The Watchers Out of Time

Fifteen soul-chilling tales by H. P. Lovecraft

Author: H. P. Lovecraft,August Derleth

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 9780345485717

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 4474

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Venture at your own risk into a realm where the sun sinks into oblivion–and all that is unholy, unearthly, and unspeakable rises. These rare, hard-to-find collaborations of cosmic terror are back in print, including • Wentworth’s Day A fellow figures his debt to a dead man is null and void, until he discovers just how terrifying interest rates can be. • The Shuttered Room A sophisticated gentleman must settle his grandfather’s estate, only to find that the house shelters dark secrets. • The Dark Brotherhood A beautiful woman and her companion meet the likes of Edgar Allan Poe, in a tale as terrifying as anything Poe himself ever created. • Innsmouth Clay A sculptor returns from Paris to create a statue not entirely of this world–and not at all under his control. • Witches’ Hollow A new schoolteacher puts his soul in peril while trying to save one of his students from a ravenous creature.
Release

Out of Time

Music and the Making of Modernity

Author: Julian Johnson

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 019023329X

Category: Music

Page: 400

View: 4275

DOWNLOAD NOW »

What does music have to say about modernity? How can this apparently unworldly art tell us anything about modern life? In Out of Time, author Julian Johnson begins from the idea that it can, arguing that music renders an account of modernity from the inside, a history not of events but of sensibility, an archaeology of experience. If music is better understood from this broad perspective, our idea of modernity itself is also enriched by the specific insights of music. The result is a rehearing of modernity and a rethinking of music - an account that challenges ideas of linear progress and reconsiders the common concerns of music, old and new. If all music since 1600 is modern music, the similarities between Monteverdi and Schoenberg, Bach and Stravinsky, or Beethoven and Boulez, become far more significant than their obvious differences. Johnson elaborates this idea in relation to three related areas of experience - temporality, history and memory; space, place and technology; language, the body, and sound. Criss-crossing four centuries of Western culture, he moves between close readings of diverse musical examples (from the madrigal to electronic music) and drawing on the history of science and technology, literature, art, philosophy, and geography. Against the grain of chronology and the usual divisions of music history, Johnson proposes profound connections between musical works from quite different times and places. The multiple lines of the resulting map, similar to those of the London Underground, produce a bewildering network of plural connections, joining Stockhausen to Galileo, music printing to sound recording, the industrial revolution to motivic development, steam trains to waltzes. A significant and groundbreaking work, Out of Time is essential reading for anyone interested in the history of music and modernity.
Release

Out of Time

History and Evolution in Anthropological Discourse

Author: Deapartment of Prehistory and Anthropology Nicholas Thomas,Nicholas Thomas

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN: 9780472083770

Category: Social Science

Page: 155

View: 547

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A lucid theoretical reflection on the intersection of anthropology and history
Release

Out of Time

Author: Shirlee McCoy

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459206312

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 3838

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Someone plans to disrupt the 175th anniversary celebration of the Battle of the Alamo—and it's Alamo Ranger Susannah Jorgenson's job to stop the culprit. But that means partnering with Levi McDonall, who skipped town years ago with her heart. Levi's now a Texas Ranger, sworn to protect her at any cost, but Susannah knows she'll pay the price if she falls for him again. She has to stay focused on their goals—to eliminate the threat and solve the murder of Levi's captain. But an unknown killer is watching…ready to eliminate them.
Release

Out of Time

Desire in Atemporal Cinema

Author: Todd McGowan

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN: 0816669953

Category: Art

Page: 285

View: 311

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A new temporal aesthetic in films such as "Memento," "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "2046," and "The Hangover."
Release

Out of Time

Author: Paula Martinac

Publisher: Bywater Books

ISBN: 1612940412

Category: Fiction

Page: 220

View: 6359

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Escaping a downpour, Susan ducks into an antiques shop in Manhattan and discovers a scrapbook from the 1920s. She buys the book and her fate becomes inextricably linked with the four women in the photos. Richly atmospheric and featuring a memorable cast of characters, Out of Time is a delightful novel about history, love, and the persistence of passion.
Release

Out of Time

Author: RS Perry

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 0988082756

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 3368

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Out Of Time “A real page-turner start to finish, Out of Time satisfies on so many levels. Insightful characterizations, romance, adventure, a wealth of knowledge make the story come alive and leap off the page at you. Having devoured the third book of the O Trilogy at lightning speed, what am I to do now – perhaps wishing to much, a saga...” Jenny Lyons
Release

Out of Time

Author: Cliff Ryder

Publisher: Gold Eagle

ISBN: 1426815492

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8059

DOWNLOAD NOW »

One last mission When crisis looms and politics and red tape conspire against effective measures, the International Intelligence Agency plays its hidden hand. Now the spymasters of Room 59-dedicated, dangerous and willing to push the limit-get the green light to eradicate the threat. One last chance Room 59 agent Alex Tempest has a secret: a degenerative illness that may end his career as a fi eld operative. But fi rst he accepts one fi nal mission. And…it's personal. A research facility in China has built the ultimate biological weapon. Alex's job: infi ltrate and destroy. His wife works at the biotech company's stateside lab, and Alex fears danger is poised to hit home. But when Alex is captured, his personal and professional worlds collide in a last, desperate gamble to stop ruthless masterminds from unleashing virulent, unstoppable death.
Release

Out of Time

A Time Travel Novel

Author: Cliff Ball

Publisher: Cliff Ball Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 93

View: 6728

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In this time travel novel, a scientist in the 2150's discovers time is actually fluid; past, present, and future all exist at the same time. What he doesn't know, is if the current timeline can change when something is changed in the past. The U.S. government wants him to find out. The theme being to make right what once went wrong. keywords: science fiction, time travel, space travel, alternate history, united states history, anne frank, john kennedy, wounded knee, titanic
Release

Out of Time

Author: John Marsden

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN: 1743349033

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 2095

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Australia's king of young adult fiction" The Australian James reads by his open bedroom window at night. Other lives and other worlds beckon. One of these worlds is conjured by old Mr Woodford, a physicist who looks more like an accountant and who constructs a strange black box.One day when James slips into the laboratory, he makes a dreadful discovery and learns to master a great power. Who is the little boy in Mexico who scratches pictures of aeroplanes in the dust? How will the girl caught in a wartime bomb blast be reunited with her parents? And why does James sit alone in his island of silence? With Out of Time John Marsden has produced a novel that will further enhance his reputation as one of the most successful writers of fiction for teenagers. This is a challenging novel which poses a new question on every page as it draws us into an ever-widening series of mysteries, into magical, dangerous worlds - in and out of time. Fans of Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins and John Flanagan will love John Marsden.
Release