One Summer in Tuscany

Author: Domenica De Rosa

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780879512

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 7917

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Rivalries and romance in a Tuscan paradise. A relaxing writers' retreat? If only! Perfect holiday reading from Domenica de Rosa, author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series under the name Elly Griffiths. Previously published as SUMMER SCHOOL. Patricia Wilson's carefully composed ads for the writers' retreat she runs at her thirteenth-century Italian castle promise so much. But while the splendour of their surroundings and chef Aldo's melanzane never fail to wow the guests, huge maintenance bills and bad news from the bank threaten to close Patricia down. It's make or break time for the Castello. Each of her seven aspiring authors arrives with the inevitable baggage alongside their unpublished manuscripts. But this August something is different, and soon lifelong spinster Mary is riding on the back of Aldo's vespa, and smouldering odd-job man Fabio has set more than one heart racing. As temperatures rise, the writers gossip, flirt and gently polish their prose by the pool. But with ghosts, scorpions, and some unexpected visitors to contend with, one thing's for sure: neither the Castello, nor Patricia, has ever seen a summer like this.
Release

One Summer in Italy

Author: Lilly Mirren

Publisher: Black Lab Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: N.A

View: 3244

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Reeda Summer is running from a troubled marriage and a truth she can't face. When the Summer sisters discover their grandmother's journals after her death, they unlock a mystery that shakes their family to the core. Who is Charlie Jackson? Is he their grandfather? And if so, what happened to him? Reeda leaves the Waratah Inn and returns to Sydney, her husband, and her thriving interior design business, only to find her marriage in tatters. She's lost sight of what she wants in life and can't recognise the person she's become. Instead of facing her problems, Reeda embarks on a journey to discover more about the grandfather she never knew, leaving her troubles behind her. Her search takes her to Italy, where a trail of clues leads her across the country with few answers to satisfy her burning curiosity about the past. And instead of helping her to forget, her pilgrimage reminds her of everything she loves and what she's left behind. Under the Italian sky, Reeda discovers that the joy she was searching for was hidden inside her all along. And instead of running from her problems, she embraces the healing she needs to face them. Readers who enjoy Inglath Cooper, Rhys Bowen, Lisa Wingate, Debbie Macomber, and Lauren K. Denton will love taking this healing journey through delightful Italy.
Release

One Summer in Crete

Author: Nadia Marks

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1509889752

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5514

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Calli’s world has fallen apart – her relationship is suddenly over and her chances of starting a family are gone. So when she’s sent to write a magazine article about the Greek island of Ikaria, it seems the perfect escape. The locals there are reported to be among the happiest and longest-living in the world. The island has a secret, one that Calli is determined to uncover . . . Travelling to Crete, from where her family originates, Calli begins to suspect there are more secrets closer to home. Her aunt Froso begins to recount the story of her own heartache as a teenage girl facing cruel hardships in rural Greece. A story of love, betrayal and revenge, it will change Calli’s life forever. One Summer in Crete is a gloriously sunny book by Nadia Marks.
Release

Living Lawfully

Love in Law and Law in Love

Author: Z. Bankowski

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 9401720991

Category: Philosophy

Page: 250

View: 1310

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The aim of this book is to explore what it means to live a life under the law. Does a life of law preclude love and does a life of love preclude law? Part of the theme of the book is that social questions also raise individual moral and ethical questions; that to live lawfully implies both a question of how I should live in my relations with my fellows and how society should be organised. These questions must be looked at together. The book explores these questions and in looking at the articulation of law and love touches upon debates in personal morality, aesthetics, epistemology, social and political organisation, institutional design and the form and substance of law. It raises questions that are of interest to students and those working in law, theology, and social and political theory.
Release

Happened in Tuscany

Author: Lorena Franco

Publisher: Babelcube Inc.

ISBN: 1507180470

Category: Fiction

Page: 103

View: 9055

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When you think you know all the answers, the universe comes and changes all the questions. Discover what happened in Tuscany: A unique and special story that will conquer and delight the most romantic readers. Alice Morgan is a writer of romantic novels in her forties, whose inspiration has abandoned her since she divorced Jack. She doesn’t get used to her new life without him and her teenage daughter, who many times seems to want to make his life impossible. Mark Hope is a reputed chef and owner of various restaurants, but a bad critic can destroy what has mattered most in life so far: his career. Alice and Mark meet because of her literary agent and his sister: Cindy Hope. She organizes a disastrous date in New York that ends earlier than expected. What they could never imagine, is that, Alice and Mark together with her teenage daughter, end up in the same family home of the Hope family, located on a beautiful hill of Montepulciano (Tuscany) because of a "confusion" of Cindy. Enticing characters will join a delightful story, full of surprises and great moments. The voices of Alice and Mark intermingle, making us believe that second chances really do exist and they may be better than we expected, despite the consequences.
Release

Turmoil in Tuscany

Author: Colin Barker

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1788033469

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 5845

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This story, set in fourteenth-century Tuscany, focuses on two main contrasting characters: Mayor Gianni Curvo and his friend Luigi Lorenzo who live in a small Tuscan hill-top town called 'San Minima'. Gianni, locally born and bred, and fiercely proud of his civic office, is a die-hard traditionalist, but also a romantic who would love to have been a Knight of the Round Table. The patrician Luigi, a relative newcomer to the town, is more progressive and worldly. The tensions between them provide a rich source of humour, especially when they come up against the Church and Town authorities. Luigi is a complex figure: he nurtures a secret passion for the beautiful aristocratic nun Angela, and leads a mysterious double life away from the town. The truth gradually emerges with the arrival of Colonel Guido, a figure from his past. And Gianni's own inner life is brought violently to the surface when vicious marauders attack San Minima. Badly injured he believes he is living in the Arthurian Age, an era which has obsessed him since boyhood. It's only the ingenuity of his friends and a strange intervention that bring him back to the present and longed-for Knighthood.
Release

The Cloudspotter's Guide

The Science, History, and Culture of Clouds

Author: Gavin Pretor-Pinney

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101203315

Category: Nature

Page: 320

View: 4463

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Now in paperback: the runaway British bestseller that has cloudspotters everywhere looking up. Where do clouds come from? Why do they look the way they do? And why have they captured the imagination of timeless artists, Romantic poets, and every kid who's ever held a crayon? Veteran journalist and lifelong sky watcher Gavin Pretor-Pinney reveals everything there is to know about clouds, from history and science to art and pop culture. Cumulus, nimbostratus, and the dramatic and surfable Morning Glory cloud are just a few of the varieties explored in this smart, witty, and eclectic tour through the skies. Illustrated with striking photographs (including a new section in full-color) and line drawings featuring everything from classical paintings to lava lamps, The Cloudspotter's Guide will have enthusiasts, weather watchers, and the just plain curious floating on cloud nine.
Release

One Summer

Author: Rachel Billington

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409124282

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 3255

DOWNLOAD NOW »

An intense, moving novel about obsessive love. K, a middle-aged painter, has returned from a hermit-like existence in Chile to attend the wedding of a girl he once loved to the point of obsession. He arrives at the English country church to find it empty and silent. The wedding has been postponed. He drives back to his hotel - a place he'd visited many years before - opens a bottle of champagne and with it, a door to the past. When K first saw Claudia fifteen years before, he fell instantly and dangerously in love. He managed to forget he had a wife and a life already full. It was a coup de foudre; he became consumed by her. But Claudia was little more than a child then, twenty-four years his junior, beautiful but unformed. Perhaps it was no surprise that their love proved to be so destructive and ultimately tragic. Now, years later, he returns to find this new bride, his old love, is on the verge of a very different future. But the past, inevitably, awaits them both - and he is determined to take her back there¿
Release

Gielgud's Letters

Author: John Gielgud

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0297865722

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 592

View: 6837

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'In this comprehensive volume, we see the actor in a range of roles: loving son, wicked gossip, star actor, indecisive director, anguished lover, brilliant anecdotist. This splendid book reveals an infinitely complicated and attractive character. We may not look upon his like again' Jonathan Croall, Spectator The above quotes sums it up - this astonishing collection of letters brings us up close to one of the foremost, and best loved, actors of this century. John Gielgud wrote letters almost every day of his adult life. Whether at home in London or abroad, he delighted in recounting what he felt about events around him. Here for the first time - and not previously available to biographers - are Gielgud's love letters. They show that he was not shy is expressing the intimacies of personal relationships. He also loved gossip and writes about his contemporaries, including the great actors of period: Olivier, Richardson, Redgrave, Peggy Ashcroft, Edith Evans and the like. A revealing account but also a hugely warm and compelling insight into a man of many sides.
Release