Halt's Peril (Ranger's Apprentice Book 9)

Author: John Flanagan

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446479293

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 464

View: 4793

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Halt's Peril is the ninth thrilling book in John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series – over eight million sold worldwide. The renegade outlaw group known as the Outsiders has journeyed from kingdom to kingdom, conning the innocent out of their few valuables. Will and Halt, his mentor, are ambushed by the cult's deadly assassins when Halt is pierced by a poisoned arrow. Now Will must travel day and night in search of the one person with the power to cure Halt: Malkallam the Sorcerer. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series and Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.
Release

Cast in Sorrow (Luna) (The Chronicles of Elantra, Book 9)

Author: Michelle Sagara

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 1472054644

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 3433

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Barrani would be happy to see her die. So Kaylin Neya was a bit surprised at her safe arrival in the West March. Especially when enemies new and old surround her and those she would call friends are equally dangerous... And then the real trouble starts.
Release

Men's Health, An Issue of Urologic Clinics - E-Book

Author: Steven A. Kaplan

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 1455743216

Category: Medical

Page: 132

View: 8599

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This issue of the Urologic Clinics covers timely topics pertinent to Men's Health, including The Role of Primary Care in Men’s Health, Changes in Male Fertility in the Last Two Decades, The Aging Male, and Pre-adolescent issues as risk factors for adult male health.
Release

Environmental Crimes Deskbook

Author: John F. Cooney

Publisher: Environmental Law Institute

ISBN: 9780911937633

Category: Law

Page: 415

View: 1538

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Environmental Crimes Deskbook will help environmental professionals understand the rapidly growing and complex area of criminal enforcement of environmental law and avoid the field`s abundant traps for the unwary.
Release

Management of Pituitary Tumors, An Issue of Neurosurgery Clinics - E-Book

Author: Manish K. Aghi,Lewis S. Blevins

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 1455747696

Category: Medical

Page: 240

View: 9313

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This issue of the Neurosurgery Clinics of North America, Guest Edited by Drs. Manish Aghi and Lewis Blevins, is devoted to Management of Pituitary Tumors. Experts in the field have assembled to provide articles on Imaging of the pituitary and parasellar region; Management of Incidentally Found Nonfunctional Pituitary Tumors; Endoscopic Surgery for Pituitary Tumors; Prolactinomas – Medical versus Surgical Management; Neurosurgery for Cushing’s Disease; Postoperative radiotherapy and stereotactic radiosurgery for pituitary tumors; Management options for persistent postoperative acromegaly; Medical management of persistent and recurrent Cushing’s disease; Management of Large Aggressive Nonfunctional Pituitary Tumors – Experimental Medical Options when Surgery and Radiation Fail; Pituitary Carcinoma; Visual Outcomes after Surgery For Nonfunctional Adenomas Causing Visual Compromise; and Hypopituitarism and Central Diabetes Insipidus: Peri-Operative Diagnosis and Management.
Release

Urologic Surgical Pathology E-Book

Author: David G. Bostwick,Liang Cheng

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 0323086195

Category: Medical

Page: 1040

View: 3726

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With sweeping revisions throughout, the new edition of Urologic Surgical Pathology equips you to accurately diagnose specimens of the entire urinary tract and male reproductive system plus the adrenal glands. Comprehensive in scope, this title begins with a look at normal anatomy and histology for each organ system...followed by discussions of the pathology of congenital anomalies, inflammations, non-neoplastic diseases and neoplasia. Practical guidance in daily urological pathology sign-out and the latest recommended diagnostic approaches — with an emphasis on clinicopathologic and radiographic-pathologic correlations — makes this a true diagnostic decision-making medical reference. A consistent format enables you to locate critical information quickly, and more than 1600 high-quality illustrations — most in full color — make diagnosis even easier. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Rely on the practice-proven experience of today’s authorities to identify and diagnose with confidence. Confirm your diagnostic suspicions by comparing your findings to more than 1600 color images and color graphics. Quickly locate the specific information you need through an abundance of tables, diagrams and flowcharts; boxed lists of types and causes of diseases; differential diagnosis; characteristic features of diseases; complications; classifications; and staging. Stay current with the latest information on: differential diagnosis for all tumor types encountered in urological surgical pathology practice; urologic tumor specimen handling and reporting guidelines; new entities and updated classification schemes; and newer immunohistochemical and genetic diagnostic methods. Develop targeted therapy specific to a particular patient’s problem based on key molecular aspects of disease, especially in relevance to targeted therapy/personalized medicine. Provide the clinician with the most accurate diagnostic and prognostic indicators, by incorporating the latest classification and staging systems in your reports. Deepen your understanding of new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis.
Release

Early Detection of Prostate Cancer, An Issue of Urologic Clinics,

Author: Stacy Loeb

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 0323297269

Category: Medical

Page: 145

View: 3980

DOWNLOAD NOW »

PSA screening remains highly controversial due to several important disadvantages. More PSA is produced with prostatic enlargement and in other benign conditions such as urinary tract infections. False positive tests can then lead to unnecessary diagnostic workup with invasive prostate biopsy. Another major problem with screening programs in general is overdiagnosis of cancers that would not have caused harm during the patient's lifetime. For example, many prostate cancers have a relatively indolent behavior so may not require diagnosis or treatment in a patient with limited life expectancy. All forms of prostate cancer treatment have potential urinary and sexual side effects, so reducing overdiagnosis and overtreatment are critical public health issues. Because screening has many proven benefits but also significant harms, there are widely disparate guidelines on prostate cancer screening from major organizations worldwide. This issue of the Urologic Clinics will provide insights into the many different prostate cancer guidelines and related policy issues.
Release