt or uncle, I have written "Beyond Good Night, Moon - 75 Reviews of Classic Books For Young Children" just for you. As the title suggests, it contains concise reviews of classic children's books that are appropriate to be read aloud to little ones. Here are some titles reviewed in the book- (1) Madeline, (2) Clifford, the Small Red Puppy, (3) Jesse Bear, What Will You Wear? (4) Freight Train, (5) Jamberry, (6) Are You My Mother?, (7) Corduroy, (8) Millions of Cats, (9) Bedtime For Frances, (10) The Snowy Day, (11) Little Bear and (12) The Monster at the End of this Book. Joan Louthain Ayer graduated from the University of Wisconsin at Platteville and received her Master's Degree in Elementary Education from Butler University in Indianapolis. She has taught in the public schools in Madison, Wisconsin and in several Indiana communities. She has taught all of the early primary grades and five years of preschool. Joan reviewed children's books for the Tribune-Star newspaper in Terre Haute for 15 years. She and her husband Gordon live in Indianapolis and have been married for 41 years. They have three adult children, a daughter-in-law and three very young grandchildren. All are book-lovers!
Release

Baby Owl

Author: Aubrey Lang,Wayne Lynch

Publisher: Markham, Ont. : Fitzhenry & Whiteside

ISBN: 9781550417982

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 36

View: 2825

DOWNLOAD NOW »

As their nest becomes more and more crowded, the baby great horned owls stretch and flap impatiently. But they can't fly just yet. Even if one of them falls from the tree and must find its own shelter on the ground, the little one still depends on its parents' care. There are many weeks to go before the young chicks will be strong enough to fly away and find homes of their own.
Release

Owl Sees Owl

Author: Laura Godwin,Rob Dunlavey

Publisher: Schwartz & Wade

ISBN: 0553497847

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 1523

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year "Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."— Booklist starred review Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure. With just three or four words per page, this story follows a baby owl one night as he leaves the safety of his nest (Home/Mama/Brother/Sister) and explores the starry world around him (Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh). Inspired by reverso poetry, the words reverse in the middle when the baby owl is startled upon seeing his reflection in the pond (Owl/Sees/Owl). Afraid of it, little owl takes off toward home, soaring over farms and forests (Swoosh/Swoop/Glide/Soar) until he is finally safely home again (Sister/Brother/Mama/Home). "Fans of Jane Yolen’s Owl Moon and Martin Waddell’s Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl’s first adventure." —School Library Journal, Starred
Release

Children's Literature and Learner Empowerment

Children and Teenagers in English Language Education

Author: Janice Bland

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1441165991

Category: Education

Page: 344

View: 7771

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Children's literature can be a powerful way to encourage and empower EFL students but is less commonly used in the classroom than adult literature. This text provides a comprehensive introduction to children's and young adult literature in EFL teaching. It demonstrates the complexity of children's literature and how it can encourage an active community of second language readers: with multilayered picturebooks, fairy tales, graphic novels and radical young adult fiction. It examines the opportunities of children's literature in EFL teacher education, including: the intertexuality of children's literature as a gate-opener for canonised adult literature; the rich patterning of children's literature supporting Creative Writing; the potential of interactive drama projects. Close readings of texts at the centre of contemporary literary scholarship, yet largely unknown in the EFL world, provide an invaluable guide for teacher educators and student teachers, including works by David Almond, Anthony Browne, Philip Pullman and J.K.Rowling. Introducing a range of genres and their significance for EFL teaching, this study makes an important new approach accessible for EFL teachers, student teachers and teacher educators.
Release