Our Street

A heart-warming saga of love, loss and friendship

Author: Victor Pemberton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755392485

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 8185

DOWNLOAD NOW »

One World War. One unlikely friendship. One bitter rivalry. The power of friendship, love and jealousy is vividly portrayed in Victor Pemberton's moving wartime saga Our Street. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Harry Bowling. 1944, North London. Fifteen-year-old Frankie Lewis feels as if the war will go on forever. But one night in the blackout, his life takes an extraordinary turn. Whilst playing a vindictive prank on the German-Jewish widow who lives nearby, Frankie finds himself hauled across her doorstep into a world of books and culture. Fascinated by Elsa's stories of life before the war and her late husband - a British officer - young Frankie becomes good friends with Elsa, helping her out in her shop and confiding his troubles to her - from his crush to his sister's unwanted pregnancy. So, when Elsa suddenly dies of a heart attack, Frankie is devastated. He is almost as shocked to discover that Elsa has left her shop to him - a legacy that her brother-in-law is determined to deny him... What readers are saying about Our Street: 'Another very good story from Victor Pemberton, his books are so true to life' 'Keeps you wanting to read more and more' 'Well written and it takes you back to the time he's writing about, interesting characters and a good story too - a very enjoyable read'
Release

A Sister's Struggle

A gripping 1930s saga of love, loss and friendship

Author: Mary Gibson

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1788542606

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 4597

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The heartfelt new saga from Mary Gibson, bestselling author of Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts. London, 1935. Ruby is always hungry, but she will go without if it means her young brothers can eat. 1930s Bermondsey might be called the larder of London, with its pie, pickle and jam factories, but for the poor working classes, starvation is a heartbeat away. When Ruby's neighbour suggests she go to the Methodist Mission for free food, Ruby knows her father will be furious, but that she has no other option. It is a decision that will change the course of her life forever and lead her to face a terrible choice between duty and a great love. Praise for A SISTER'S STRUGGLE: 'Affecting, poignant and intensely emotional ... A stirring and captivating read guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings that is absolutely perfect for fans of Call the Midwife' Julie, Bookish Jottings. 'Beautifully written book. I feel so honoured to have witnessed this raw and heartfelt story and I am hoping this review will give the book the justice it deserves ... An emotional and heartfelt journey [...] told with pure honesty and heart' Stacey is Reading. 'A brilliant saga filled with intrigue and questions ... Full of friendship, family and choices, it's a book I can highly recommend to all saga fans. But do remember to set aside a day to read, because once you start, you won't want to put the book down' Lauren, Mixing Reality with Fiction. 'Brilliant depiction of London and life during trying times. I immediately wanted Ruby and her family to be OK and was rooting for them' Katherine's Book Universe. 'Perfect reading on a cold winter's night ... Set around the same time as the popular Call the Midwife, so if you are a fan of that you are sure to like this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much that it's one I will read again' Rachel Bustin. 'A truly beautiful book ... It gives you a glimpse into real London in the 1930s ... An eye-opening book, and if you love Call the Midwife, you will LOVE this book' Cara's Book Boudoir.
Release

Proud Highway

Saga of a Desperate Southern Gentleman, 1955-1967

Author: Hunter S. Thompson

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307826627

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 720

View: 8506

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Here, for the first time, is the private and most intimate correspondence of one of America's most influential and incisive journalists--Hunter S. Thompson. In letters to a Who's Who of luminaries from Norman Mailer to Charles Kuralt, Tom Wolfe to Lyndon Johnson, William Styron to Joan Baez--not to mention his mother, the NRA, and a chain of newspaper editors--Thompson vividly catches the tenor of the times in 1960s America and channels it all through his own razor-sharp perspective. Passionate in their admiration, merciless in their scorn, and never anything less than fascinating, the dispatches of The Proud Highway offer an unprecedented and penetrating gaze into the evolution of the most outrageous raconteur/provocateur ever to assault a typewriter.
Release

Journal

Author: Michigan. Legislature. House of Representatives

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Michigan

Page: N.A

View: 909

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Includes extra sessions.
Release

The Kiss

A Novel

Author: Danielle Steel

Publisher: Dell

ISBN: 9780307566935

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 4587

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In her 53rd bestselling novel, Danielle Steel explores how a single shattering moment can change lives forever. The Kiss is at once a moving testament to the fragility of life and a breathtaking story about the power of love to heal, to free, to transform, and to make broken spirits whole. On a warm June evening, a red double-decker bus, full of pasengers, speeds down a London street. A few blocks away, a man and a woman climb into a limousine, reveling in a magical evening of dancing and champagne. As their driver pulls into an intersection, the couple shares their first, searching kiss. For a moment, etched in time, all stands still—until, in a flash of metal and glass, their limousine is struck at full speed, crushed under the bus's tremendous weight. And a long journey begins—toward healing, toward hope, toward dreams of an infinite future... Isabelle Forrester is the exquisite wife of a prominent Parisian banker who has long since shut her out of his heart. For lonely years, Isabelle has lived a life of isolation, pouring her passions into caring for her desperately ill son, Teddy, and into making their Paris home as happy as possible for her teenage daughter, Sophie. Isabelle allows herself one secret pleasure: a long-distance friendship by telephone with an American man, a Washington power broker who travels in the highest circles of politics and who, like Isabelle, is trapped in an empty marriage. To Bill Robinson, Isabelle is a godsend, a woman of extraordinary beauty and intellectual curiosity—a kindred spirit who touches him across the miles with her warmth and gentle empathy. Their relationship is a gift, a lifeline that sustains them both through the heartache of marriages they cannot leave and will not betray. Agreeing to meet for a few precious, innocent days in London, Isabelle and Bill find their friendship changing. Then, amidst the sudden crash of steel against steel, they are thrust onto a new path, a path fraught with pain but also with possibility. Now, inside the cool, sterile wards of a London hospital, Isabelle and Bill cling to life, their bodies shattered almost beyond repair. In the days and weeks that follow, they slowly, painfully traverse a road to recovery littered with challenges of the body, spirit, and heart. Together, they must find the strength not only to embrace life again but to face what they have left behind. For Isabell, a loveless marriage turns into a brutal power struggle. For Bill, a time of healing exposes wounds that cut deeper than steel and realities that will test him to his core. For both, a tangle of changing relationships and the tragedy of another loss conspire to separate them once again. And this time they could lose each other forever. In a novel that is as compelling as it is compassionate, Danielle Steel weaves a story of courage in the face of unimaginable loss. With the grace of a master storyteller, she explores the strength it takes to conquer our greatest fears, showing us how the toughest choices can yield the most unexpected rewards...and how the longest, most winding journeys can begin with a single kiss.
Release